We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Puglia”
Review of Il Melograno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Melograno
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxury in Puglia”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This was our third vacation at Il Melograno.The property,rooms and the staff were over the top.The spa is magnificent with excellent treatments.The indoor and outdoor pools.are magnificent. The spacious rooms contain authentic antiques.It only gets better.Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloverover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    58
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
138
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Il Melograno is a great choice for touring Puglia. The hotel grounds are very beautiful, with public spaces filled with oriental rugs and lovely antiques. Rooms are eclectic--differently decorated, but really pretty, very clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms open onto patio spaces, furnished with a wooden table and chairs. Perfect spot for sitting under the flowering trees in the evening enjoying a bottle of the fantastic Puglian wine and some snacks. Bathrooms are older, done in white tile. They function well and are spotlessly clean, but could use updating. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Only major problem was that wireless is available only in the reception area and did not always work. The spa is very nice and treatments--especially facials were absolutley first rate. Breakfast is ample and also excellent. Would highly recommend this beautiful, peaceful spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

we spent 4 nights here and had dinner 3 nights, the food was sensational and very tasty, with a great local (puglian) wine collection.

Where I think they need upgrading in is they need free WIFI throughout the grounds, and better toiletries in the bathrooms.
the wait staff and the Maitre-D were exceptional ,the front desk was indifferent.

The grounds are a joy to walk on, beautiful lemon and orange trees and flowers everywhere, i will definitely come back, although I hope they tidy up on a few loose ends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Great location and accommodation. Fine restaurant. Landscaping fantastic and smell from orange tree blossoms out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I am a frequent traveler to Italy but this this was my first trip to Puglia. The area is fascinating, very different from the north of Italy. The hotel is excellent. It's comfortable, full of art and antiques and the food is excellent. The staff were extremely helpful. The only problem... our stay was way too short. I am looking forward to going back again and making better use of the spa.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblinman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Where's Puglia, people said quizzically, when I decided to get out of
London for an autumn break. Now home, I'm wondering that myself, Where is
Puglia, Why aren't I still there, I want to go back. It's the Salente
Salentino, so luscious and smooth it beats all the French red wines. It's
the ever so sweet, bright red tomatoes served up with creamy buffalo
mozzarella or hand made pasta, and mixed with all those rough herbs from the
scorched land down there. It's the deep blue Adriatic, with its fishing
boats clustered round the small harbours. The twisted olive trees, orchards
of lemons and oranges, big white masserias ( farmhouses ) and pink golden
stone towns. All this and such warm people who always seem happy to help,
patiently listening to my feeble Italian. I even managed to find a fantastic
Prada coat in Bari at an outlet which made me glow inside. Staying at Il
Melograno, outside Monopoli is like going straight to heaven. A big white
masseria with extended buildings, all so stylish, and awash with paintings
and antiques. It's so relaxed and comfortable you feel like you're in a
millionaire's home and it's all yours forjust a moment in time. I loved
exploring all the ancient towns down the shadowy alleys that weave to the
Piazzas, with bars and cafes, buzzing late into the cool night. You should
take a trip to Il Melograno and see for yourself, it's so beautiful, it
will echo in your mind forever afterwards. I have been three times now and
next time I might just stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank SharonSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Stayed here for 3 days and the weather was not great. But that's why we chose a top hotel with a spa. Unfortunately there weren't many guests and the heating in the indoor pool was turned off, So no swimming. The hotel takes the view that you pay for the room and not the spa so if it is turned off to save money - tough.
We chose a larger room but it was not up to the standard of other Relais at this standard. Just overpriced and COLD. (Heating in the bathroom turned off as well).
Food was extremely good though and restaurant service was excellent. Those guys deserve a better hotel.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — No spa and cold bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monopoli
3.5 mi away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
773 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
7.1 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
8.6 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,174 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgaller...
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Melograno

Property: Il Melograno
Address: Contrada Torricella 345, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monopoli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monopoli
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monopoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Melograno 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Melograno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Melograno Monopoli, Italy - Puglia
Il Melograno Hotel Monopoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing