We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic experience”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lornaeste...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have just come back from staying in Trullo Caterina. The Trullo is in a very good location for exploring this area, very central and easy to get about. We managed to get to many interesting sites, Alberobello, Martina Franca, Locorotondo and Ostuni are all very close by and many more. Andrew, Jill and James are very good host suggesting various places to go, and James took us on a very good tour of local products and we also had a lovely meal that he arranged for us. The Trullo is set in a fantastic garden, very well maintained and extremely relaxing!! It also has a wonderful swimming pool which was very refreshing after a long walk. I highly recommend this Trullo a lovely place for total relaxation and amazing hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wldtravlr
East Meadow
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“TRULLO SPECTACULAR”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spectacular property. Spectacular, warm, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, magnificent region!! Stunning pool, amazing restaurants, gorgeous towns. Experience like non other. Clean, gorgeous, private property. You feel like a welcomed family member by the hosts. Off the main tourist scene..real Puglia living. I cannot wait to return!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaStorion...
Province of Lecco, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxation heaven in a perfect setting”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I chose Trullo Caterina for several reasons; one, the very positive reviews from previous guests, two, I'd never been to Puglia and wanted the full 'trullo experience', and three, I really needed to relax. So I had pretty high expectations which I have to say were completely and utterly exceeded. This is an astonishing place and I can't recommend it highly enough, particularly if you are travelling alone, as I was.

First, the trullo is exceptionally pretty, in a wonderful setting of terraced gardens and olive trees. It's attached to Andrew and Jill's trullo but you are left to have as much privacy as you want, as it has its own entrance and a lovely little private courtyard to sit out in the sun (sadly I didn't have too much of that during my stay so I would suggest a visit in the summer months rather than April! Also so you can take full advantage of the fabulous little swimming pool)

You're free to wander through the lovely garden to maybe say hello to the two pet goats, or relax by the fabulous rock pool with its covered terrace and seating area where you can unwind in perfect seclusion, although you will almost certainly be visited by Jake and Charlie, the two adorable and very friendly dogs.
And friendliness is the key word that makes Trullo Caterina a particularly special place to stay. Jill, Andrew and their son James are wonderful hosts who obviously love having people stay and who go out of their way to make your holiday memorable. On my arrival they were all on hand to greet me and give me a tour of the trullo and gardens, and inside there was a lovely welcome pack of food and wine, including some delicious bread and ham from the local shop, which is well worth a visit if you want to stock up. During the week I was also given two lovely home-cooked meals and another two bottles of wine, plus a bottle of olive oil, produced from their own olive trees, to take home. And as soon as James discovered my love of films he raided his extensive collection and gave me a huge choice to keep me entertained in the evenings or when the weather was too rainy to venture out.
It really seems that nothing is too much trouble for them as hosts; James is on hand to give tours of the local olive press and other places of interest, Andrew offered to arrange horse riding if I was interested, and Jill spent an entire day driving me round the area, showing me hidden little places that I would never have found otherwise. It's this kind of personal, welcoming touch that makes a holiday so much more enjoyable than the usual, particularly if you are a solo traveller.

Trullo Caterina is situated in the countryside just outside Cisternino, so is perfect if you want relaxation combined with sightseeing, as you are surrounded by utter peace and quiet at the trullo, but within easy reach of several lovely towns like Locorotondo, Ostuni and Alberobello, to name just a few. And the coast is just a short drive away and perfect for a drive up the quiet coastal road to pretty towns like Monopoli or Polignano a Mare. Or you can just go out for a gentle walk in the lanes around Trullo Caterina and soak in the views of trulli nestling in fields of olive trees. I did this on my first evening after having spent several hours in the car driving from the north of Italy and I felt the stress and tiredness melt away within minutes. I would happily come here again and spend the entire week just relaxing by the pool with a glass of wine, playing with the dogs, or strolling round the area admiring the view. I've never felt so relaxed after just a week!

However I would give two pieces of advice about staying in a trullo if it's your first time. They are exceptionally pretty and a delight to stay in but they are traditionally very old buildings so by their nature they're small and compact. Trullo Caterina is no exception, so if you're a tall person you need to watch your head in doorways or you'll go home with some interesting lumps on your forehead.
In addition, the thick stone walls make them wonderfully cool in summer but they can be a bit chilly in the other seasons, particulary in the morning and evening, so it's a good idea to bring some warm clothes so you can feel snug when you're inside. There is heating of course, which warms the place up very quickly but this incurs an additional (small) charge, depending how much you use.

And one word of warning if you are new to Puglia as a region. The area is famous as the origin of the 'slow' movement (slow food, slow living etc) and they really take this to heart, in that everything closes for a large part of the middle of the day. Shops, and even churches, museums and monuments open in the morning but then not again until the late afternoon so if you are planning to visit a specific attraction it would be worth checking the opening times beforehand. On the other hand, this long 'siesta' is the perfect excuse to have a leisurely lunch and taste the delicious food that Puglia is justifiably famous for!
And be careful if you go to Puglia outside the main summer season as you may also find many places closed until the main tourists arrive from June onwards. This is particularly true along the coast as you'll find a lot of places in the process of being renovated and repainted in preparation for the summer influx.

However, these things do nothing to deter from a wonderful experience and Trullo Caterina really is the perfect place to go if you want to unwind and relax in a beautifully snug and comfy trullo, in a gorgeous setting, with wonderful hosts (and dogs!) I really don't have enough superlatives to say how great it is. I can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon E
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Trullo and gardens - great area foe either sight seeing or relaxation”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As many others have already said this is a truely wonderful place for a relaxing holiday. Excellent hosts, accomodation and gardens.
The local towns are very interesting and you are only 30 mins for the Coast. Torre Canne, Savellerti and Monopoli are great coastal places to visit and eat, especially in Seafood restaurants and cafes..
The nearby towns of Cisternino, Locorotondo, Ostuni and Martina Franca are full of fantastic historical buildings, restaurants, bars, shops and cafes. Especially Martina Franca and Monopoli which I think are better than the more famous nearby town of Ostuni.
Lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful, great setting and a fantastic place to go sight seeing or just sit and relax. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h0teljunk...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful bolthole for two, perfect for exploring or relaxing”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked Trullo Caterina for six nights at the beginning of July 2016, forming the second week of our honeymoon in Puglia. We were actually pointed in the direction of Caterina by our wedding caterer, who had visited Puglia many times and raved both about the trullo, the gardens and Gill and Andrew's hospitality. From our first enquiry, it was head and shoulders above the alternatives we had looked at - Gill was incredibly responsive and very helpful throughout the booking process.

After one week of having a lovely, albeit very indulgent, week in various hotels in the region, arriving at Caterina was a welcome change of pace! Gill provided excellent directions from the coast and we found the trullo easily enough. We were met by Andrew, James (Gill and Andrew's son), Charlie and Jake - two gorgeous dogs!

Andrew showed us around the trullo which is a perfectly appointed space for two with a great bathroom. Some delicious sweet and savoury nibbles and local drinks (red, white and pink - none of it lasted long) were waiting for us and much appreciated, given the local supermarket was closed for a lunchtime snooze. The kitchen came with essentials for cooking (oil, seasoning, washing up bits and bobs) and a selection of teas and coffees. Andrew then walked us to the garden which is, quite simply, one of the most beautiful spaces we've had the pleasure of visiting. The gardens have been skilfully divided up into formal and informal spaces, for example a beautifully designed (and hand built!) fish pond and stone pathway sitting next to ancient olive trees tumbling over terraced lawns. The climax of this is the stunning swimming pool area. There are numerous paved areas and loggia on different levels overlooking the pool which has been cleverly designed (and again built by Andrew!) to retain some of the rock from which the pool was excavated to one end (albeit smoothed down and sealed!) allowing an area to recline within the pool. The loggia houses a well stocked bookshelf, aux cable and speakers for playing music. We had lunch and dinner in this area and the setting is just sublime.

Andrew, Gill and James (plus Charlie, Jake and two shy but will still allow a tummy tickle cats) live on the property which adjoins the trullo to one side but they have perfected being there whenever you need them (which we did, gratefully accepting recommendations and taxi bookings) and being invisible otherwise, not that you would want them to be as all conversations with them were a complete delight; interesting, intelligent and good fun. James was kind enough to lend us some films to watch which came in handy on the one day of rain.

During our stay we had bestowed upon us a delicious salad (the name has escaped me!) made by Gill, some delicious olive oil to take home and finally some sun-dried tomatoes that had actually been prepared during our stay, as demonstrated to us by Andrew. It is these touches that make Caterina such a winner; hospitality, sincerity and generosity run through the place.

Caterina is in a fantastic location, being only 20 minutes from the coast and to the well known towns of Martina Franca, Locorotondo and Alberobello. The nearest town is Cisternino however, which is only 5 minutes away and in our opinion was the best of the lot - including Ostuni which we found very overrated. Cisternino has a great atmosphere, good restaurants and a lovely look-out area. Parking in the day was absolutely fine, but rather hairy in the evening when the town came alive and the streets were packed.

I cannot recommend Trullo Caterina enough. The location, the accommodation, the setting and the hospitality were all fantastic. It's the perfect base to explore the area or to sit and not do very much at all. And as for Charlie and Jake, they welcomed us like old friends every time we appeared from the trullo and are just completely gorgeous boys.

Thank you so much Andrew, Gill, James, Charlie, Jake, Cat 1, Cat 2 - we had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gardens
Liked least: The kitchen could maybe have had more glasses and mugs, but that's about it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olliepee
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, amazing memories.”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2014

After staying here I jokingly let Jill know i'd keep Trullo Caterina a secret. That was nearly two years ago now so perhaps I wasn't joking after all! Perhaps it makes for a different kind of review that somewhere we stayed two years ago left such an incredible impression on myself and my partner. It's easy to be swept away by the location, with idyllic views over the Puglia countryside, the cute Trullo, which makes for a very unique place to spend some time, or THAT pool which was a great place to spend a few hours when we weren't getting lost in our Fiat500 or in the labyrinth villages nearby! But none of this compares to the hospitality received by our hosts Jill, Andrew and James - three wonderful people that go above and beyond. From recommending a couple of great restaurants, to sharing their grappa with us, nothing was too hard. If you're looking around Puglia for a place to stay seriously look no further - I can't imagine anyone having a less than perfect time here. Thank you guys (and of course Charlie Pickle) for the wonderful memories, we hope to visit you again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2016
Dear Ollie and Chloe,
They say the best things are worth waiting for!
Thank you for this great review, we really appreciate your comments. We all have very fond memories of you too, especially of one particular evening up by THAT pool! What excitement!
We hope that you do visit us again, it will be lovely to see you.
Ciao from us all (including Charlie P),
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi L
Holzhausen, Germany
1 review
“Like in paradise”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent two weeks in Trullo Caterina and enjoyed every minute. Really everything was just perfect. There was nothing that could have been done better. The Trullo was very well equipped and we missed nothing. Everything was spotless clean. The highlight was the pool and the garden. We really enjoyed to sit at the pool and relax in the sun. Our plans for the two weeks were to visit as much as possible. But because of the nice Trullo and perfect surrounding we often just stayed there. Finally, we must not forget of course the attentive hosts Jill, Andrew and their son James and their adorable dog. They made the two weeks unforgettable. Thank you so much and we will definitely visit Trullo Caterina again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing