We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice service in a bit old fashioned place”
Review of Il Melograno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Melograno
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

the staff is extremely nice and helpful. The rooms are nice but quite expensive but if youlike old fashioned style it's ok. for computer freaks no wifi and televisions vary in quality.
The grounds are nicely maintained but seemed to have known better times. The pool and spa are ok but also a bit out dated. Chateau relaix places tend to be a bit more up market than melograno , the price quality ratio is a bit too much price. The beachclub nearby is fine but again a bit run down. The village of monopoli nearby is a gem. melograno is well located. They have great breakfasts !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Il Melograno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 278 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have meant to submit a review for some time and so I am quite late, but never the less, better late than never. jr_hummel, a previous reviewer, called it a fortified farm turned luxury hotel and that it is. I was so impressed with the facilities, the rooms, restaurant and of course the first class personal service we received. I absolutely loved the all the amenities such as the spa services and pool. I found the food at the restaurant to be absolutely delicious. One night I ordered the salt-crusted fish (check the photo I added). What a treat! The fish is presented with the salt crust on. Then the server cracks the crust, removes the salt, filets the fish and serves it. It was so incredibly moist, scrumptious, and not salty at all. I have to also mention the lounge/bar located in the main building. It is the most charming bar that my husband and I enjoyed, especially for a drink before dinner or we would end the evening there before retiring to our rooms. We have two children and they loved it too. The pool and tennis court were a hit with them. We also went to Le Tamerici, Il Melograno private Beach Club which the children loved. The sea was so amazing. I could just float in the calm waters all day. And as the other review mentioned, La Peschiera restaurant, located at the beach was also a great place to eat, plus the view. We would watch the local kids fish while the sun was setting. We did a lot of site seeing and also stuff for the kids. There is an animal and amusement park in the area, and lots of unique towns to visit, such Ostuni , the white city. We did not have time to see everything, but then this gives us another reason to return and we will definitely be staying at the Il Melograno. Most of all I enjoyed the relaxing and comfortable ambiance the hotel creates. Even though it was fully booked, I hardly saw anyone, except at mealtime. Worth the journey! By the way we drove from the Amalfi coast (west coast) and it was a pleasant drive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeerParkMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A historic fortified farmhouse beautifully decorated hidden in olive groves.....
At the end of the day after exploring Puglia you return to your comfortable accommodations, have a dip in the pool, enjoy excellent food and curteous service

Room Tip: Ground floor cottages are independent with a private terrace
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

You can't do better than Il Melograno for exploring Puglia...that is if you can tear yourself away from the beautiful grounds. The property is meticulously maintained, the restaurant overlooking the pool serves excellent food with dishes typical of the Puglia region and the staff – always attentive and available for whatever you may need. The rooms are spacious and immaculate with a wonderful shower and linens to match. Il Melograno sits in the country side amidst the most ancient olive grove fields I’ve ever seen, yet only a 10 minute drive to the town of Monoploli should you want an alternative dinning experience. Monopoli is the perfect location for visiting Alberobello, Matera, Ostuni and not to be missed Lecce. And while we stayed at Il Melograno for 5 nights it would have been easy to spend at least another 3 with so much to do and see in this area. Guess we'll just have to return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlene0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

To fully appreciate Il Melograno you need to keep in mind that this Italian region of Puglia is a huge field of olive trees. For historical reasons fortified farmhouses were built in the 17th century (“masseria”) and a number of them have been turned into B&Bs or hotels. Il Melograno is certainly one of the most luxurious ones and part of the Relais & Chateaux chain.
A car is a must to get around as this farmhouse is out in the country, surrounded by fields and fields of olive trees. It sits probably 3 miles inland from the center of town of Monopoli which is on the coast. The entrance, well it remains fortified ! Actually you need to drive up to the gate, press the door bell to catch the receptionists’ attention and the electric gate will slide open to the side. This is better than climbing over the white colored 9 feet tall walls surrounding the hotel.
You should park in the first parking area before searching for the Reception. Indeed this hotel is a huge 2 floor building with a very large courtyard somewhat deserted. Crossing the courtyard you will come to civilization ! The whole place is beautiful as shown on the hotel website.
The rooms on the ground floor are somewhat dark with small windows at the walkway level. This is rather enjoyable in the summertime when leaving the hot sun and recovering in the cool air-conditioned and well appointed room. Each room is said to hold a few antiques which have been placed by the owner, an art & antique dealer. The mini-bar includes free water and soft drinks and is replenished each day. Nightly turn-down service also provides for a complete change of wet and dirty towels. Finally wireless internet worked perfectly during our 7 night stay.
The main building – where the Reception is – contains a number of open reading rooms, a large TV room as well as the indoor / outdoor eating area. The outside restaurant is a covered terrace with arches looking on to the pool. Obviously in September the breakfast buffet is set out here with quite a selection of home made pastry, fruit, cold cuts and cold drinks. Cooked eggs or omelettes are on demand and hot drinks served at the table. The atmosphere is quiet, relaxed and somewhat homely. Dinner is good although not exceptional and the wine list extensive with reasonably priced wines from all over Italy (i.e. the Rosé wine from the Puglia area is priced at 20 euros, a nice change from France).
The hotel website mentions the Tamerici beach , a private beach as throughout Italy, but where hotel guests are not charged for sun beds or sun umbrellas. If you don’t have a rental car the hotel has regular transportation to and from the beach which is a 10 – 15 minute ride. The coast is full of rocks making the bathing difficult unless like most Italians you have your rubber bathing shoes. Water temperature was delightful and perhaps the most interesting was Sunday at the beach. The sandy beach was packed with locals, families with small children, and it was fun watching them walk by and talking to each other: a real small community.
Next to the beach is the sister hotel of Il Melograno. It used to be a fishing farm before the Melograno owner turned it into a luxurious boutique hotel La Peschiera. It is right on the water and the restaurant is a treat for food and romance. I highly recommend it even if it is 15 – 20 % more expensive than Il Melograno. Actually during our stay we had dinner twice in each one.
Finally Il Melograno is located in an area where there are sights to be visited: Matera and Alberobello are both classified as world heritage, the Castellana grotto provides an exciting 1 mile underground walk, the coast line is long and varied, the traditional food is delightful (except for the over cooked meat!)
Would I return ? Yes, without hesitation, and yes I would recommend staying at Il Melograno.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This was our third vacation at Il Melograno.The property,rooms and the staff were over the top.The spa is magnificent with excellent treatments.The indoor and outdoor pools.are magnificent. The spacious rooms contain authentic antiques.It only gets better.Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloverover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Il Melograno is a great choice for touring Puglia. The hotel grounds are very beautiful, with public spaces filled with oriental rugs and lovely antiques. Rooms are eclectic--differently decorated, but really pretty, very clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms open onto patio spaces, furnished with a wooden table and chairs. Perfect spot for sitting under the flowering trees in the evening enjoying a bottle of the fantastic Puglian wine and some snacks. Bathrooms are older, done in white tile. They function well and are spotlessly clean, but could use updating. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Only major problem was that wireless is available only in the reception area and did not always work. The spa is very nice and treatments--especially facials were absolutley first rate. Breakfast is ample and also excellent. Would highly recommend this beautiful, peaceful spot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elfy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monopoli
3.5 mi away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
807 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Peschiera
La Peschiera
#4 of 14 in Monopoli
156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,316 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgaller...
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
500 reviews
4.1 mi away
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Melograno

Address: Contrada Torricella 345, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monopoli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monopoli
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monopoli
Price Range: $151 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Melograno 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Melograno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Melograno Monopoli, Italy - Puglia
Il Melograno Hotel Monopoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing