We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a different hotel not 4 star!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tenuta Monacelle
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel after a long flight to find the hotel did not have any hot water. We were attending a party and had to leave for the party without having a shower.
The rooms were ok but the floors were dirty and not cleaned properly. On one occasion we returned back to our room and the room had not be cleaned. We had no dry towels, had to wait 10 minutes for the maid to arrive with the towels when we were already in a rush to go out! We were told the system had assumed we were checking out that day, it was 6pm in the evening that we returned to our room, but surely if we hadn't checked out by 10am they would have noticed that our room had not been vacated?
The hotel is so remote if this is what your looking for then great but we were not. Over the weekend our group spent over 1000€ on taxis.
The free shuttle to the beach needs to be booked one day in advance. They do not tell u this when u check in so we ended up paying 80€ to get to the beach because we had not booked in advance. The hotel should advise this in advance!!!!
The communal areas around the hotel are not swept, and are dirty full of mud on the stairs there was tinfoil left on the floor for a day it shows there was no one keeping an eye and cleaning the communal areas. Whole Fruit at breakfast is old, the apples are wrinkly the strawberry s going off. The cut fruit is fresher.
I must say the staff in the restaurant at breakfast are very pleasant.
The taps in the toilets of the bar area don't work so you can't wash your hands after going to the toilet!!!! Basic cleanliness! Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. I am shocked that this hotel has received a commendation!

The pool area is the only nice area of the hotel that is kept really clean and nice!

I would advise u to book elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenuta M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tenuta Monacelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tenuta Monacelle. We are sorry to understand that your time at Tenuta Monacelle was not as expected. Unfortunately we had some technical difficulties when your group arrived, due to a failure in the hot water system. However, our staff did their best to solve the problem, which was sorted out within two hours. We understand that that was not good enough for you who were in a hurry, but we are sure that you can understand that unpredictable problems like this can happen everywhere at any time. As for the cleanliness of the room (the floors were dirty and not cleaned properly), we must admit that we are quite surprised to hear this as hygiene is our main priority. Regarding the occasion when you returned back to your room and found out the room had not be cleaned, as explained to you we thought you were checking out that day; again, when the whole situation was clarified, our staff did their best to help you (ten minutes is a reasonable time considering how big Tenuta Monacelle is, but once again you were in a hurry). As you said, the hotel is remote and this is one of the main strengths: people usually choose Tenuta Monacelle for its peacefulness and quietness, as well as its proximity to all the main attractions and places of interest in the area, as described on all our brochures and websites. However, we do recommend people who wish to go out for sightseeing to rent a car for it is the cheapest and most flexible way to more round in the area. Maybe a remote place was not what you were looking for, so we recommend you to read the hotel descriptions carefully next time before booking your accommodation. As for the information about or shuttle service, and all types of other information about the hotel and the area, our staff always inform our guests at the arrival; but, once again, when your group arrived, you were all in a hurry and did not have time for the guided tour of the resort and for a comprehensive information delivery. We do appreciate you liked our swimming pool area at least, as well as we appreciated all the positive comments and compliments we received from other members of your group who probably were more fortunate. We apologize for this delayed reply, but we had a very busy Summer and we are taking this moment to answer all our guests’ helpful comments, and take this chance to send our best regards, hoping to have you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tenuta Monacelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 452 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

I can only recommend this place : it is simply fantastic and relaxing at the same time. One day in life you should try it : it is not easy to find it as it is right on the to of the hill close to the Selva di Fasano. It is a real mix of ancient convent sorrounded by trulli and a beautiful large garden with a nice pool. It is more than worth to spend 1-2 weeks there !

Room Tip: Definitely go for the trulli room - really special
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serginh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Myself and my family started our Puglia trip here... what a great start, a very warm welcome, terrific service, amazing food.

We were able to combine historical site seeing at the Trulli (for the older ones), a fun visit to the zoo (for the young ones) all at a door step: all combined with execellent service, lovely accommodation (both rustic trulli and top notch masseria rooms) and least but not last top class food and wonderful wine at night.

Honestly from a frequent traveller and food lover, a place to return.

Dario

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dario-foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This fall my husband and I enjoyed a weeklong stay at the beautiful Tenuta Monacelle resort in Monopoli, Bari, Itay. From a glorious hilltop setting overlooking the Adriatic, we enjoyed quiet and restful evenings after delicious lunches, dinners, afternoon snacks and aperitifs.......originally built in 1790, it has all the modern conveniences you'll ever need! Each room is like having you're own little Villa surrounded by lovely woodland gardens and cypress trees. What could be better! The staff is superb! Recommend a morning or afternoon dip in the outdoor swimming pool, then a nicely chilled glass of champagne or prosecco.

Room Tip: If you want extreme privacy suggest you ask for a room further away from the beginning of the prope...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The fact we wanted to leave halfway through the first evening says it all.

We booked a Terrace Suite which was OK but quite tired with a very small sitting room and only a shower in the bathroom. The terrace had seen better days, with the plants uncared for and generally looking a bit gloomy.

The real let down was however the food. The Lonely Planet guide says you will find it very difficult to eat badly in Puglia....well this hotel is the place where eating badly is the order of the day...

It is never a great sign when a hotel asks you to pre-order dinner from a piece of paper at breakfast. The food was of such a poor standard that it went mostly uneaten.

All the food seemed to have been prepared on mass and reheated, the risotto was dreadfully over cooked and so salty that it was inedible, Gurnard had been cooked to death until it was grainy and chewy in the mouth and as for the shop bought rubber crepes with tinned fruit, oh dear?

The service was at best surly and at worst just rude. Breakfast was no better with the strangest tasting croissants and scrambled eggs cooked until they were like string rubber.

We ate in Lecce on our 2nd night and had the most amazing food.

With poor food (not really a restaurant, outdoor mass catering), poor service, tired furnishings and no bar Steer well clear of this hotel, it's really a joy breaker.

And at over e600 for two nights the worst value for money we have experienced for a very long time!

Room Tip: Oh just don't go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BernieandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our arrival was a little unusual, we had the feeling that we were unexpected but this seemed to be the general, cool and couldn't give a damn manner of the check in personnel. We had to drive our hire car to the parking area and meet back at reception, very unusual.
Other than that, our stay was very relaxing. Our room was excellent, very clean and well prepared.(Not a tullie as these are really quite small).
The restaurant was pleasant but the staff just ignored us, we often waited much too long to be served that it became quite annoying after a few days.
We enjoyed the Yoga courses which were on offer during our stay, a very pleasurable experience, even if you have never tried this just do it - Wonderful.
The pool area was very clean and most enjoyable but if you needed a decent drink at the pool bar then you could wait a long time and when it did eventually arrive it would probably be the wrong drink anyway, depending on who was serving at the time.
We had the experience of there being a wedding during our stay and this really made us feel like prisoners in our own cell as everywhere was just rampaged by wedding guests, including the pool and restaurant area.
Overhaul a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJF_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Excellent hotel, member of Pregio Hotels Group. Large grounds with beautiful swimming pool. Our room was lovely with a large terrace overlooking the swimming pool. There is a trulli village which houses some of the rooms as well as the restaurant. Substantial breakfasts. Car essential as it is in the middle of nowhere. Free access to a beach club on the coast at Savellitri which was very good. Bikes to take out for rides.

All in all very good value for money and perfect for kids as the grounds are large enough for them to run around in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monopoli hotels
5.6 mi away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
808 reviews
6.4 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#6 of 14 in Monopoli
278 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
8.2 mi away
Palazzo Indelli
Palazzo Indelli
#10 of 14 in Monopoli
190 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Mulino
Hotel Vecchio Mulino
#14 of 14 in Monopoli
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tenuta Monacelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tenuta Monacelle

Address: C.da Aratico | Selva di Fasano, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monopoli
#8 Family Hotel in Monopoli
Price Range: $102 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tenuta Monacelle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tenuta Monacelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Monacelle Hotel
Hotel Tenuta Monacelle Monopoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing