We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“marvelous flat and location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Acireale, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Canadafam...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“marvelous flat and location”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Francesco and the family members we met were friendly and genial. The apartment is excellently designed, with efficient use of space. We easily fit three into the bedroom, with our grown son on the pull-out couch of the living room. The kitchen and bathrooms are clean and spacious. The extensive terraces were shaded and have fantastic views — dinner outside was a marvelous experience every day. The really wonderful aspect of the place is that it's by the sea, with amazing rocky lava fingers reaching out into it. These are a public space, with locals coming by to swim or fish, but the house is private and securely gated. We swam as much as we could, though the water was cool in early June---there are little paths that the nimble (perhaps not the very young or old) can take down to spots where one can get into the water. Windy and wavy days created especially memorable swimming in the deep, clear, and buoyant water. You can also walk to town, which is a charming little fishing village with a couple of small food markets (no ATM though; for this and larger markets I recommend Riposto, 5 kms away on a relatively quiet road). A car is needed to get there (watch out for the rotaria that has two signs for Pozzillo—take the north route, and then when arriving look for the small road leading to the harbor; and be aware that streets dividing or extending can keep the same name) and out and about to the great places to visit on the east coast (we visited Siracusa, Tauromina, Aci Trezza, and took the Circumetnea train in four days). But since the house and location were so great, my family was often reluctant to leave and grateful to return. More than an place to eat and sleep, the apartment is a holiday destination in its own right. A great deal for those who value economical, simple living at a fantastic location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sea, the views, the terraces, the practical efficiency of the apartment
Liked least: no major problems.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryll58
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent modern proprty on the sea”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Property split into apartments and this one is jst above ground level, with another beneath and some above. Good location at the end of a cul de sac. Clean and modern (mostly Ikea), with good views of the sea and a patio for eating out. there are several bathing platforms 2 mins away and steps into the sea over volcanic rocks. Well positioned for sightseeing, with the volcana, Catania and Taormina within 1 hrs drive. Bar/restauarant within walking distance. Owners very helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from patio
Liked least: small kitchen and some noise from neighbours children
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oded0007
petah tikva
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your soul”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The fully equipped apartment allows you to cook and eat your meals at a beautiful surrounding of huge black rocks and blue sea. Although we were only 2 people , it could easily have additional 3 children and still feel spacy enough. At the first day , Francesco the owner met us and was very helpful with tips for traveling , eating and even gave us his local map.
The village of Pozzillo is a bit remote from major cities like Catania, but not really.
The Etna is also not far and you can consider the weather before climbing the mountain.
If you are after a day at the roads and touring around , you will be happy to stay at this quiet place, getting up at the sound of birds and sea waves.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The serenaty
Liked least: A bit remote for driving the little roads at night (After good meal and wine..)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatikim
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
“Incredible Summer Vacation Rental”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Thank you, Francesco, for your hospitality!
The view right out the back gate with the lava rocks to sun on and the Mediterranean to swim in was so peaceful and beautiful. I wish we could return there every year. I know we will always want to stay exactly where we stayed this time.I was a bit concerned when I made the reservation since you never know what you will actually wind up with, but we were so pleasantly surprised that we felt like jumping up and down with excitement.
Even though the rental above us was already reserved for the week, Francesco offered us the bottom apartment which turned out to be just wonderful!
The apartment was clean, roomy, nicely decorated, and recently renovated. Even though we had originally wanted 2 bedrooms, this was an excellent alternative. The sofa sleeper in the living room was quite comfortable and still provided privacy for your teenager and us. Francesco greeted us with open arms, some welcome items, and provided us with the right amount of attention and privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, location, security, and Francesco's hospitality.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewed June 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mariaanni...
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Peaceful and Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

If you want to get away from the tourist scenes and away from the hustle and bustle of life, Casa Pozzillo is the perfect place. I stayed for 10 days at Casa Pozzillo. It was the best vacation I had enjoying the simple life; the location of the apartment with its breathtaking view of the balcony, the town, the people, the culture, the food and the language.

The location of the apartment was great; at the end of a quiet street and the view of the balcony was specular. It is also a good location to go to the bigger nearby cities; 30 minutes to Catania and Taormina. The weather was beautiful; sunny 95% of the time. I enjoyed walking up to amazing sunrises in the mornings from the balcony with my coffee. I spent a lot of time on the balcony; eating fresh sea food and vegetables I buy every day from the town, watching the little boats go by, lovers sitting on the lava rocks holding hands and the teenagers diving from the top of the lava rock into the water, drinking wine in the evening looking out straight into the sea, breathing the salt air, looking at the waves; peaceful and relaxing with no worries in the world. It is a good workout to go down the lava rocks into the sea; the water was a bit cold in May.

The apartment has everything you need; the kitchen was well equipped but the only recommendation I have is an outdoor grill to grill the fresh seafood, the bed and sofa was comfortable. It was also clean and nicely decorated.

The people in the town were friendly which made me want to stay longer.

Francesco, the owner was awesome; always helpful, friendly and very accommodating.
Francesco, thank you very much and I truly enjoyed my stay at Casa Pozzillo. It’s been a week since I am back in the States and I miss it and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness and Tranquility of Casa Pozzillo
Liked least: Littering in the streets of the town.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing