We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most magical experience ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Don Ferrante is a very peaceful,calm and beautiful hotel. Probably the most gorgeous place I ever stayed at. The location is very nice, right next to the sea, so the view from the rooms on the sea-view side is fascinating. The rooms are clean, people who work at the hotel are super friendly and seem like a big Italian family. The roof top terrace is a perfect place for chilling and enjoying your delicious dinner made by a high quality chef, who was examined by the owner of Don Ferrante personally.
My experience in the hotel was magical, I felt extremely relaxed after being in huge busy cities. A little town Monopoli is full of harmony, however, Don Ferrante will double it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VixVix94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 418 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Though the weather couldn't have been worse, our stay in Monopoli was fantastic, thanks to this wonderful hotel. The staff could not have been more accommodating. It really was exceptional, they went well out of their way to assist is. The room was great with all the amenities in place to make ones stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel has real charm and is very well situated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donferrante, Direttore generale at Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Victoria,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us even though the weather was not great.
Your kind words are encouraging and motivating and our staff wishes to thank you sincerely.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Don Ferrante Monopoli
Though I had been in Italy many times I had never been to Puglia. Monopoli is on the Adriatic about 25 miles south of Bari. This boutique hotel of 12 rooms is a remarkable combination of imagination and good taste wrought out of a medieval building in a medieval town. Everything is white or taupe and every detail is interesting. The large suite is a pleasure. There is a table for in suite breakfast dining in a large living room, a patio overlooking the Adriatic, a large bathroom with two sinks and a bidet, two large flat screen televisions and gorgeous views. The views include the crashing waves on the rocks below . Even in December it was a pleasure….no boating but no crowds either. I loved it. Anna Lisa , the front desk manager even walked us to our restaurant the first night so we would not get lost in the winding whitewashed streets. The location is great for sightseeing on the Eastern side of Italy and day trips to Alberobello and Matera are a must. BE SURE TO HAVE A GPS…WE HAD ONE FROM HERTZ AND IT WAS A LIFE SAVER MORE THAN ONCE. Maps won’t do it in these towns. There is a superb restaurant within walking distance of the hotel, Palmieri.

Room Tip: Be sure to get one with a view ofthe sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the concierge staff to the room, everything was outstanding. The concierge staff assisted us in outstanding dining recommendations and reservations as well as booking drivers for us and arranging for the "tuk-tuk" to pick us up at the rail station after a day's excursion elsewhere. Also, they called us at our next hotel to inform us that we had left some clothing behind and shipped the clothing back to us in Los Angeles, CA the following day. The room, including the bathroom facilities, was lovely in every way and left nothing to be desired. The buffet breakfast was outstanding and had several tables overlooking the water for a magnificent view. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 993Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Monopoli is full of character, directly by the Adriatic- allowing for evening strolls by the water through the centro storico, to your favourite restaurant. Staying at some lovely locations- Ostuni, Lecce, Vignacastrisi, Matera, over a 10 night trip, Monopoli was our favourite. And DF is set in a beautiful location within the old town directly on the sea front (actually set into the old town wall). Rooms are of a very high quality, and full of character. Our room actually did not have a sea view, rather a balcony looking into the old town- but given all of the external spaces looking over the water this was hardly a concern.This is definitely a place for more mature couples looking for a beautiful spot- the pool is modest, no, small, and children might seek more space, but DF is a beautiful place. And Monopoli an excellent location from which to explore much of the best that Puglia has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This review is rather late as we stayed in this gorgeous hotel at the end of August. However I felt that it was essential that I aired my praise as Don Ferrante was really a great experience.
The hotel itself is beautifully laid out and decorated, built into the sides of the old walls of Monopoli.
The Service you receive is really first class - nothing is too much trouble - and they are happy or organize your trips and tours. The breakfasts are out of this world with utterly mouthwatering warm doughnuts and cakes, hams, tarts and much more. Dinner is served on the roof overlooking the sea. We had lovely evenings drinking prosecco with Alexandro and talking about the hotel business.
The old town of Monopoli is beautiful with winding streets and allies with good little restaurants scattered about and with the best ice cream you will ever eat at Café Roma.
The swimming pool is very small but I enjoyed walking just 1 minute down to the public sandy beach where all the locals with their families played and swam. The sea was clear and sublime!
If you are going to Puglia then Don Ferrante is a MUST

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunshine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donferrante, Direttore generale at Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments and for sharing, your experience at Don Ferrante.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and do hope, to have you, as our most valued guest, once again in the future.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Both myself and my girlfriend very much enjoyed our 9 night stay at the Don Ferrante. It is a quiet boutique hotel with a limited number of rooms. The staff at the hotel were excellent and extremely friendly. Our room was lovely and was of a decent size with free wifi and a good selection of channels on a fairly new flat screen TV. It was also very pretty. The pool area is very small but is generally quiet. If you are looking for a pool holiday, some maybe disappointed. However, we managed to sun bathe there every day. It has a lovely view over the sea and has easy access to the rocks and surrounding sea outside the hotel. The hotel is well located and everything within Monopoli is very much walkable. The hotel also has a very nice restaurant. It is not cheap but has a great view over looking the sea. Monopoli itself, also felt well situated. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. I would consider next time staying for a shorter amount of time and maybe stay at a few other places across Puglia.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donferrante, Direttore generale at Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had an excellent stay.
We always strive to provide, the best possible service and reading that you thought that the staff was excellent and extremely friendly, fills us with joy.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monopoli
2.5 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#5 of 14 in Monopoli
288 reviews
7.1 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,377 reviews
7.7 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Peschiera
La Peschiera
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
159 reviews
12.1 mi away
Trulli Holiday - Resort
Trulli Holiday - Resort
#1 of 18 in Alberobello
1,267 reviews
5.2 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgaller...
#3 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme

Address: San Vito n.27, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monopoli
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monopoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monopoli
#3 Family Hotel in Monopoli
Price Range: $155 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Ferrante a charming residence in the city only, Monopoly. An ancient fortress on the cliffs from which to watch the sea in an exclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore Di Charme Monopoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing