We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesnt live up to its appearance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesnt live up to its appearance”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Having booked for the Fiesta Garden Beach we were somewhat surprised to hear at the welcome meeting the following morning that we were actually in the Athenee Palace, we had arrived at 1030pm the previous evening and really hadnt noticed, but we were reassured by our rep. that this was indeed an upgrade so thought we must have been lucky! At this point we had only had breakfast which though not brilliant was acceptable. That evening dinner was nothing better than a mediocre cafeteiria very noisy and the food was poor, the staff were not interested in their english residents, italians seemed to be looked after much better. As for our room, it was very spacious with a very large bed but it was in the annexe of the hotel on the ground floor, we had looked forward to time on a balcony, we did have a terrace which overlooked the laundry and the car park not a nice place to sit, however the fact that we had a lot of foliage outside meant that we were infested with mossies, there was a plug in thing in the room but this had no effect, after a complaint to the indifferent reception staff they said they would spray the room but that only lasted one day and they suggested we bought something from the town, 25mins away on the shuttle bus costing 5euros return, we had already bought various soothing gels thank goodness but felt that spraying the room had to be the hotels duty, however we did not open the patio doors at all, though the maids did whilst cleaning in the morning which let them in, we spent the evening before goig to bed killing as many as possible but still waking in the morning to more bites, my advice is to request a room in the main hotel if this is not possible dont accept the annexe. As far as cleanliness is concerned I cannot in all honesty fault this, but as the hotel is in a remote area where it is impossible to obtain food anywhere locally there is little choice but to eat at the hotel, as a fellow guest said, dinner is to be endured not enjoyed. We didnt choose this hotel so had not read any reviews, I have now, and would not have chosen it, unfortunately we did not have the luxury of choosing!.

Room Tip: High floor main building sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    225
    92
    36
    23
See reviews for
346
177
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taby, Sverige
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel has a 4 star level, but should maybe be a "3 star" according to the the maintinance.

Had a lot of activities, but the tools and equipment was low level. An upgrade of those should really improve! E.g. the minigolf had ordinary golf clubs. Difficult to hit the ball with a wooden golf clubs?! And the lanes was not cleaned (lots of leaves and branches on) and created in concreat...

The receiption was "nice", but lack of motivation.

The food at the buffé was really good, but the pizza was over estimated and expensive! Also I missed food possibilities between lunch and dinner. No restaurant was open.

The "pool bar" was meantioned in the description, but never opened (and seemed not been open ever).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The resort is located really next to the sea with its private beach. Even if we arrived earlier than the check in time foreseen, we received immediately our room key and we could start immediately to enjoy the holiday.
The first impact with the building was not impressing. The building is only a typical Italian 60-years one where the reinforced concrete is the only material used.
We spent the first day at the beach, which is a sort of mixture of sand and stones. The sea on this side is not one of the most beautiful you can meet in Sicily. Besides due to some water currents in the afternoon the water seems to be dirty, this is why we decided for the following days to take advantage of the pool. You have two pools: in the one closer to the resort the sun beds are more comfortable. The pool was ok until when the day before our departure a big group arrived. Since the pool is not so big once they were inside there was no place anymore to move or to get inside.
The buffet restaurant seemed to offer a better variety of food during the dinner rather than the lunch. The breakfast was ok but the offer was again not really diversified. The quality of the food was average. An interesting opportunity is the restaurant closer to the sea. Here during the dinner you can enjoy the dishes of the day (even if I have to say that sometimes the creativity of the chef damaged the taste of the ingredients – the mullets with curry were really horrible!) and for lunch you can tasteful pizzas.
I found the entertainment team really poor. The evening show was every evening improvised and pretty uninteresting. There are no interesting activities during the day, this is why after 2-3 days the stay at this resort starts to be boring.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed at the Fiesta Hotel over Easter holidays for 5 days. Very friendly staff, very clean and spacious room. We were a family of 4 with 2 young children (Age 7 and 9). Kids really enjoyed all the activities at the hotel, and animators were really good with them.
Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travluv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed at the Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace between 27th July and 3rd August 2010. Our party consisted of four. Me and my partner, and our two children, both 11 years old. We went via a package holiday, which was all inclusive.
We were due to stay in the Hotel Fiesta Garden Beach which is the sister hotel next door. However, when boarding the transfer coach from the airport we were told of the change to the Hotel Athenee. Since we were told this would be an upgrade we decided to take the offer, which was a mistake.
The Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace lies about 60km east from the airport, the nearest town being Cefalu. The hotel complex comprises of the Athenee Palace and Garden Beach hotels and a number of “bungalows” belonging to the Garden Beach hotel. The bungalows, looked more like small holiday chalets to me. The complex in situated between the main highway/railway line, and the beach.
The grounds themselves are very nice, with lots of plants; tress etc, The paths etc are not well lit in the evenings however so care needs to be taken.
The Athenee Palace building is 3 stories high with the basement being taken up by the restaurant, shop etc. The rooms are average for a three star hotel. A large double bed, which gave us both back ache, and only one pillow each. Our children shared our room. One was made to sleep on the sofa, while the other was given a camp bed that was too small for her. We complained, and a small change was made to the camp bed. The sofa was so hard; our other daughter had trouble sleeping. The only good thing about the room was being on the top floor we had a nice sea view.
The complex has three pools. The seating arrangements around the pool are very cramped, and you need to get on well with the people around you. It should also be noted that one pool is unusable for about four hours a day, as the animation team plays loud music, that sounds more like construction work is taking place. If you are taking ecstasy, then this “music” might be OK, but for most of us who are not, it is very unpleasant.
Unlike any other hotel we have stayed in, you also need to play €2.50 every time you want a clean beach tail. This is for cleaning. So, if you want a clean beach towel everyday (and most people do), then this is an additional €10 for four people every day.
Meals were taken in the dining room, which has tables outside. The dining room itself had about as much charm a factory canteen, and so nosy in the evenings, it is difficult to hold a conversation. Sitting outside is better, although not great.

The quality of food is just about adequate for a three star hotel. There is not a great selection, and the considering Italian food is my favourite cuisine, I did not find what they offered was very good at all.
However, while both lunch and dinner are just about passable, this cannot be said about breakfast. Here you need to take a plastic tray as used in two star Parisian tourist hotels, and try to find something edible.
It is obvious that this hotel runs strict cost controls, and this very apparent at breakfast. You cannot get proper fruit juice, only very watered down squash, ham which is too disgusting to eat, and cheese that has less taste than the average bar of soap.
However, the worst thing about this hotel is the poor service. There is no waiter service in the bar, something that any 4 star hotels I have been too has. If you are all inclusive, your drinks are served in plastic glasses at all times, including in the evenings, and you have to ask for it in glass before they serve you. In the dining room, the wine is not opened at the table, but brought to you already opened. This plus the fact that the red wine is very cold I find very strange!!! Another thing is, while the waiters seem friendly to the Italian guests, they seem almost hostile to foreign ones.
By any stretch of the imagination, this is not a 4 star hotel. In fact, I have been in 3 star establishments that have offered better level of service. It is a shame. Sicily is a lovely island, and this hotel is in a nice setting. It is just spoilt by bad food, lousy service, and staff that just don’t care very much. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay, You deserve better than this shabby establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skycave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitra
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

After being in the hotel I have only two, but important onbjections- the sea was as dirty as a sink one day, there were pieces of plastic, paper, and other rubbish spoiling our swimming, and the situation was not much better during other 10 days of our stay. Also the entrance to the sea is horrible, and people can break they legs if they slip on the round stones which are there. I can recommend the hotel, but not the sea. Everywhere in the Sicily, even in Cefalu, which is only 15 kmf far from the hotel, is the sea beautiful. But not here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawaNitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Look, here's the thing to remember about this hotel: It's 15 minutes from the town of Cefalu, with its wonderful beaches, ON A GOOD DAY. In beach traffic, it's an hour away. And on a nice summer day in August, traffic backs up for four miles. We've seen it. This hotel is located on the very edge of town. So, OK, you think, I'll drive into town early in the morning. Well, you have to, because finding parking otherwise would be a problem in Cefalu. This is a great town to come to -- great shops, restaurants, gorgeous beaches, scenic -- But it's the place Italians come to enjoy the summer, and traffic is a problem. This hotel is fine ONLY if the location doesn't inconvenience you. If you stay here to go to other places in Sicily away from Cefalu, go for it. If you want a hotel at which you can enjoy the town of Cefalu, DON'T stay here during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MOJOBO48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campofelice di Roccella
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 6 in Campofelice di Roccella
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#2 of 6 in Campofelice di Roccella
806 reviews
78.6 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
78.1 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
874 reviews
11.3 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
80.0 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace

Property: Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Address: Viale Imera SS 113 km 204.3, 90010 Campofelice di Roccella, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Campofelice di Roccella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Campofelice di Roccella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace is the ideal location for a couple or family to spend relaxed holidays in the island of Sicily. The Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace is a newly-constructed hotel which offers guests modern and comfortable facilities. Harmoniously set in a luxuriant garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Cefalu
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace Sicily/Campofelice Di Roccella, Province Of Palermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing