We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sweet and Charming Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Porta Vecchia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Porta Vecchia
Ranked #29 of 99 Monopoli B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Sweet and Charming Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a night at the beginning of a bike trip. We arrived very late but Cosima came to meet us. The reception was warm and friendly we felt very welcome. The room was clean and pleasant. The rooftop breakfast was a real treat. This place is well located in the old city. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent here 2 nights. It was a very good choice. We arrived in the evening, it was dark, and first we missed the dirrection, but it's not a difficult thing to find with map:)
Cosima is very kind, the room are comfortable and nice, the whole house is beautiful. The roof terrace is nice for the breakfast, and from here could be seen the see also.
The town is also lovely, we loved it.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor, but I think the others are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catella12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Close to the small but terrific beach - and still quiet enough for al relaxing holiday in the middle of June!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We first stayed at La Porta Vecchia, in September 2011, we had a wonderful time, so decided to stay there again when we visited Monopoli in May 2012. We stayed for 7 nights this time and had a great time. Cosima the owner is lovely and makes you feel really welcome, she is helped by her sister-in-law Valeria, who also makes you feel welcome. The rooms are big and the furniture is typically Italian, dark wood and very attractive, the room and bathroom were spotless, we couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, with great views of the sea, Cosima and Valeria make fresh cakes daily which are lovely, and great cappucino's.
Situated in the historical part of Monopoli, it is not far from the beach and easy walking distance to the restaurants and cafe's, it is lovely to take a stroll through the narrow streets in the evening, and stop for a cappucino or a glass of wine at one of the nearby cafe's.
we really enjoyed our stay and we look forward to another visit some time in 2013. Ciao Amanda and Gordon, Manchester, England xx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

This place was awesome. We were two girlfriends travelling around Italy. If you come by the Monopoli region, you should definitely stop at this lovely B&B. The rooms are huge and comfortable. Try to get the "perla del mare" (or similar room) on the basement floor. It has kitchen, a beautiful double bed and great shower cabin. There is a rooftop terrace for everyone to use with great views, the breakfast is made lovely and fresh and you can eat it in- or outside. It is right in the old center, no better choice in Monopoli! Prices are very reasonnable (this huge room we got with kitchen in octobre for 50 euros a night!)

Room Tip: perla del mare in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Rooms are nice, fresh, comfortable beds, located in the old town so do not try to drive directly to hotel but park the car and walk instead. We find a suitable parking spot 150 meters from B&B. Breakfast is italian mostly cookies and cake not that healthy... We paid 60 E for one night for a double room. Good value! This is a nice place to stay in Monopoli and while walking around in the central parts of Monopoli i did not see any hotels..

I recommend this place to friends who like to stay in bed and breakfast and do not need any assistance. Owner gave keys and provided breakfast besides that we did not see her at all. We were the only guests at the time.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjorkebo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sydneysider who lives in London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

We had an excellent stay here. Beautiful, clean and spacious rooms at a very good price. We paid €60 for a room - but if the same room was in say, Florence it would be worth easily €150. La Porta Vecchia is centrally located in the old town of Monopoli and the owner Mina was welcoming and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monopoli hotels
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Casa Palmieri 2006
0.1 mi away
B&B Le Contrade
B&B Le Contrade
#12 of 99 in Monopoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Casa Cimino
B&B Casa Cimino
#7 of 99 in Monopoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Donna Nina
B&B Donna Nina
#14 of 99 in Monopoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Carpe Diem
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Bregante
Palazzo Bregante
#4 of 99 in Monopoli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Porta Vecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Porta Vecchia

Property: La Porta Vecchia
Address: Via Peroscia 21, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Monopoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta Vecchia B&B is an historical building from the 1700s, and was once used as offices for the clergy from the neighbouring San Leonardo church. Located in the heart of the old town, with its museums, ancient chapels and traditional restaurants, the B&B is only 50 metres away from the local sandy beach, and it’s the ideal base for exploring the cultural and natural splendours of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your La Porta Vecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Porta Vecchia Monopoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing