We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole

Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole
Ranked #8 of 169 Restaurants in Noto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rome
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went to Trattoria d'Ercole upon a friend's recommendation (who happened to eat there several times and gave us an enthusiastic reference) but we were a little disappointed. The tables were too close to each other and the service was sloppy. The food was fine but we were not impressed as we were in other Sicilian restaurants in the same area. Maybe our expectations were too high or it was an unlucky night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    446
    106
    41
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“great restaurant in noto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

the owners are a family who cooks sicilian fresh food. great atmosphere, good food and beutifel reataurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, this trattoria was recommended to us by our hotel - and we're so happy we went! After three weeks in Italy/Sicily, this was the best pasta meal we had! The hosts were gracious and patient with our lack of Italian; it was clearly popular with local people, and this added to the ambiance. They make their own pasta and it is divine! I had some of the house red wine and enjoyed it, and dessert was really lovely. Overall, a great find!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to try this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've just come back from a trip around Modica, Noto, Siracusa, Ragusa etc and the best food I've eaten on this trip to Sicily with my sicilian partner had to have been here in Noto. When we arrived the restaurant was packed with locals. The owner, a very warm and friendly Corrado, knew all of his custiomers by first name - a good sign. There was a fantastic menu available full of sicilian treats and when i asked him about the fish and seafood he wanted me to see for myself in the kitchen how fresh his catch of the day was - the cuttlefish were still alive upon delivery! The food was delicious and the service was outstanding we had to go back a second night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Traditional family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This restaurant is located in the centre of Noto, just next to the theatre. The entrance looks a bit strange and the place of course was empty at around 6 o’clock when I made the reservation for later that night. When we got back the restaurant was full. Lots of Italian families where having there dinner there and we were lucky to be part of that happening.
The restaurant is family run where Il Patrone is accompanied and being helped by his daughters, The food is authentic Sicilian and one can really enjoy the well prepared dishes. No matter what you decide to have for dinner; everything is super. Il patrone is very busy with his guests and he really wants them to relax and enjoy their evening out. You can ask him for advice; no problem. He will tell you what you can take best however, be aware not to order to many things because the portions are big; real big. The taste is fantastic and the ambiance is nice and cozy. I now can imagine very well why Italian families like to go out for dinner with friends or just the whole family; if this is the way they use to eat, it really is magnificent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole also viewed

Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 
Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing