We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - especially for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'oste scuro

L'oste scuro
Ranked #10 of 216 Restaurants in Acireale
Price range: $28 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent - especially for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We ate twice in this restaurant and both times we were very happy withe the whole experience. Our first visit was at lunchtime when we ate inside and were treated with great hospitality and ate an exceptional antipasto. One of our party, who lived in Rome for 10 years, claimed it was the best he'd ever eaten! As previous reviewers have said, the free lemonade provided was delicious. We returned for a dinner and ate outside. This was also a very positive experience although we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table so booking is advisable. Despite its location (main street and opposite a beautiful church), which might make people think it is aimed at tourists, this is the real Italian experience. It is excellent value for money too.Do visit if you are in Acireale!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    271
    92
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Antipasto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had an Antipasto shared between two. It was delicious and good portions. We really enjoyed eating it accompanied with their wine and an on the house lemonade. Afterwards we had 2 different types of pasta which were a little bit disappointed when compared with other pasta dishes eaten from other nearby restaurants. Still overall remains a good restaurant keeping in mind the amazing antipasto.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Try it to believe it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Good quality food at very good price!! The settimg is like out of a picture book!!
Very good!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank proserpina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Came here to have dinner, didn't make the reservation and were lucky to get the table for two. There were no tables inside, by the way. The view from the tables is magnificent! The waiters are very nice. Fresh lemonade for every table was a pleasant surprise (so you do not need to order acqua minerale:). The food was delicious, casatta siciliana was the tastiest I ate in Sicily!
Without any hesitation could recommend this nice place!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“looks unprepossessing, but the food was incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel, and when we arrived we were very warmly welcomed. The frontage looks a bit shabby and faded, but the food and the ambience more than made up for that.
The selection of antipasti was interesting and it was good to try some real Sicilian dishes.
It looks out onto one of Acireale's beautiful churches - looks just like a wedding cake!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 57variety186387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'oste scuro also viewed

Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 

Been to L'oste scuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing