We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Piece of Heaven-Would Come back in a...”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Norma B
Lynchburg
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven-Would Come back in a Heartbeat!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I spent a lot of time looking at reviews and searching the Internet for the kind of place we wanted to stay in Puglia. We wanted a quaint, quiet place, cool in the evenings with a pretty atmosphere but a short distance from the various venues we wanted to visit. Trulla Caterina fit the bill and much more. Jill, Andrew and James, plus the animals made us feel really at home, visiting with us when we wanted company and leaving us alone when we wanted privacy. Their Trulli are absolutely charming, with lots of little extras like the beach chairs for the ocean etc. We were there the very end if June. The weather was warm during the day and cool in the evening. The Trullo stayed cool if we closed it up in the morning. The weather got into the middle 80's and in the 60's overnight. They are at an elevation of about 1500 ft and it cools off toward the evening.

It is obvious Andrew has a green thumb as his garden is beautiful. I wish I could have taken home some of his wonderful plants. I felt I was in the middle of a garden oasis with the beautiful pool and his gardens. The owners left us alone at the pool, never using the pool while we were there which was very romantic and nice on their part.

We were welcome with wine and goodies in the Trullo, Jill brought over some of her special roasted peppers one night and Andrew supplied us with his home grown yummy figs as well.

We toured in the mornings and early afternoon, but managed to use the pool almost every afternoon after coming home from touring the area except for two days, one at the beach and eating lunch along the coastline and one day driving to Lecce and driving down to the bottom of Italy to the end of the heel.

We would recommend this place to anyone interested. The setting is gorgeous, the Trullo is darling and the owners terrific.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Returned after the most idyllic week at Trullo Caterina, it is the most delightful place to stay. It is perfect in every way, and Jill Andrew and James make the most amazing hosts. Nothing is too much trouble, they could not be more helpful if they tried. We felt we had known them for years, not just a few days. The trullo is easy accessible by car to many of the surrounding towns, and the countryside is glorious. It is too nice to spend many days travelling, just sitting by the pool in Andrews beautiful garden is the best relaxation we could recommend.Just as we were leaving Jill had a cancellation through illness, If only we did not have to be back at work, we would have just stayed for 2 more weeks we loved it so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the beautiful trullo
Liked least: We loved everything, it would be impossible to dislike anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebLyle
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect Antidote to a Busy Life”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My wife and I stayed for one week at this idyllic Trulli in early June 2012. It was just absolutely perfect. Lazy mornings, breakfast al fresco, then to the beautiful swimming pool before a late lunch. Come 4pm, as the sun cooled, it was off for gelato and sight seeing at one of the numerous stunning Puglian towns. The owners were incredibly helpful, friendly and welcoming. We strongly recommend this holiday escape for two. Oh, and not to forget the fabulous, friendly furry friends.
As it pours with rain here in July London, please can we come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a Trulli, the swiming pool and the wonderful owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggs464
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceeded my already high expectations”
Reviewed October 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed from 22nd September to 5th October. Had perfect weather in a perfect location. The trullo is just the right size for two, very tastefully furnished with all one requires for self catering. It has fantastic views from the trullo itself and the extensive grounds, with the added bonus of a beautifully located small swimming pool. It is ten minutes by car from the centre of Cisternino and is well placed for day trips, or shorter ones to Lecce, Bari, Matera, Giovinazzo, Alberobello, Ostuni etc. It is also about 20 minutes to the nearest beach where we often stopped off at the end of our day trips. The surrounding countryside is very nice with many a thousand year old olive trees - amazing. Our hosts Jane, Andrew and James were extremely hospitable and helpful. We especially appreciated useful local knowledge such as there is a "park and ride" on the outskirts of Bari and the best and most scenic way to reach Matera. Another highlight was being invited to a meal eaten overlooking the pool and enjoying very tasty pizzas cooked by James in the authentic pizza oven. Altogether a very special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location. Peace and beauty . Swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catchuptr...
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and relaxing stay at a beautiful trullo”
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay that we would recommend to anyone - after a few days it really felt like home. The guest trullo is beside the owners' main house (also a trullo) on an elevated site in the countryside about 2 miles outside the small town of Cisternino - it is therefore perfectly quiet at night and we were never disturbed by any noise during the 9 nights we stayed there.

The trullo is charming and perfect for a couple - have a look at the photos on the owners' website which really give an accurate impression of the accommodation. There were some really nice touches when we arrived - wine, local biscuits and so on and absolutely spotless accommodation. Jill, Andrew and James are very welcoming - they are really helpful with information and advice, even invited us to a lovely dinner one evening.

There is a pool for guests to use and an enclosed "courtyard" beside the trullo itself with outside table and chairs and sun loungers which we found really pleasant.

We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet & relaxing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunReay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat for a relaxing & romantic honeymoon”
Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Trullo Caterina was everything we'd hoped for and more, we were looking for a peaceful retreat after spending the previous week sightseeing in Rome and Venice and were not disappointed. Jill, Andrew & James were the perfect hosts - we were greeted with a warm welcome on arrival and their kind hospitality and helpfulness continued throughout our stay.
We had a fabulous time and hope to return and would definately recommend the Trulli to anyone wanting to visit Puglia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adams217
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical place to relax”
Reviewed July 17, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed for a week and it was a truly relaxing and interesting part of our holiday, with Andrew and Jill being wonderful and welcoming hosts. The area is wonderful with great towns to explore, the trulli are set in a wonderful garden, Andrew's work on the pool area has produced a very restful area to go and chill out, the accommodation and pool are immaculate and the guests' area very private and well laid out and the trulli have been converted to a very high standard. Would we go back there again? You bet!! ...and we hope to soon.

Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing