We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant dining in the old town”
Review of la vecchia taverna

la vecchia taverna
Ranked #35 of 234 Restaurants in Monopoli
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Typical puglia style kitchen,home run restaurant,seafood,meat,fishsoup,home made desserts,from summertime sea view terrace for dinner.
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining in the old town”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Taverna Al Vecchia came recommended by our apartment’s letting agent (Hello Apulia) for the freshest seafood at modest prices. We couldn't agree that it was the best available in town, but had a pleasant evening and the food was good but not exceptional. The owner also turned out to be a bit of a character who had an interest in the football during our dinner which took place on a quiet Saturday night in October. The only other diners were tourists like us. (Yes, we did arrive after 9pm.)
We had the simple fried zucchini dish ; an eggplant, mozzarella and shrimps dish , although the shrimps seemed to be hiding; and perfectly grilled fish. They know how to cook fish in this town -- you can see lots of it is brought in every day off the boats down at the port. The tiramisu for dessert was given 7 out of 10 . The Leone de Castris Salice Salento Reserva was a reliable accompanying wine. . The bill was €80 .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    145
    61
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Can't beat a seat menu at this price”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate here on a Monday night when many other restaurants were closed. We had no problem getting a seat. The restaurant has free wifi which as a traveller is always a bonus. The food is not high cuisine but it is good and tasty. We chose the set menu at 25 Euros which included a starter, first course, second course, side dish and dessert. Included was a bottle of water, a litre of wine, a limoncello and a coffee. I honestly don't think you can find a better deal when it comes to eating seafood and fish than this.
I would highly recommend going to this place. The owner of the restaurant was very accomodating and friendly. It comes across as a family run restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thecheechman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very good local food. Friendly service and good English spoken. Looks small from the outside but has a large seating area at the back and a roof terrace. Good value for money too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Vito was the perfect host”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food was so good....mussel and also the baked pasta.

Vito gave us his wife 'a homemade limoncello as a treat.

We were waiting out a storm and he and his daughter we cloned us in staying it out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MassimoLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh food just off the Old Port”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We were too late in the season for the terrace, but ate indoors and it was lovely. Two appetizers (mussels/clams and the zucchini), the orecchiette and the frittura mists plus a bottle of wine and water came to 54 euros at lunch. We heard the owner call someone for the fish after we ordered and a few minutes later a man showed up with it...moments later, it was at or table. Now THAT is fresh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la vecchia taverna also viewed

Monopoli, Province of Bari
Monopoli, Province of Bari
 
Monopoli, Province of Bari
 

Been to la vecchia taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing