We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
111
78
32
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
111
78
32
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel giuseppe garibaldi old town the owner star hotel perfect location the main square cakes piazza port puglia church
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 242 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

We have a few nights here last month.
The hotel was ok, smallish room, firm bed,great location,good breakfast, but expensive.
Parking was an issue. We parked nearby ,then told the hotel manager(?) where. He said we were fine for the 2 days.
On leaving we found we had a 29€ ticket to pay. Not pleased.
Monopoli is a good town to visit.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

This hotel is in a perfect location looking out on the main square, near an old church and not far from the harbour. The rooms are not very large but they have wonderful high ceilings. The staff are good, the only strange thing is that the outside bars / coffee area doesn't seem to be open very much.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gummington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Wish I had read BecStarTa review before we booked. On arrival they immediately told us that the booked rate was unavailable and we had to pay "only" 25% more. They do not honour booking.com rates and seem to think they can charge what they like including telling us that they're Euro30 breakfast was compulsory for two people in the room. This was not noted on our booking. The stairwell smells of sewerage and our room is smaller than booked, the bathroom is half the size of the pictures on the website and our booking confirmation. Our balcony is actually more of an internal service balcony with extractor fans and storage of the dirty linen. There's one table and two chairs that is shared with other rooms. Not exactly what we had imagined for a room with a balcony. Thank goodness we are staying only one night. I agree with BecStarTa - do not stay here - we definitely recommend that you find alternative accommodation.

Room tip: Do not book this hotel
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BaikieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristiancara, Proprietario at Palazzo Indelli, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

We would like to restate that Mrs BaikieS has made a reservation for a standard DOUBLE SINGLE USE room and, instead, there were 2 persons arrived at the hotel. During the check-in procedure, they complained to the receptionist about the difference to pay for the double room with 2 persons occupation and our staff kindly explained the error made by the guests during making the reservation on the online portal.
Afterwards, the guests started to looking for all the presumed flaws of the hotel.
If Mrs BaikieS had reported her unhappiness to the reception desk, our staff would have changed the room in order to satisfy her requests.
All this supposed complaints are caused by the correct payment of the difference of € 30,00 - as well clear on our website and on all the online portals.
Dear Guests, we just kindly ask You to respect the rules of the places where You stay.
Best regards
Sara Risola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights the first week of July, 2017.
Breakfast was lovely and the breakfast staff were very accommodating and kind - they also doubled as our room cleaners and always had a smile and kind word. Rooms were large.
Despite what should have been a lovely stay - the owners and one of the receptionists, Paula - were EXTREMELY RUDE!
My cousin, his partner and their 18 mo were visiting from Germany. They tried to book here but unfortunately it was fully booked. They visited us one afternoon for a drink on the balcony. We are from Australia and didn't realize that we were offending the staff by having visitors. They were so rude to my cousin and his wife and then to us... despite us apologizing for the misunderstanding of having visitors (one of the owners suggested my cousin could have been a terrorist) one of the receptionists refused to talk to us for the rest of our stay.
On leaving, we were charged €10 per night for a cot for our 15 mo. On our Expedia booking it said €10 per stay. Emily, one of the reception staff - the only person with good English skills - stayed calm, polite toward us - but refused to refund the extra €40. When the female owner was called she started gesturing at us and calling us all matter of names - all in Italian - of which we have limited understanding but understood more than she realised!! She was so rude, unreasonable in her arguments and not respectful to guests who'd stayed 5 nights. I'd deter any families with young children, especially those requiring cots, cribs, toddler or baby beds from staying here. It is an unreasonable and astronomical cost. And it's not like any extra housekeeping was required as despite booking a four bed room we only used three plus the portacot - which was a cheap one without a proper mattress - so far from fancy!! We spent an hour arguing this cost without any resolve. It did get quite heated but generally because they wouldn't respect our prepaid contract with them (we booked through Expedia Australia). I left in tears!!! I had confirmed the cost with a different receptionist but she denied any knowledge of this. We had emailed to request a cot prior to our arrival through our travel agent and had received a cost of €10 per night which we'd queried as online it had said €10 per stay but I had not received a response to that query. I confirmed the price when requesting the cot in person and it was confirmed at €10 per stay. Obviously Paula the receptionist did not understand what I confirmed. I understand that as we were in Italy it is not expected they speak English but they usually do!
I would highly recommend staying elsewhere in this beautiful little town. Enjoyed our time in Monopoli but not the owners or Paula the receptionist at this hotel. Good location but I recommend looking elsewhere! Plenty of other amazing places to stay. And definitely lots of yummy places to eat in Monopoli and cute little beaches to visit!
No respect from this hotel!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank BecStarTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristiancara, Proprietario at Palazzo Indelli, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

This bad review originates from the event in which the Guests didn't want to pay the cost of € 10,00 per night for the baby cot set up in their room. Online it is explained that the cost for extra baby cot is € 10,00 per day and our reception staff has answered twice to the guests by mail pointing out the correct rate.
Our reception agents just make their job with general rules that are valid for all our guests.
Concerning the 'rudeness' , on the contrary, it was Mrs BecStarTa and her husband who attacked our staff and also the owners of the hotel with curse words.
As far as the visitors are concerned, in Italy there is a rule by which all the people enetering into a hotel room must be duly registrated. These visitors, instead, went into the room, used the bathroom facilities, slept there without informing the reception desk at all; furthermore, they used the hall as a bivouac where they freely opened and emptied their luggage in presence of other guests.
All this negative review arises from the dissatisfaction to pay € 40,00 more.
Finally, we would like to highlight that Mrs BecStarTa and her husband showed an inelegant and ill-mannered behaviour.
Best regards
Sara Risola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Palazzo Indelli is a conveniently located hotel in Monopoli.
The hotel is simply decorated and furnished but somehow does not quite pull off the minimalist effect it is going for, having said that it is attractive and immaculately clean.
Our room was very spacious with an upstairs section; excess movement was noted at the handrail and the ope to enter the upstairs was very low resulting some head contact; a warning sign at least would be of benefit.
The entrance to the room was through an internal courtyard. The extractors from the extractors from the kitchen did not add to the ambiance and there was a slight smell of cooking.
The facilities including aircon, bathroom etc all worked fine.
The breakfast was above average and the staff were helpful.
Overall a nice hotel but a bit on the expensive side for the facilities provided.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank happyholiday79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews