We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to be missed”
Review of Il guazzetto

Il guazzetto
Ranked #3 of 233 Restaurants in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Definitely one of the best fish restaurant I have ever seen. Massive portions, amazing quality and good value for money.
We had raw fish antipasti which was very very fresh and massive. We ordered two portions for four people and it was more than enough. Also the grilled fish was perfectly cooked.
We were four and the total bill was 120euros (2 antipasti, 4 mains, one bottle of wine, 4 glasses of prosecco, 4 dessert and limoncello).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    333
    92
    30
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty, delicious and reasonable - a must”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The gnocchi was cooked to perfection in a slight tomato sauce that melted into a sweet spike on your tongue. The oysters were fresh and washed down beautifully with passion fruit and prosecco at the very reasonable price. A delightful local sparkling white wine accompanied the meal at only 9 euros. The hosts were on the money combining effective service and the Italian way of creating ambiance and character. Overall a highly recommended restaurant in beautiful Monopoli old town. Note we booked the night before because it was full the first day we tried but a table outside the next day helped.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bm1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fish dinner in the proper italian style”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were lucky to find a table! We had a fish dinner, starting with the antipasti di mare and moving to a pasta with fish and tomato and finally ending with grilled fish - we had so much food that we could not believe, it was a fish feast - price/quality excellent

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SIBI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just Great!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a do not miss restaurant. 15 Euros (as of juiy 2013) for their signature dish and it is great if you are a seafood lover. The proprietors are young and it shows in the ambiance.

Tiramisu was great too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Seafood feast!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We dined at Il Guazzetto for lunch after a walk around Monopoli Old Town.
The waiter who served us was very sweet and spoke great English. He asked if he could recommend any dishes for us and on his recommendation we chose the Il Guazzetto Seafood Entree. We would have ordered two portions but on his suggestion we ordered just one. What proceeded was an amazing selection of plate after plate of seafood. Salmon and anchovy style ceviche, carpaccio of octopus, seafood salad, langoustine, grilled tiger prawns, steamed mussels and little fish fritters. More than enough for 2 for €12. We both had seafood pasta after this entree which was also amazing. Total bill of €53 for two courses, shared dessert, coffee, 3 glasses of prosecco and a large beer. Amazing value and fantastic service - would highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelouise1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il guazzetto also viewed

Monopoli, Province of Bari
Monopoli, Province of Bari
 
Monopoli, Province of Bari
Monopoli, Province of Bari
 

Been to Il guazzetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing