We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Noto with the emphasis on the breakfast”
Review of B&B Montandon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Montandon
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The building is curently undergoing renovations but when finished should be returned to it's former glory. The room had no view but the room was clean and comfortable and the bed firm but good. The breakfast room had a great view and we were given a welcoming drink. The bathroom was tired but clean.

Breakfast was amazing with a huge range of fresh food and home cooked delights. A mixture of English and Italian and sign language served for communication.

Finding the place was challenging with our Sat Nav suggesting we should turn left down a flight of stairs at one point, but once found it was within easy walking distance of the centre of Noto and the Cathedral. Walking back to the top of the hill then up to the top floor helped to work off a great dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toys_with_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

We are left wondering what part of the word "gem" we did not understand.
Our bedroom was totally filled with all kinds of stuff -not in a charming way but in a ridiculous manner. The promised balcony looked onto a 6ft. high brick wall -all round so the only view was of the sky. The beds were ROCK hard making sleep impossible.
The much lauded breakfast -looking at the washing hanging over the balcony and totally spoiling the view -was awful. The cakes offered were stale and most of the fruit mouldy.
Needless to stay we left after 1 night. At least it was cheap !

Room Tip: cannot offer any tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueyspositan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

All of the 5 B&Bs we stayed in during our Sicily tour were great and good value for money, but if any set itself apart, this was it - a class apart. It is pretty much at the top of the town, easy to get to once you know where it is, and not much to look at from the outside. Inside, it is a former town house with wide lobby leading to equally wide stairs. We were on the top floor, where there are 3 guest rooms. Carmela, Lentini, the host speaks no English, but that really did not matter. She has a way of communicating! The whole floor is what you might call `busy', that is to say that everywhere you look it is packed with interesting items, whether chairs, cushions, wall plaques, and knick-knacks - thoroughly eclectic and charming. Our room was big and comfortable with space to write, and had a fridge, which is very useful. Her son, who speaks a little English, directed us to the supermarket (400m away and a bit up hill and down dale) to stock up with the necessities, ie beer. The only hassle is the lack of parking. This has to be on the road outside which is a one way street and fairly narrow. If you miss a parking spot, you have to go about 1 km to get back again.
The creme de la creme though are the breakfasts. There's enough to feed an army, and an incredible variety, much of it home-made. And, a rarity, a pot of tea! And this taken on a balcony overlooking the garden, sweet with the scent of jasmine. The only real bind was it being at the back of town, and high up. It's a long climb after a good meal and a few bevies. If you arte fit that won't matter, and remember, the breakfasts are to die for! Once again, we were sorry to leave.

RJ and GA FitzGerald

Room Tip: Room 3 is the largest and has a separate, large bathroom and toilet. The other 2 rooms (apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A very nice lady runs this small B&B at the very highest point in Noto. She'll serve you afternoon drinks on the balcony with an lovely view over the hills behind the town. It helps to speak some Italian but the hosts are exceedingly friendly and will happily struggle along with you, so communication is not really a problem. The rooms are comfortable and cosy -- like most B&Bs, you don't really stay for the mod cons and the glamourous decor, and this fits the bill with lots of knick knacks and old pictures arranged around the antiques. The bathrooms are kind of old with pink tiles and lavatories (!) but you do get your own and everything is very very clean. A word of warning -- as other reviewers have said it is indeed hard to find unless you have a very detailed map or sat nav. It is also at the top of an incredibly steep hill and the rooms are at the top of a four-storey building with no lift -- so you may want to get a taxi and pack a tiny bag. But otherwise a comfortable stay and excellent value for money -- plus you get to see how Sicilians live.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank telbel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We paid in advance for two rooms, but our pre-paid reservation was not honored. It looked nice, but that was of little comfort.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Jfredber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We were in Noto in late November. The baroque buildings are beauiful, particularly as they were lit up (and there were Christmas lights out already as well). The B&B and our room were nice, but the B&B it is quite hard to find and there is no elevator so you need to carry your luggage up to the 3rd floor. We had a rental car - streets in Noto are very narrow and parking is a challenge during the day near the B&B as it is very close to the university. My wife and I speak Italian and findng the B&B and speaking with the very nice owner would have been difficult without that. Breakfast was very Sicilian traditional - heavy on biscuits and sweets. The B&B is close enough to downtown that you can walk (and you don't want to move your car anyway!). For the adventureous who can enjoy being in a real Sicilian B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night (4 people). It was difficult enough to find, simply because we were unprepared and had no map of Noto. Thankfully our Sat. Nav. took us right to the door! It was a handy place to stop over night on our way from Malta to Ortigia, Siracusa (we arrived by car-ferry from Valetta to Pozzallo) . The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Even though they had very little English and we had very little Italian, we still managed to get on very well! The bedrooms were large and spotlessly clean. It was very quiet and peaceful at night and we had a really lovely breakfast the following morning. The weather was cool & sunny when we were there but when it is warmer, you can sit out on their balcony for breakfast and admire the view. When we checked out the following morning, we were given a BEAUTIFUL gift from Noto by the owners! Noto is a beautiful small town (city) and is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noto hotels
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Olive Alive
Tenuta Olive Alive
#6 of 33 in Noto
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#11 of 33 in Noto
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo La Fontanella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AgriResidence Valle Degli Dei
0.3 mi away
Gagliardi Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Dependance Hotel
La Dependance Hotel
#16 of 33 in Noto
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Montandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Montandon

Address: Via Antonio Sofia 50, 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Noto
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Montandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Montandon Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing