We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Favorita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Villa Favorita
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Noto
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived on Boxing day and it seemed like we were the only guests at this hotel. The exteriors of the building look attractive enough however the rest leaves much to be desired. The hotel door was wide open letting in the cold air, no carpets, no heating. Same in our room. There was a functioning air conditioning unit however you had to switch it on yourself so when you came in after a day out you were faced with the prospect of a cold room. The room was of a decent, even one could say generous size however the furniture is dismal and sad. No attempt at decoration and the room just offers you the bare basics.
The first night I took out my Ipad to connect however internet connection was locked. I phoned reception and asked for the password since this was advertised as being free in our booking confirmation. They guy at the desk informed us that there was a EUR3.50 charge for every 30 mins of access!
The next morning the receptionist ( a rather sweet lady) promptly rectified the matter and we were given access, however I have to comment there is a rather pompous procedure to be followed. To use WIFI you have to physically go to reception, the receptionist asks you how many hours you need and prints out a receipt for every hour. So you have to keep these chits and every hour you have to log in with a different password!
Breakfast was ok however eating is a huge room full of empty chairs and tables felt eery.
This place needs a total refurbishment and needs to be staffed with a receptionist 24/7 not just in the mornings. We have stayed at much better places for less money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollypocket28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
28
108
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We spent three days here during a tour of Sicily. The hotel is well placed, away from the bustle of the city and located in a beautiful position but within in easy reach of Noto, the sea side and the sights at Syracuse within a 1/2 hour drive. The pool is excellent and of an exceptionally good size for a country hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxxxxxxxxxx52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Very nice setting, quiet location with a nice swimming pool.
Friendly staff. The room was rather small but clean and has a fridge.
Seen the location, a car is essential. It is a 5 min drive from the center of Noto, where you can find lots of restaurants.
Recommended (but quite expensive)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

The Hotel Villa Favorita is a gem of a hotel. Absolutely beautiful ground, lemon tree groves, old ceramics, a distant view of the sea, friendly and helpful staff, near the lovely town of Noto. We loved staying here, we loved everything about the hotel! Highly recommended!
Vicki and Joel Reiff
Ellen and Sal Celi
Zurich, Switzerland

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Pleasant setting and pleasant building, otherwize terrible food, had one dinner and 2 breakfasts.The hotel is situated too far from Noto to be able to walk out for a meal, and equally too far from the beach - a car is essential, which we had, but did not want to have to use it constantly, and apart from a swimming pool there is nothing else to do there. There is only 1 staff member at reception at any time, so the place is like a morgue. We stayed at 5 other hotels in Sicily, some more expensive, some less, but they were all interesting and enjoyable in their own way - this one had nothing to commend it.....save your money :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabbagevilleBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

Despite the star and "finds" description, we were unhappy with the Villa Favorita. Our assigned room was tiny, dark and dreary. We were shown another marginally better and were told that was all that was available despite the fact that the hotel was almost empty. For another 20 euros, (now 146 euros), we got a brighter room (2 exposures and a terrace). Even so, the wallpaper border was water-stained and apparently, they had run out of wallpaper on one wall.
Notices at the registration area and restaurant advised clients that espresso and cappuccino were extra. A second cup of coffee was also extra. The breakfast was average.
Used cups were not removed from the room- and the floor was dirty- apparently not swept during our 3 night stay.
The pool was a positive.
The web site makes it look wonderful- caveat emptor.

  • Liked — quiet, pretty location
  • Disliked — uncaring attitude of staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ditaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noto hotels
6.8 mi away
Masseria degli Ulivi
7.9 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Corte del Sole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Porta Reale
Hotel Porta Reale
#1 of 32 in Noto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.0 mi away
AgriResidence Valle Degli Dei
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#13 of 32 in Noto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Favorita

Property: Relais Villa Favorita
Address: Strada Provinciale 34 | Contrada Falconara, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Noto
#9 Romantic Hotel in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Favorita 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Favorita Relais, placed in the Val di Noto in the heart of Baroque Sicily and was born with the transformation of the 18th century villa property of the Di Lorenzo barons of Granieri marquis of Castelluccio family. At this day the Relais is still run by direct descendants of the family. The Relais is 2,5km from Noto, capital of Baroque Sicily and UNESCO site since 2002. The sea is only a five minute drive and offers both beach clubs and more wild sites where you can taste the real and authentic beauty, colors and smells of the Mediterranean sea. The ancient adobe is the ideal setting for a vacation lost in the flavors of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Relais Villa Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Favorita Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing