We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large group, great welcome, wonderful food....”
Review of Anima & Cuore

Anima & Cuore
Reserve with
Anima & Cuore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Galatina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in an ancient palace dated back to the 18th century in the hearth of Galatina, in the province of Lecce, our restaurant Anima & Cuore is a really nice and confortable restaurant, with its starry vaults and mosaic floor which remind of the local history. We are near the famous Basilica of St. Cathrine, patrimony of Unesco, the St. Peter and Paul Cathedral and the little church of Saint Paul. Our restaurant offers special dishes that mix the traditional local recipes with the most modern Italian-Mediterranean ones. Our specialty is the fish: we buy fresh fish from the local markets in Gallipoli, Leuca and Santa Cesarea every day, such as purple king prawns, monkfish, snappers, tuna, lobsters,,, We also offer different raw fish dishes: prawns, langoustines, carpaccios, tartars, oysters, mussels… The pasta is homemade: delicious the macaroni with pesto Bronte pistachio and the purple shrimp from Gallipoli, spaghetti with sea urchin, etc... Delicious artisan desserts.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ten of us showed up at 1:30 pm one March day, were welcomed with open arms by the young owner and his staff, and seated in a charming second floor dining room. The food was delicious, the service perfect. After a few evenings at other Galatina restaurants, we decided it was the best restaurant in town, and we went back to close our stay. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BVRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anima E C, Proprietario at Anima & Cuore, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la sua recensione.
Per noi che facciamo le cose con Anima & Cuore, accogliervi anche senza prenotazione a ristorante strapieno e' un piacevole dovere.
mi casa est tu casa
Alessandro De Pascalis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 679 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have eaten here three times in the last few weeks, each time trying something different. Everything has been of a very high standard. The polpo in pignata was delicious (slow cooked octopus with potatoes). Tried horse for the first time (a fillet steak with wine sauce on a fondant potato) and loved it. Service relaxed but attentive in a pretty dining room. Good wine. Open at lunchtime in the winter which is another bonus.

Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anima E C, Direttore at Anima & Cuore, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

thanks for your review a hug from Salento
Alessanro De Pascalis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently visited Puglia from Tuscany, and our favorite part of the WHOLE trip was this restaurant. We went there twice in just the 4 short days we were there! Amazing food - especially the pizza with pancetta and a creamy pistachio sauce (try it!) and their special Anima & Cuore croquettes. The service was a tad slow (even for Italian standards) but we weren't in a rush so that was ok. The terrace was closed when we went but it was gorgeous with a lovely view of Gallatina, and the inside was cozy and nicely decorated. The chef (and possibly owner?) was amazing and friendly, greeting us and helping us practice our Italian as we left both nights. I would go back in a heartbeat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anima E C, Direttore at Anima & Cuore, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012
Google Translation

grazie mille per la vostra recensione vi aspettiamo con Anima & Cuore
Alessandro De Pascalis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

a beautiful restuarant located in the historical centre of Galatina in an charming antique palace a very romantic location.
The food was great and the prices are very honest they have a great selection of wines we had Selva rossa reserve Due palme which was one of the more expense wines but very well worth it, the food was very good well presented and the staff were professional

Thank lafataturchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anima E C, Direttore at Anima & Cuore, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012
Google Translation

ci fa enorme piacere ricevere una recensione da chi, cittadina del bel paese magliese, riconosce il bello a galatina. torna pure a trovarci a presto
Alessandro De Pascalis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were looking for a place that is open for early dinner and a local guy recommended this place. The entrance is through a courtyard up the stairs to the second floor. The place has open air terrace with the view of the city. The food and the service were impeccable, the waiter (Alessandro) was awesome. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YUNATONI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anima E C, Direttore at Anima & Cuore, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

thank you, very much remember you and your family and take this opportunity to thank the magnet that I have kindly given us.
see you later.
Alessandro De Pascalis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anima & Cuore also viewed

Galatina, Province of Lecce
Galatina, Province of Lecce
 
Galatina, Province of Lecce
 
Galatina, Province of Lecce
Galatina, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Anima & Cuore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing