We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sport Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iglesias
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed in this Hotel twice now and LOVED it every time, pool is great, restaurant is fantastic and amazing value, the pizza's are outstanding, the staff were great, bike hire and wifi are very cheap and very good, weather is great, The rooms were ok, just normal rooms in a 3 star hotel, clean and comfortable with lovely wooden shutters, I would recommend a car for travelling the island although both times we didn't bother and found enough to do, Iglesias is ten minute walk away but a very charming little place with lovely restaurants and a square where folk mingle, Cagliari is easily accessible by train, station is 7-8 minute walk away and take 35-40 mins to take you straight into the centre of Cagliari which is like a mini-Rome with a lovely Marina and lovely beach, overall this is the best holiday we have had, the staff are truly brilliant, Amore Luca!!!! Daren e Claire, Scotland

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTTISH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsportvillageIgl, Anastasia at Hotel Sport Village, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Daren and Claire! Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Sport Village. It's good to know that one more guest left our hotel with a smile.
We really hope to have you at our hotel again in the future!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
40
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Based on reviews we selected Hotel Sport Village as a good place to base ourselves for exploring the south of Sardinia. On balance, it's probably just about OK for one night stopover when it doesn't matter too much, but could not recommend for a longer stay. We paid in advance for 14 nights but left after 5 as the accommodation was spoiling our holiday & first experience of Sardinia. I'm surprised at the higher ratings it has received.
First appearances are not favourable; poorly maintained grounds and a tired looking building. The dining room just off the entrance hall appeared to be closed down for the season. The rooms are small; a double bed with a tiny shelf on each side only just big enough for a paperback book, a wardrobe with one shelf, a table top and one chair. Space is extremely tight for 2 people and there is a distinct lack of places to put your things.
Breakfast is advertised as available until 10:00 but there was nothing left after 9:00 and a surly assistant begrudgingly answered requests to top up the bread or make a coffee as if an inconvenience. We ended up buying our own food from the supermarket. We asked about use of the safe which is advertised as a facility, but access is only available when the Manager is on site - clearly not convenient. A loud wedding party on Saturday night followed by Karaoke on Sunday evening was the final straw. The late noise of both events was overbearing followed by scraping & dragging of furniture during the clean up process. We moved out as soon as we could, swallowed the loss of the advance payment & found an alternative place to stay.

Positives
Strong wi-fi signal gave us web access to search for alternative accommodation
Good standard of cleaning
Provided you are prepared to drive 2-3km, good access to restaurants for dinner in Iglesias
Relatively low cost for area

Negatives
Noisy at night
Small, poky room with little space for storage
Poor breakfast - suggest they either don't offer breakfast or if they do, to do it properly
Services over-promised, under-delivered
Scruffy & unkempt exterior grounds

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovetravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely pool, very clean rooms with AC and a good restaurant in the evening. I saw no evidence of tennis (or tennis lessons) or bike hire on site and it is not near a beach as stated on some booking sites. It is approximately 10 miles to a beach. I would have liked to stay in the main building instead of an annexe. The biggest disappontment for us was it was too far to walk to town, (approx 2 miles on a road with no pavement) and there is not one bar or restaurant anywhere near. It costs about 10 euros each way in a taxi to the town centre. WIFI is good value at 1 Euro for 24 hours usage (not one day). The hotel was cheap so cant complain too much. For a Sport Hotel I was also disappointed that there was no gym. The continental breakfast was OK though.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

starting with the positive, the pool is nice & sun beds are comfortable. Having said this there were not enough mattresses for all beds. The rooms are clean but depressing. The restaurant is basically closed all day and if you want to have dinner, they told us, you have to order in the morning so you will have your food in the evening. Not everyone's idea of a spontaneous vacation feeling. Gym did not exsist due to a " Hurricane "... To make a long strop short... No love and caring in this place !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsportvillageIgl, Addetto alla Reception at Hotel Sport Village, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
it is with a great regret that we read about your review on our TripAdvisor profile and this can mean two things: the first is that we were not able to please You, and the second is that we have not met Your expectations. For these reasons we would like to give You a feedback, a reply to Your review, mainly because we believe that a dissatisfied customer has probably misunderstood the way we operate.
So, first of all we would like to explain to You why You did not find all the matresses onto the sunbeds: that has happened because we sent them to the laundry service to be washed and we had them back only after two days: that is a normal operation for a hotel like this. We are sorry about this, and please You to understand.
The second thing we do not understand is why You write that our rooms are depressing...they are like other rooms of other hotels. If you can explain this statement, it would be great.
But the worst thing we read is about our restaurant, in fact we really think that You misunderstood us, because maybe we were not so clear as well: Our restaurant is open every evening from 19:00 to 23:00 and there is also a pizzeria with wood oven; If You think to eat in our restaurant for lunch, it is possible, but only reserving a table the day before, because we usually open only by evening. We never say that You have to reserve something to eat in the morning to have it in the evening. And we always offer a service that is considered very good by other people who work in hotel industry (not in our hotel), particularly for courtesy; We think that it is not a case in fact when our guests thank us if we help them for reserving a table in other restaurants or give them advice about places to visit.
In the end, we did not think that You had a so bad stay in our hotel, because no one of our guests said us to have found a so bad place. For this we would like to apologize with You, but we would also like to have You another time as a guest in our Hotel to show You that You probably did not enough test and testify our expertise in welcoming. So this is our official invitation to You to come back here and try again our hospitality!
Please write us back soon!
With our best regards.
Alessandra, Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Everything was very good, almost excelent, except the showers, they were very small, and if you are a big size person like me (174 cm tall and 120 kilograms), you may get stuck in the showers doors, and if you lose the soap, do not try to pick it up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JoseVargasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights at the end of May just before the high season in Sardinia starts. It is positioned just outside Iglesias near big supermarket and next to the fotball stadium. When we arrived the front side of the building looked like army barrack but when we entered, we found nicely decoreted hotel with spotlessly cleaned (every day) rooms with Sky TV and own bathroom.
The restaurant downstars is according to our comparision the best in town with big portions (especially tuna and swordfish steaks were massive) for very reasonable price.
The only thing we didn t like was the view of the ugly scruffy fotball stadium next to the hotel which you can t see on the official photos. At the time of our visit the swimming pool wasn t cleaned so we could not use it.
Overall it is great value 3 star hotel well positioned near the extraordinarily pitoresque Sardinian wild coast (we drive all arounf the island and we found it most interesting). My good review goes also to the entire group of staff (all receptionist and restaurant staff)
Attention: You will need car for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with windows to swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked the hotel because we didn't want to be too far away from Cagliary airport because we had to be there early in the morning. And for that it met our needs. The rooms were clean (the smell of the cleaning liquid was so penetrating that we were happy to open our windows), beds good. The breakfast was okay.
We won't recommand the hotel for a longer stay, because of the city of Iglesias. It has really no atmosphere, there is noting to see or do.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iglesias
1.6 mi away
Euro Hotel Iglesias
Euro Hotel Iglesias
#1 of 4 in Iglesias
63 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Artu
Hotel Artu
#3 of 4 in Iglesias
68 reviews
101.0 mi away
Hotel & Residence Cala Liberotto
10.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa Dei Venti
Hotel La Rosa Dei Venti
#1 of 1 in Buggerru
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sport Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sport Village

Property: Hotel Sport Village
Address: Via Carlo Alberto della Chiesa | Localita' Monte Figu, 09016 Iglesias, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Iglesias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iglesias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sport Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sport Village is located in the south west of Sardinia just outside the city of Iglesias, in the heart of the mining park, at only 8 km from the beach and 1 km from the city center, 25 minutes from the airport of Cagliari- Elmas, and at only 15 minutes for the embarkation of the island of San Pietro (CARLOFORTE). The hotel is surrounded by a suggestive landscape, far from the traffic town, it is composed by 25 rooms decorated with style and provided of all the comforts: -air conditioning -telephone -fridge -hair dryer -private services The Hotel have available rooms equipped for the resort of the disabled guests. The rooms are very bright with view on to the outdoor pool or they offer a beautiful view of the countryside sarda. The Hotel have available of: -ample free parking -pool with the solarium free -soccer fields at 5 and at 8 -pizzeria with oven wood -restaurant -receiving room -bar service -reception actives 24 hours on 24 The Hotel Sport Village offers the use of an outdoor pool of the surface of 200sqm with variable height and a reserved area for children. Both soccer fields at 5 and at 8 are regulations and realized with synthetic grass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sport Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sport Village Iglesias, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing