We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
38
13
5
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
13
5
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min walk old town handheld jacuzzi rooftop mare beaches shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 66 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Great position in Monopoli, ten minute easy walk to old city and is across the road to beach. Plenty of parking available around property. Rooms were very spacious and tastefully furnished. Michele at front desk was amazing and could not do enough for us. Highly recommend this B & B

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Pictures are very misleading, especially in terms of sea-view and balcony. Those are absolutely irrelevant to the hotel. The street in front of this tiny hotel has heavy traffic both during night and day. it is no way boutique hotel as it is tiny property crammed into regular building. No feeling of a special guest. Felt very disappointed with the hotel
The bathroom is a disaster. Yes, it has jakuzzi, but what about shower? What about water all over the room while taking shower? what about nasty wet stains on the ceiling

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen36210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

The property is relatively new, BUT overpriced for what you get.
The sea view exists only on the roof. When I opened the balcony I did not see the sea, but only heard busy road. The bed is uncomfortable due to stony pedestal that hurt my leg. The staff is nice only when it is convenient to them.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 823katerynag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Very stylish place. Small rooms, most of them with a jacuzzi instead of a shower.
We had a couple of complaints which were immediately looked after.
Very, very friendly personnel, specially Michelle and Mariana.
It was a little bit high priced die tolle the size of room and bathroom.
But the friendly people and the terrace made up for it.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017

We spent a week at Play Del Mar in September and found it to be a perfect base to explore Monopoli's beautiful Old Town and to drive to other local places like Alberobello and Polignano A Mare.

The hotel is opposite a small public beach, and there are other coves and beaches nearby. It's in a 'newer' part of town among residences and apartment complexes but only 10-15 minutes walk to the old town.

We arrived after a rather hectic hire car pick-up at the airport (tip - get a taxi and try and get a local hire car). There isn't really any parking available (we were advised by email that we could park on the streets or pay for secure parking, but were informed at the hotel that the latter isn't really available). It's fine and our hire car was okay, but be aware that while the area is safe you could end up with a scratch or bump.

The welcome was excellent, but (and this is a big but), we were advised there was a problem with our booking. We booked 8 months ago, all confirmed, but were informed that our first night would be in a different room, and our last night in another different room. The one we wanted, booked for and paid for was only available 5 nights in between. In a small hotel when there are only 5 rooms that was disappointing. However, they were nice about it and said they would arrange to move our stuff and offer us a free aperitivo every day of our stay).

The first room was nice (it had a large indoor jacuzzi behind a mirror but they didn't show is that!). However, the aircon isn 't the strongest and pumps cold air in the wrong place if you are in bed so the first night was rather hot. The second room, the one we booked, was much better with a huge round bed and the best mattress I've ever slept on (in fairness, the first bed had the same mattress). The aircon worked perfectly and there was a large double jacuzzi bath (but with only a handheld shower).The third room was at the back with no sea view but nice apart from that was the largest of the three.

The hotel, although small, is beautifully designed throughout. The rooftop patio and small shallow pool has enough room for all guests, but we were often the only ones there.

We had 3 aperitivos while we were there. We might have had more, but it was often difficult to find anyone. That said the staff were always helpful in getting us into local restaurants (essential, as it's almost impossible to walk in as a traveller).

On leaving we were asked to pay for 2 aperitivos, because we should have only been offered 1. They agreed that we would not be charged, but it was disappointing having been originally offered it daily to compensate for our inconvenience. The fact we had to move, especially on our last day, was an inconvenience and somewhat marred the overall experience. That said, we did appreciate the staff, the wonderful breakfasts, the design and comfort (especially of the room we booked!) and the beautiful pool area.

Room tip: Go for one of the sea view rooms.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheChris_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews