We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family affair”
Review of Ristorante Dammuso

Ristorante Dammuso
Ranked #4 of 175 Restaurants in Noto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A family affair”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great food great atmosphere unpretentious. The owner is attentif to details and the mother is in the kitchen attentif to give authentic a sicilian heart ❤ to the experience. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    448
    83
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Top! Fresh, friendly and fun”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great dinner at the Dammuso in the very heart of Noto. We enjoyed several fish appetisers as well as some seared tuna and pasta with broccoli and mussels. The service is very friendly and the owners are SUPER! Very fun and competent people able to present elegant dishes in an informal and yet sophisticated atmosphere.

Bill was super fair (I think 30 E. pax including several bottles of wine and desserts) and we followed the owner's suggestions in terms of wine which sometimes can result in a rip-off but was well worth it and reasonably priced.

A must for anyone visiting Noto!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Sicilian food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is worth a try. Advance booking is preferred. Staff speak English. Great menu and extensive wine list to choose from. Mostly fish choices. Try the tuna w/ pistache and oregano crust!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, flavors, and service”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was one of the best meals I had on a recent trip to Sicily. As firsts, my pasta was with swordfish and my wife's with cozze and vegetables. Both fantastic. As seconds, she had the pistacchio encrusted tuna that seems to be a favorite with a lot of people on these reviews. She was in heaven with this dish, raved about it long after we'd left the Noto area. (I'm allergic to tuna, didn't have the pleasure of trying it.) I was totally enamored with my sardine beccafico. I'm into sardines prepared in all manner of different ways. This was one of the best preparations I've ever had. A simple dish that explodes with flavor, punctuated by a tight salad with a pepper that seemed gently grilled and filled with what might have been capers and doused with a vinaigrette. Not sure. In any case, leave room for dessert too. It also was exceptional.

Reservations are a must! (Pretty much*).

*We didn't have one, but knowing this place's popularity, we decided to just go for it and show up on the super early-side, in hopes of getting a table before the bulk of the dinner reservations. Truly, we were the first people there that evening, sitting by ourselves in an empty restaurant—we lucked out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seriously amazing restaurant”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Top quality food service and wine. One of the best dining experiences of my month-long stay in Sicily. Baglieri, the owner, knows exactly what he's doing. His mum is the chef and the food is ridiculously good. It's a five star restaurant with locals lining up. Recommend booking as they don't squeeze people in and out. Truly great restaurant and worth a visit to Noto especially to dine here. Can't say enough about this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank annabel_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Dammuso also viewed

Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Ristorante Dammuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing