We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful discover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tenuta Monacelle
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Myself and my family started our Puglia trip here... what a great start, a very warm welcome, terrific service, amazing food.

We were able to combine historical site seeing at the Trulli (for the older ones), a fun visit to the zoo (for the young ones) all at a door step: all combined with execellent service, lovely accommodation (both rustic trulli and top notch masseria rooms) and least but not last top class food and wonderful wine at night.

Honestly from a frequent traveller and food lover, a place to return.

Dario

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dario-foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 465 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

This fall my husband and I enjoyed a weeklong stay at the beautiful Tenuta Monacelle resort in Monopoli, Bari, Itay. From a glorious hilltop setting overlooking the Adriatic, we enjoyed quiet and restful evenings after delicious lunches, dinners, afternoon snacks and aperitifs.......originally built in 1790, it has all the modern conveniences you'll ever need! Each room is like having you're own little Villa surrounded by lovely woodland gardens and cypress trees. What could be better! The staff is superb! Recommend a morning or afternoon dip in the outdoor swimming pool, then a nicely chilled glass of champagne or prosecco.

Room Tip: If you want extreme privacy suggest you ask for a room further away from the beginning of the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The fact we wanted to leave halfway through the first evening says it all.

We booked a Terrace Suite which was OK but quite tired with a very small sitting room and only a shower in the bathroom. The terrace had seen better days, with the plants uncared for and generally looking a bit gloomy.

The real let down was however the food. The Lonely Planet guide says you will find it very difficult to eat badly in Puglia....well this hotel is the place where eating badly is the order of the day...

It is never a great sign when a hotel asks you to pre-order dinner from a piece of paper at breakfast. The food was of such a poor standard that it went mostly uneaten.

All the food seemed to have been prepared on mass and reheated, the risotto was dreadfully over cooked and so salty that it was inedible, Gurnard had been cooked to death until it was grainy and chewy in the mouth and as for the shop bought rubber crepes with tinned fruit, oh dear?

The service was at best surly and at worst just rude. Breakfast was no better with the strangest tasting croissants and scrambled eggs cooked until they were like string rubber.

We ate in Lecce on our 2nd night and had the most amazing food.

With poor food (not really a restaurant, outdoor mass catering), poor service, tired furnishings and no bar Steer well clear of this hotel, it's really a joy breaker.

And at over e600 for two nights the worst value for money we have experienced for a very long time!

Room Tip: Oh just don't go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BernieandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our arrival was a little unusual, we had the feeling that we were unexpected but this seemed to be the general, cool and couldn't give a damn manner of the check in personnel. We had to drive our hire car to the parking area and meet back at reception, very unusual.
Other than that, our stay was very relaxing. Our room was excellent, very clean and well prepared.(Not a tullie as these are really quite small).
The restaurant was pleasant but the staff just ignored us, we often waited much too long to be served that it became quite annoying after a few days.
We enjoyed the Yoga courses which were on offer during our stay, a very pleasurable experience, even if you have never tried this just do it - Wonderful.
The pool area was very clean and most enjoyable but if you needed a decent drink at the pool bar then you could wait a long time and when it did eventually arrive it would probably be the wrong drink anyway, depending on who was serving at the time.
We had the experience of there being a wedding during our stay and this really made us feel like prisoners in our own cell as everywhere was just rampaged by wedding guests, including the pool and restaurant area.
Overhaul a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJF_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Excellent hotel, member of Pregio Hotels Group. Large grounds with beautiful swimming pool. Our room was lovely with a large terrace overlooking the swimming pool. There is a trulli village which houses some of the rooms as well as the restaurant. Substantial breakfasts. Car essential as it is in the middle of nowhere. Free access to a beach club on the coast at Savellitri which was very good. Bikes to take out for rides.

All in all very good value for money and perfect for kids as the grounds are large enough for them to run around in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The directions off their website are a bit idiosyncratic, but we found it easily enough and the reception staff were very welcoming. We had a Masseria room which was stylish and well-equipped. After a longish day travelling we went to the restaurant quite early where the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. When asked what we wanted from the menu I replied "All of it"; and each night brought new delights. The wine list had breadth and depth from decent "vin ordinaire" (what's the Italian for "vin ordinaire") to some very good stuff. The night I asked for "something interesting" bought forth some good wine and accompanied by a quite amazing display of uncorking and decanting.
As the other reviews mention the pool is excellent and, yes, you do need a car but there's so much to see round there it would be a great pity not to include some of the sights such as Alborabello, the Grotte, Ostuni, Monopoli.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidfordbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

SERVICE
Very friendly woman at reception, very nice staff at pool.
Cold, impersonal staff in restaurant.

ROOM
Lots of buildings with mazzeria spread around the area.
Room itself very sterile, almost the feel of a business hotel room. No Italian charme that we would have preferred.
Clean and OK, but nothing special.
We had two rooms connecting since there was no space for an extra bed for our son in the room.

POOL
Extremely uncomfortable sun loungers. Good big pool. Quiet and nice atmosphere. Great massages!!!

RESTAURANT
Breakfast: Wide choice but nothing special.
Dinner: "Wannabee fine dining". Food presentation looked really well, but the taste and raw material not good enough.
Unflexible and impersonal service. For example: It was a cold and windy evening when we had dinner there and it was not possible to sit inside and (at first) not possible to get a table close to the house instead of out on the terrasse in the wind because these table were reserved for half-board guests.

BEACH
Hotel cooperates with a beach club which means we can use the loungers etc. at that beach for free if we tell day before that we want to go there. A nice extra that we did not know about. Beach very nice, but crowded.

LOCATION
Very good for seeing the sights around. Easy to find hotels. Lots of sign showing how to drive from everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monopoli hotels
6.4 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#5 of 14 in Monopoli
288 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
5.6 mi away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#4 of 14 in Monopoli
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Palazzo Indelli
Palazzo Indelli
#10 of 14 in Monopoli
196 reviews
5.0 mi away
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
5.2 mi away
La Peschiera
La Peschiera
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tenuta Monacelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tenuta Monacelle

Address: C.da Aratico | Selva di Fasano, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monopoli
#8 Family Hotel in Monopoli
Price Range: $92 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tenuta Monacelle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tenuta Monacelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Monacelle Hotel
Hotel Tenuta Monacelle Monopoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing