We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food in an isolated joy center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in an isolated joy center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The first thing that catches the eye when you enter Acacia Resort is the large and well decorated lobby. There is a free internet table, with a password given by the reception as well as Wi-Fi access. If one is tired from a full day activity there is an electric massage armchair operated by a 1 Euro coin. The rooms have a double bed and some of them (like mine) has also another single bed. Each room has a porch with a table and a view to the mountains or the sea-shore. The dining room is large with a variety of delicious food, and the evening dinner is really 25 Eur worth.
The hotel swimming pool is large, although quite shallow in some places, so swimming "for sports" is not easy. The seashore is nearby and in the evening one can watch a dramatic sunset over the mountains. The hotel bar is not a suitable alternative for lunch or dinner since they take about 3.5 Euros for something they call "a toast" but actually is 2 bread slices with a little ham and an olive for decoration. I did not try the spirits, but it seems that this part is stronger.
The major problem of the hotel is that you must have a car to reach tourist attractions or you can join organized trips that collect people from the hotel. IF one is bored the TV has at least 2 English speaking channels and many more. Major newspapers are available in the hotel store.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from which the train nearby is not heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amos_bnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    254
    83
    32
    11
See reviews for
333
223
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MILTON KEYNES, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a delightfully elegant hotel - the public spaces, the pool area, the dining room and terraces - light and airy, with that tell-tale Italian elegance (I offered to buy some of the expresso cups!!). So how come it's marooned in the middle of nowhere?

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors to get the best of the coastal panorama
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned home from the Acacia Resort hotel, and were very impressed indeed. Excellent food, wonderful gardens, and superb service made this a holiday to remember.

The extensive gardens, pools and private beach were easily the best that we have seen at a four-star hotel, and much better than the surroundings of at least one mainland Italian five-star hotel. The garden and pool lighting at night was spectacular, and it was so enjoyable to be able to take quiet after-dinner stroll in such beautiful surroundings. Our room was a little smaller than we would have liked, but very comfortable, quiet, and with a balcony overlooking the gardens.

The food was very good - particularly the dinners. I would agree with some other reviewers that there is room for improvement on the breakfasts, but this is only a very minor criticism, and did not detract from our stay. We got around the issue of water that was not always hot enough to infuse tea by warming up the teacups first!

The location of the hotel suited us very well as we had hired a car. If you did not have a car, you would be relying on shuttle buses, taxis, and organised coach trips - this might be an issue for some, but since the hotel facilities are so comprehensive and so good it is probably manageable with a little planning. In general, we found that the Cefalu area was very attractive, interesting, and not over-priced.

The only regret that we had was that we only had 1 week. Thank you very much to all the staff at the Acacia Park Resort - we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Sicily is truly a lovely place with a friendly and capable people. We enjoyed the rich history and the perfect climate that produce such fine foods and vines.
We sampled as many vines we could , considering car driving, and found several favorites. Some are not imported to Sweden which is a petty. This by itself is a good reason to return.
The dinner favorite became the “Sirae” Monreale. I´m sure there was even better ones but the list was long and the week was short.
The way you prepare the foods are elegant and genius. Nothing more than what it takes to maximize the potential of the good raw material. In the north we tend to over cook and complicate preparation
and it does not always pay off in the end. Good work!
Service is important. To do this well in a situation when the customer is everything from Sixten 7 years old to more demanding senior guests, like his father, and at the same time maintaining quality is difficult and you do this so well! I am impressed.
Now we have to focus on our businesses and next vacation is some time away – but we will make it through our cold and icy winter, with the memories from Acacia Resort. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tord S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

A very nice hotel with friendly staff and good service. Nice rooms.The food is fantastic! The location is charming, quiet and relaxing but if you need more activities you might rent a car to be able to see more of the beatiful area and visit the smaller villages.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EH600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing 8 days at the Acacia Resort with our two daughters aged 9 and 12. We used the resort to relax and also as a base to explore Sicily a little bit.

We understand very few Italian words and cannot speak it. This did not matter at this resort. Nearly all the staff spoke English. Announcements were made in multiple languages (Italian, English, French and in the second week, German and Russian)

The pool is great. It has a significant shallow section for younger children and then deep sections for older children and adults. The setting was good because the mature trees hide the buildings from the pool so you feel like you are sitting at a pool in a palm plantation.

The beach was fine. It is generally sandy. Once you are in the water, there are some smooth rocks that you have to get past to get to the sand again (about 10 meters out). There is a little bridge to help you, but we didn't really need this.

For us, the beds were very good (firm, but forgiving). It made for a good night’s sleep.

The rooms were spotless and well appointed. We booked adjoining rooms so it was good to have the kids in one room and the adults in another.

The food was of a good standard. Breakfast had all the standard items as well as the local Sicilian food. We did a la carte lunch. The specials were nice each day. Pizza was good for the kids. Rigatoni Alla Norma was the highlight for me. Dinner contained a good spread items that changed each evening. There was a good range of Sicilian wines available. We always sat outside for meals, although most guests seemed to prefer to sit inside.

The service was good. Luciano was particularly good to us ... for example he remembered what we liked to drink each day.

The activities were spread throughout the course of the day, but we did not really participate in them.

We did not use the spa facilities. We did not use the kids club.

The 9 hole putt putt mini-golf was one of the hardest we have done. Concrete surface and metal railings combined with a bit of wind meant that the ball rolled a long way and took a long time to stop!

Some of the common areas, particularly the glass could have done with a little more cleaning.

It is not near a main town and the roads into the resort do not inspire confidence in what lays behind the walls. We had a hire car so we were able to drive in to both Palermo (40 mins) and Cefalu (20 mins). We also drove to Mt Etna (2 hrs 15 mins) and to Segesta (1 hr 15 Mins).

There were only two issues for us.

The first was that on the second last day, there was a major issue with the pool that meant that the pool had to be mostly drained overnight. This meant that the pool was totally out of action for the morning and was probably only at about half its normal depth by the end of the day. Unfortunately, this also coincided with the beach being closed due to rough water, so our last day in which we planned to relax by the pool was disappointing. We understand that this was out of the management's control, but maybe a complementary drink at dinner or even a simple apology might have been a very good way to show some good will to customers who did not get what they paid for that day.

The second issue occurred over lunch. A child accidently knocked a glass from a table near ours breaking it in the walkway between the tables. At the time, only about 3 tables were occupied, however, it took 20 minutes for the staff to actually do something about cleaning it up. In the meantime the staff were happily walking through the glass either knocking it further afield or treading it into their shoes! I'm not sure if this is a cultural difference, but we would have expected that the first priority of the staff would have been to clean up the broken glass.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the side of the resort facing the pool and the sea. We stayed on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peak district derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at the Acacia Resort. We hired a car and drove down from the airport at Catania and when we couldn't find the hotel, we phoned them and a most helpful person at reception gave us good directions in excellent English and we were able to locate it. Throughout our stay we found the staff to be helpful, friendly and very attentive.

The hotel is beautifully landscaped with all available space including the roofs planted with a variety of flowers and succulents and we were able to observe at very close quarters swallows feeding heir young.

The hotel never seemed crowded even though it was peak holiday time and we always managed to get a sunbed as there were plenty and nobody got up early to reserve them. (The hotel has notices asking people not to reserve sun loungers.)

A lawn equipped with a football/ volleyball area, a children's play area, open area film area and some exercise challenges for adults leads on to a sandy/pebbly beach with an arched bridge leading over the pebbly part of the sea into a sandier part. The sea is wonderful, warm and slightly wavy.

We enjoyed all our meals particularly the Sicilian Evening when we were able to sample a wide variety of Siciliiian dishes. The fact that we both put on half a stone [s testimony to the quality and quantity of the food.! Our only disappointment here was the lack of a decent Italian coffee.

Our room was well equipped and well cleaned and a problem with th air con. was sorted out promptly but the lift was frequently not working and sometimes,particularly after a day walking and climbing steps the last thing you want to do is climb up three flights of stairs to your room.

I'm really glad we chose to stay at this resort but would highly recommend hiring a car if you enjoy expolring the area.


.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view- it's stunning. The rooms on the other side look over at the toll booths alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bond&co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campofelice di Roccella
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.4 mi away
VOI Baia di Tindari Resort
17.6 mi away
Domina Zagarella Sicily
Domina Zagarella Sicily
#1 of 5 in Santa Flavia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
61.2 mi away
Serenusa Village
Serenusa Village
#1 of 5 in Licata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni

Property: Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Address: Via Imera 6, 90010 Campofelice di Roccella, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Campofelice di Roccella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Campofelice di Roccella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, elegant and comfortable 4 star hotel is located on a pristine beach between Palermo and Cefalù. This stunning location is also known as the Madonie's Park Gate. Set in over 40,000 m² of gardens, it features an extra-large swimming pool, private beach, and sports facilities surrounded by lush green and tropical plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Resort Parco Dei Leoni Hotel Campofelice Di Roccella
Acacia Hotel Campofelice Di Roccella
Acacia Hotel Parco Dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco Dei Leoni Sicily/Campofelice Di Roccella, Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing