We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Otranto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our stay at the hotel was wonderful and we had the best holiday!
Location of this hotel is right amidst the old town of Otranto: only a step away from the sea, surrounded by vibrant restaurants, shops and must-see sites of this glorious, interesting and history-rich town.
All the staff is incredibly kind, helpful and taylored or holiday to our needs perfectly, which made it very personal and unforgettable.
The chef Antonio is a genius. Preparing the most elaborate and delicious meals every night on the private roof-top terrace, which was absolutlely magical. His cakes are divine.
We will surely return to this gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Mr. Michael K,
It was a real pleasure to have you in our hotel... but now we really do not know how to do with Antonio... is going around into the hotel all day saying that is a Genius!!!....
:)
Hoping to see you soon
Marco Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 504 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We read a recommendation for Hotel Palazzo Papaleo, in the 'Lonely Planet guide' so decided to stay for 2 nights. We were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived at the hotel (a day late..my fault!... but no problem to the staff!) on our bicycles...we were made to feel exceptionally welcome. As the staff said ...they wanted our stay to be as if we were visiting family, not just staying at a hotel, and that is exactly the feeling we had.
Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful..they all spoke excellent English. The breakfasts' we had were exceptional, croissants fiiled with creme anglais and strawberries, omelette made to order, freshly baked focaccia bread, freshly squeezed orange juice mmmmmm!
Our room was spacious and the cleaner was fantastic..no sooner had we left the room for a short time...we came back to everything neat and tidy in our room!
When we were leaving to travel to our next destination a staff member spent some time supplying us with recommendations, travel route etc.
As we cycled away the staff were walking out of the hotel to personally welcome yet another very lucky couple of guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Heather L,
We should thank you for the face you made when you arrived into the hotel and we said that you were a bit late for the check in... about one day! Thanks also for the beautiful pictures you've posted here... each time I watch them... I miss the croissant of Antonio with the fresh cream and strawberry.... yum!
I hope to meet you again when you'll be back in Italy.
Warm regards
Marco Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were booked in for one night at the Palazzo Papaleo and stayed two because the hotel was so nice and the staff were very attentive. This is a small hotel in the "old town" and is very well located and appointed. The room was large for a European hotel, with a king size bed, loft TV area, beautiful bathroom. There is a roof-top terrace that has views of the sea and this is where breakfast is served (weather permitting). The breakfast was excellent. Cannot say enough about how wonderful this hotel is.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Cannot say enough "thank you" for the nice words you used in writing the review for our hotel!
I hope you stay in Italy will be nice and you'll have the time to come back soon for some other week end.
Warm regards

Marco Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Hotel Palazzo Papaleo in Otranto, Italy is a marvelous place to stay. It's location can't be beat and the staff and amenities are first rate. The breakfast and dinners are superb. This is one of the best places we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We are not so perfect...
Believe me...
:)
Marco Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I visited the beautiful city of Otranto and had previously booked hotel reservations at Palazzo Papaleo. Our experience with Otranto as well as the Palazzo were very rewarding. Specifically the hotel which has a great location within walking distance from the sea and city sites, is very beautiful with warm inviting rooms. The staff was nothing short of outstanding and helpful in every way possible from reservations for restaurants, to directions to nearby cities or towns, including checking up on our parked car to make sure that it was parked in the right spot(s). As seasoned travelers we would highly recommend Palazzo Papaleo for the charm and comfort of the hotel and for the outstanding service from the staff especially Giuseppe and Marco.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyLuiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

“Otranto off season”
I think the title of your next review will be... Otranto high season? Not sure is the same city of off season!
See you in August dear Mr. AnthonyLuiso! :)
Warm regards
Marco Piccolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here in August, a time when it is very hot and very crowded, yet this hotel was like a safe-haven amidst all of the hub-bub. The dinner and breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the service was first-class. This is the most conveniently located hotel in Otranto, if you are interested in the historic center. Don't be afraid to ask the staff for recommendations for any and everything!

Room Tip: Our room had a loft with an extra bed - it would have been much too hot for anyone to sleep in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I really dont have much to add to the other reviews, they have said it all but I want to add my thanks to the lovely staff that made all the difference to my stay. They were extremly helpful and friendly and I would return to the hotel just for them. The situation of the hotel was terrific, within walking distrance to everything, just a minute to the beach, a minute to the church and castle and loads of nice resturants around that did not break the bank and had wonderful food. The only thing I did not like very much was the price of the taxis around, they really charge way too much compared to other places. Thank you again lovely staff, you made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otranto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
#8 of 40 in Otranto
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Masseria Bandino
Hotel Masseria Bandino
#1 of 40 in Otranto
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#10 of 40 in Otranto
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giuseppe
Hotel San Giuseppe
#17 of 40 in Otranto
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baia dei Turchi
Baia dei Turchi
#4 of 40 in Otranto
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Papaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Papaleo

Address: Via Rondachi 1, 73028, Otranto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
#1 Spa Hotel in Otranto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Otranto
#6 Family Hotel in Otranto
Price Range: $114 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palazzo Papaleo 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo, unique 5 stars luxury Hotel in Otranto; between the enchantment of the frescoed ceilings and the pristine beauty of the sea of Otranto, you will enjoy excellent services and an exclusive relax. Equipped with modern facilities and panoramic terraces on three floors with a 360 ° view over the city, Hotel Palazzo Papaleo offers his amazing roof garden with Jacuzzi, sunbathing and reading area. Breakfast is served in the lounge room on the first floor, in your bedroom or on the roof garden; the bar is in service on the main floor of the palace or on the terrace on the top floor, to enjoy an aperitif or a drink watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Papaleo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
Palazzo Papaleo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing