We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Corte del Sole
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My cousin and I stayed here for 3 nights as our "splurgy" stay on a week-long trip to the southeastern part of Sicily.
Our room was comfortable, with a spacious bathroom that could have been improved by slightly more counter space but was still very nice. Because this hotel is in a largely rural area, it was very quiet at night and we slept extremely well.
We loved the views, and found the breakfasts delicious and varied. They included boiled eggs, bread, cheese, and meats, cereals, pastries, local jams and marmalades (some of which seemed to have been made from fruit grown at the hotel, which used to be a farm), and of course all the coffee/espresso drinks you might expect in Italy.
We also ate dinner there, though as two smallish women, we were unable to finish the generous portions of the four course meal provided, and the waiters kept being offended! However, the food was very nice. We especially loved the vegetable buffet first course, but the pastas were also lovely, as were the fish (according to my cousin) and the chicken (according to me).
We rented bicycles from the hotel one day, and after a longer ride in the morning, we biked to the beach in the afternoon. I also had a massage, which was excellent and energizing, and helped to realign me the day after the bicycle ride! We did not use the swimming pool, but it was nice to have the option.
The staff was friendly, professional, and helpful, and accommodated all of our requests. They even allowed me to print out a couple of pages on their printer.
Considering that I have paid more to stay at very generic, corporate hotels in major cities, I think that this place is extremely good value. It felt luxurious and indulgent, without being outrageously expensive, overdone or showy.
This would be a lovely place to stay with a romantic partner.

Room Tip: It was worth paying a little extra to have the view of the nature reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    128
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
101
234
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Lovely hotel near Noto and good restaurant friendly staff.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at La Corte del Sole one week in August and the place is defenitely a very nice relais close to the seaside and very well connected to the all other main attractions of the Southern part of the Sicily. Even August is a very high season in Italy and especially in Sicily the place was very relaxing and not crowded. Maybe breakfast quality could be improved.

Don't even hesitate about staying here, just do it. It's a great home base for exploring the wonderful villages of Tuscany. We will definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdada29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in early march and were 2 of a total of 5 guests. It was very nice stay, lovely location, rooms and facilities. The lovely Maryangele is a wonderful hostess, provided us with excellent travel advice for that region, though the other staff were very friendly too.

I imagine that the hotel would feel very different later into the season when i think a few tour groups stay. The resturanat looked good, but was not open when we were there. Breakfast was adequate, but we felt for the price the hotel should provide wi-fi.

Overall, this is a very good base to expore the south-eastern region of Sicily. We easily did daytrips to Syracuse, the hilltowns of Noto, Ragusa and Modica as well as smaller places too. Well worth staying 3-4 nights as the hotel has a very nice aspect /view and is very handy to Noto, which is absoluely gorgeous !

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shukes-and-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at La Corte Del Sole toward the end of our Sicilian trip and we would have stayed longer if we had discovered the place before! Hotels in Sicily are not the greatest and working myself in the hotel industry, I have of course high expectations.
The hotel is just excellent for a couple getaway (maybe less for families): the proximity of the Vendicari reserve and its wild beaches, the view from the hotel, the quietness, the cleanliness(!), the good food and excellent service and the little plus : the good mattresses (horrible in all other hotels we stayed in), the nice bedroom decor and bathroom amenities (I loved the rosemary shower gel!). You could easily stay there for a week and drive to all the different places to see (Ragusa and Modica at 50 km, Noto at 5km, Syracuse at 25km...).
A special thank you to Eva who really made the difference in welcoming us. I only have one negative comment : change the website! it does not reflect at all what you have there! but I think it is being done...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManagerGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

it's a great place in the Sicilian countryside: you enjoy the views, spot the sea at some distance, have easy access to many great beaches and places to go - provided you have your own car.
the highway to siracusa is around the corner, but you forget about it once you're there. relaxing feel to the place, but try and be picky about the rooms, some are decidedly better than others (aim for a front view from the first floor, above the pool area there are some good ones). the setting for dinner on a candlelit terrace is a joy to watch; the food does not compare (the chef has some pretentions too many), the wine list is good though. breakfast is great and in a nice setting; the terraced pool is small but very enjoyable if there not too many guests around.
speking of which: if you can, do try and avoid the busy august weeks when everybody and their Italian sister is on vacation; aim for june or september; the prices will be much better, many delicious spots will be solitary and much more enjoyable (try the beautiful Calamosche beach, in the Vendicari natural reserve, 10 minutes by car plus a 30 minute walk).
all in all we found Corte del Sole to be a pleasant and relaxing vacation spot, and a very good base camp for exploring the beauties of southwestern Sicily. but having chosen the worst possible time to be there, we did fret a bit about the steep room rates versus the overall quality; rooms are comfy but not impressively so, service is slightly rough around the edges, people there seem to do their best and can be very helpful, but there is some pretentiousness which is not quite justified.

Room Tip: on the 1st floor, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piermaloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked in here at short notice, after a bad experience at a different hotel. The warm welcome from the Corte del Sole staff (especially Eva!) more than made up for the bad start we had had to our holiday. All the staff were extremely helpful, with great tips for enjoying the area. The restaurant was excellent - we ate there several times and thoroughly enjoyed eating on the veranda with beautiful views across the countryside. Hotel La Corte del Sole has a lovely pool area, and the breakfasts were great (though very sweet - as are all Sicilian breakfasts!). The rooms are decorated in a traditional, understated fashion, and though not the most memorable of rooms, they are spacious, immaculately clean, and have good bathrooms (we stayed in two different rooms). Lunch from the poolside bar is a little expensive, but otherwise, the hotel offers great value.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms - the one nearer the pool was nicer than the one by the courtyard as it had m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noto hotels
6.5 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
8.6 mi away
Masseria degli Ulivi
3.3 mi away
Hotel Porta Reale
Hotel Porta Reale
#1 of 33 in Noto
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Relais Villa Favorita
1.2 mi away
Jonio Hotel
Jonio Hotel
#13 of 33 in Noto
164 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gagliardi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Corte del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Corte del Sole

Property: Hotel La Corte del Sole
Address: Contrada Bucachemi SNC, 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Noto
#2 Green Hotel in Noto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noto
#4 Family Hotel in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Corte del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of a hill, La Corte del Sole offers its guests a wonderful view over the Vendicari Nature Reserve, one of the most beautiful Sicilian reserves. Thanks to the skillful restoration of a typical nineteenth-century ancient Sicilian manor, La Corte del Sole has been realized looking after every single detail, using only noble materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Corte del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Corte Del Sole Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing