We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful retreat”
Review of Masseria Selvaggi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cisternino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masseria Selvaggi
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed a week in September. A great place for visiting local towns (Cisternino is our favourite) and a short drive to lovely beaches. Our apartment was small but clean and fresh and we had a good spacious terrace for BBQing. the swimming pool was fantastic and Gregorio most helpful with all our queries

Room Tip: If you want a secluded terrace go for the smallest room at the back ,the other rooms are much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was a half-term family break, chosen for the previous excellent reviews! We were definitely not disappointed, although we do think that we would have had a different break in the height of summer. With only one day hot enough to sit by the pool, we spent several days exploring the countryside, including Alberobello, the caves at Castellana, and Castel del Monte. Our very own 'trulli' was a delight to come home to: clean, spacious, warm, and fully equipped for the self-catering which we found easier to enjoy with three kids than wait for the restaurants to open! Our eldest son was won over by the breakfasts supplied by Gregorio every morning - our host even arrived early enough on our last morning to supply us with pastries and coffee before leaving for our journey to the airport. A car is a necessity for this kind of holiday - if you are the kind of person who likes to walk to the restaurant and enjoy a drink in the evening, you might find this a bit restrictive. I was worried that the children would find the location too rural, but these worries were thankfully unfounded.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poppies161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Wanting to experience a stay at a Masseria when in the Valle D'Itria region of Puglia I looked at dozens and dozens of Masseria in the Puglia region on the internet. Settling on a short-list, we finally decided on Masseria Selvaggi as it had everything we were looking for. Travelling from New Zealand we wanted to experience staying in a trulli and we really enjoyed the trulli apartment at this Masseria. For those wanting to self cater there was everything you would need in the apartment's kitchenette and a nice table and chairs inside or outside the apartment to enjoy your meals. Having said that, all the apartments looked wonderful and all had their own outdoor area. The first day we arrived Gregorio told us of a little local store that had everything you could want. Fresh fruit every day, lovely breads, cheeses and Italian specialty meats. You could buy a 'very smooth' Primitivo wine here for 4 Euro.

Masseria Selvaggi is close to the little towns of the Valle I'tria, yet situated off the main road in an extremely picturesque rural part of the Valle D'Itria. The 17th Century main building has been lovingly restored and the beautiful swimming pool is in a sheltered part of the garden with a generous number of sun-loungers and big sun umbrellas. The Breakfast Room was a wonderful place to get to meet the other guests and Gregorio puts on a very well thought-out breakfast. We particularly enjoyed the different plate of fruits from the region each morning, along with sampling the many Italian cheeses, all beautifully presented. Also the "big" coffee machine here for Gregorio to make you your favourite coffee.

Gregoria is a charming and extremely helpful host. We couldn't fault this amazing, well priced, accommodation. If not so far away for us, we would be back in a heartbeat! However, we feel lucky to have had this wonderful experience.

Jacqui & Mike
New Zealand

Room Tip: Gregorio was only an email away and helped us decide on the apartment best suitable to our wishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuscany08NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in "il pesco",the accommodation is very new, a wonderful terrace, a good shower (very important), a lovely pool, excellent breakfasts, birdwatching was amazing!!!
We have a new italian friend, we may say " Gregh". The owner.
Serious, we had a wonderful time and we booked already for next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed with another couple in the 2-bedroom upstairs apartment. Our bedroom was fine but the other one was a little on the small side and had no wardrobe. The shower room was shared but we knew this in advance.The living area was spacious and the outside terrace was enormous. So large in fact that there would be room to add another bedroom and still have a large terrace. As previous guests have said the terrace could do with a shaded area (a pergola with a vine perhaps?) as there is no refuge from the sun.

Gregorio is a charming host and his breakfasts are excellent. We ate ours outside every morning on the ground floor terrace where some other friends were staying in a very well appointed 1 bedroom apartment. The swimming pool is lovely, surrounded by a dry-stone wall with mature trees and plants.

All in all, we had a very relaxing time and would definitely go back. It's only a short drive into Cisternino and Ostuni, Martina Franca are also not far away. A good base for touring this part of Puglia.

Room Tip: Il Pesco recommended for couples; Il Fico d'India better for a couple with 2 children than for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The accommodation here is very variable. If you are lucky you will get a baronial bedroom and massive lounge and kitchen, but we were not. The two bedrooms in our first floor appartment were not large enough to swing a cat or even a mouse without risking a visit from the animal cruelty inspector, although our kitchen/diner/lounge was amply proportioned. The wi-fi (for whose password we paid a €15 supplement) did not work anywhere in our appartment - although we could get a signal by retreating to a corner of our unsheltered roof terrace (only of any use at night or early morning before the sun made viewing impossible). Gregorio was unsurprised and he blamed the thick stone walls. There is a good-sized swimming pool, but two of us succumbed to grazing injuries from its rough cement lining. Breakfasts are excellent and we enjoyed Gregorio's home-grown mulberries, cherries, prickly pear and fig jams and friendly service.

Room Tip: ask for room dimensions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This well run agriturismo with quiet rooms and a lovely pool is a perfect base for exploring the gorgeous towns that are a short drive away. The apartments are well appointed (although I found the two doubles in our apartment a little small and cheek by jowl -and the vast rooftop balcony had no refuge from the sun rendering it of little use apart from offering fine views over the fields of olive trees and swaying poppies). Gregorio works hard to manage the needs of all his guests, and despite our group inducing in him a mild despair at the beginning of our visit, he helped us throughout the week as well as providing an excellent and varied breakfast each day. A splendid time - we plot our return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cisternino
2.8 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
608 reviews
4.8 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria Calongo
Agriturismo Masseria Calongo
#1 of 21 in Cisternino
139 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Falco D'oro
Hotel Falco D'oro
#5 of 6 in Cisternino
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Riposo del Vento - Trulli and B&B
3.9 mi away
B&B Le Meridiane
B&B Le Meridiane
#13 of 21 in Cisternino
5 reviews
2 mi away
Masseria Peppeturro
Masseria Peppeturro
#3 of 21 in Cisternino
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Selvaggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Selvaggi

Address: C/da Chiobbica | Valle D'Itria, 72014 Cisternino, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Cisternino
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cisternino
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Masseria Selvaggi Cisternino, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing