We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
225
76
27
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
225
76
27
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool sister hotel ancient olive trees cooked options star property public spaces lunch menu high season turn down service loved every moment spa services sandy beach reception area touring puglia beach club our room was spacious wine list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 351 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Stayed here in September after the summer crowds and could not have been more pleased. The hotel is gorgeous and laid out in a way where you never feel crowded or bothered by other guests. The hotel is beautifully landscaped, showcasing 1,000 year old olive trees around the property.

The best part was the on-site restaurant. We had multiple meals there which were amazing. The local wines were also wonderful and reasonable.

They have a sister hotel located at the beach, however it was never clear if we could have beach and pool access at that location. We did go to the sister hotel one day after being told we could use the beach and the pools only to be turned away from the pool area and then told we could (as an exception) use the beach. Kind of strange since we were not there during the high season, and a lot of confusion among the staff at each property.

Despite the beach debacle, the hotel boasts a great location -- close to lots of interesting small towns in Puglia, and an amazing staff and facilities. I would recommend for anyone visiting the region.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at Il Melograma and especially loved its convenient location to the area’s sights not least being only a few minutes from the wonders of Monopoli.

Our junior suite was very generous in size, had a sun baked terrace, well furnished including with two bathrooms and probably the best showers of our near one month in the region. The room was also equipped with a fabulous coffee machine and missed nothing apart from an iron!

Service was generally excellent from reception’s Ilenia to the pool guard and housekeeping really outstanding including a comprehensive turn down service.

Breakfast was included in our stay and was again fabulous. In addition to a generous buffet, fresh juices, machine coffee and eggs/bacon were available to order at no further costs. Iliaria at the breakfast service was incredibly charming and obliging. Unfortunately the male servers at breakfast were too often arrogantly unhelpful and should take a leaf out of their female colleagues.

In my view the masseria offers great value and we would unhesitatingly return and recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rodney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Il Melograno is in a lovely country spot a few miles from Monopoli. The property is quite spread out but easy enough to find your way around once you learn the layout.

We were upgraded to a suite which was a plus. A beautiful room with two bathrooms and excellent lighting.

The negatives revolve around the service in the restaurant and bar. We ate in on our first of four nights. The food was disappointing and the service not over attentive.

We found the breakfast choice was good but some of the waiting staff were grumpy and did not smile.

At the bar we always had to go and find someone as no one was ever present at the bar. Not clever for a five star rated hotel.

We did enjoy our stay but had to drive into Monopoli every evening as the food was not good enough at the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Lovely quiet hotel set just outside Monopoli. The rooms are decorated in a 'classic' non modern way but are still nice and typical of the location.

The breakfast and general food was outstanding. The pool area is nice and quiet although the pool was not heated and there were quite a few wasps buzzing around annoying people.

All the staff were friendly and attentive and we enjoyed the Tamirici beach club as well.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottl999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Il Melograno was a great place to start our trip in Puglia. The service was excellent; not necessarily attentive but very considerate. We loved the pool, the grounds were beautiful, and we had a spacious room with two bathrooms. We were in room 123. The hotel has convenient and well run shuttle service to Lido Tamerici, their sister property; we had a very fun beach day there during our stay. The continental breakfast was excellent, fresh, and had many choices, and all with a harpist playing throughout. The only cons were the limited outlets in the room (only one on the bathroom) and the insane amount of bees in the breakfast area and by the pool - I understand it’s outdoors but clearly there is a hive way too close to the outdoor dining area and pool. I was stung during our first breakfast and subsequently swarmed any time I had food or a drink by the pool.But overall, this was a minor inconvenience in what was a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chpineiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews