We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Otranto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Would certainly recommend this small but lovely hotel! My partner and I were very pleased with everything from breakfast to the service from the staff and it was really close to the restaurants and everything. I also recommend to rent a car and travel down along the beautiful coast!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FridaEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff at this hotel are it's real selling point - they could not have been more helpful or accommodating! Their English was perfect. The room we stayed in was just the "basic" double, but it was beautiful and very clean - hardly basic! The bed was comfortable (quite hard, but I like this), and there was a sky box with the TV. It was fully airconditioned and there are shutters available which block out all the light if you want to sleep during day hours or later into the morning.

The whole hotel is beautifully presented - serene and modern. Breakfast every morning was delicious, and throughout the day there are little snacks (delicious cake!) to enjoy around the various terraces overlooking the city and the seaside. There is no restaurant here as such, but there is a bar and they will make you up a variety of snacks at the drop of a hat.

You are perfectly located to pop down to the waterfront and enjoy the beautiful views, explore the castle, or sample some rustic Italian cuisine. We enjoyed this, as some of the more traditional Masserias, whilst beautiful, are more remote, requiring a drive to get to town.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sld_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here and it was mainly to do with the friendly and very helpful staff and the refreshing appearance of this Hotel. From the moment you walk in you feel that the management really care how the place is presented. They have certainly achieved as it gives off an air of chic. This is from the lovely chairs and tables to relax and have a drink, or the pretty flavoured water ready to quench your thirst any time of the day. Pleasant artwork as well.
The rooms are adequate and nice (with the bathrooms a bit on the small side) and the breakfast simple yet of good quality, yet enough to feel there is variety to make you look forward to the following morning's sitting.
The terrace is a real treat and great for getting a sun tan and chilling and reading. It would be an awesome place for a party with friends.
The real winner though is the very helpful staff. They were so helpful for us and even generously rang and made our take-away pizza order when we decided to have a quiet night in.
On the negatives, there is no parking aside from what you can find on the street. It was not busy season for us so we did not have a problem. No iron in the room or one to borrow. At least my shirts won't need a wash. I'm dumbfounded as to why a hotel does not have a iron and ironing board (or ironing service) to offer their guests. My parents have run an accommodation business since 1986 and we've always offered that as part of our service. In fact we have them in each room!
Finally, for a summer holiday hotel, I think the hotel should offer a pool. The Jacuzzi was nice (and free not like the last comment).
These last few points are the only reasons why the rating is very good and not excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here whilst in town for a friend's wedding. The room was nice enough, not sure I would call it 4*. Close enough to the centre of town etc, easy to find and friendly staff.

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because the jacuzzi on the roof looked so great and looked forward to using it until.... we were informed there was a charge to use it! I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel, much less a 4* hotel that charges for use of the jacuzzi! And from what I recall it wasn't that cheap either, like 10euros for 30mins or something. But it wasn't the price, it was the principle. This really put me off the hotel and for this reason I would definitely not recommend the hotel or stay here again.

The receptionist staff, however, were phenomenal, and could not have been more helpful, but even they couldn't make up for the jacuzzi thing, what with having a little screen for the camera set on the jacuzzi so they could go and tell anyone off for being unauthorised (having not paid) in using the jacuzzi.

What's worse, they don't tell you at any point that the jacuzzi is charged leaving you to be embarrassed when you try to join someone in it for them to tell you to go away because they have already paid for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdAstra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Valle dell' Idro for 3 nights in September .
We were very happy with the room: it was not very big but very nice and light and very clean.
The staff were all very nice and courteous.
It was about a ten minute walk into the centre of Otranto and you could always take the Ape taxi if you did not feel like walking.
The breakfast was extremely nice and we enjoyed breakfasting on the terrace.
All in all a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just spent 4 very relaxing days here and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very very accommodating and helpful. Gave lots of info about Otranto and surrounding area. The breakfast every morning went till 11am and was great. (we slept in as we stayed up drinking wine on the roof top terrace till 3am some nights!!)

There are a few things that could have been done to enhanced our stay. The mini bar was very poorly stocked. No diet cola, 1 beer, no wine, and no snacks, they could have made a few extra bucks by filling it up and I would have been more satisfied. The Jacuzzi needs some help! It was kept at 33C and should be around 38C so this was not the best experience. The second pump did not work so only one side of the jets were going, and worst of all it had not been cleaned in a very long time! My shorts smelt so bad after getting out they stunk up our room and I had to double bag them in our luggage. We paid for a double chic plus room to get free use of the tub and did not got back in because of this. This needs some attention.

Other than that everything was perfect they really aim to please there guests and are always trying to improve I really like this trait in a business! I will definitely stay again when I return to Italy from Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oilworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Oilworker,
first of all thank You for You kind review!
We are sorry for the Jacuzzi..we had serious problems and everything is fixed now...and about the smell..we really don't know...probably someone caused it...we are sorry!!
Regarding the minibar...we regret if you did not enjoyed the minibar. Having a a mini bar poorly stocked is a decision taken because the most part of people just drink water causing at the end of the season often causing losses.. If You will return here we'll be happy to stock differently Your minibar :-)
See You soon!
Lucilla Cuman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and i stayed at the Hotel Dell'Idro or two nights.The rooms are very pretty, clean and comfortable. The terraces are fantastic, with views looking over to the sea. The breakfast is very good, with a a big selection to choose from. We booked an economy double room for a good price. The room was small but we were on the top floor with views of the sea from our window. The only downside is the prices here can be a little expensive, considering it is not by the sea. The location is good if you have a car, but its only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Otranto and the hotel provides secure parking 5 minutes from the hotel. You do have to pay for the Jacuzzi, which is not kept at a warm temperature so it is not very hot so this was a little disappointing. Overall this is a beautiful, clean and spacious hotel. The staff are very helpful and we had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Loren_881,
first of all let me thank You for Your review....We are sorry about the hot-tube but we had a serious problem with the heating element, that's why the water was not very warm. We actually are waiting for a new one, so in few days we will able to have again our fantastic jacuzzi :-)
Thank You from all the staff!
Regards!
Lucilla Cuman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otranto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#10 of 40 in Otranto
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giuseppe
Hotel San Giuseppe
#17 of 40 in Otranto
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Masseria Mongio dell'Elefante
2.7 mi away
Baia dei Turchi
Baia dei Turchi
#4 of 40 in Otranto
816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Masseria Bandino
Hotel Masseria Bandino
#1 of 40 in Otranto
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Valle Dell'Idro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Valle Dell'Idro

Address: Via Giovanni Grasso 4, 73028, Otranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Otranto
Price Range: $94 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Valle Dell'Idro 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from Otranto old town and from local beaches, the Relais Valle dell'Idro is an exclusive hotel where you can appreciate design and details attention. Its convenient location allows you to enjoy a breathtaking view of Valle dell'Idro, old town and Adriatic Sea. Rooms are comfortable, bright and chic. Distinguished by size they offer you the same facilities: smart rooms are perfect for short stays and younger guests; chic rooms larger in size. All rooms have a great attention for the details with lampanaki headboards, crystal glass doors, handmade stitched linen, curtains with an embroidery typical of San Leucio village with an image of a coral, lamps in wood and parchment. Relais Valle dell'Idro has an indoor and outdoor breakfast area, where breakfast "Dolce Risveglio" is served. The terraces is perfect for the "happy-hour" time at the sunset. There is also a roof top with solarium area and hot tub, and a relaxing area on the ground floor with sofas where our guests can enjoy an "after - dinner" drink. For keeping in shape, guests can benefit a well - equipped gym, a beauty center with possibility of booking massages and treatments. The polite and careful staff with its suggestions and advices makes Relais Valle dell'Idro the perfect place for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Valle Dell'Idro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing