We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“II Giardino”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Ranked #18 of 82 Restaurants in Cisternino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“II Giardino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice- once as a takeaway and once sitting in. The food was excellent and very good value. We chose the pasta and fish courses- the fried mixed fish was lovely and the tuna was cooked extremely well. Takeaway pizzas were great too and very good value for money. Service was excellent and they spoke fluent English and made us very welcome. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    114
    42
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We used to eat at Il Giardino quite often but it closed for a while and re-opened with new owners. We started with antipasti (for two shared between three) and it was excellent - as good as any we have ever eaten. Everything was freshly prepared and dishes included a number of new ones to us such as cheese fondue! The chef came out to see how we were enjoying his food and after some persuasion he gave a couple of recipes for us to try at home. We were trilled and could hardly wait or the pizzas that used to be so good here. What a disappointment. Different chef - the REAL chef doesn't do the pizzas (what a pity) and the pizza guy is really not up to the job.
I'm sure we will eat here again but we won't be having pizza.
For those who find it useful, the owner, the (real) chef and most of the staff speak really good English.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Used to be excellent but new owners”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Dreadfully slow service, 30 minutes to get a menu! Food very average, what a shame, it used to be so good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharonbierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Our kids loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very slick service, excellent English spoken. A lovely terrace and one of the (relatively) few places in Cisternino that serves pizza plus pasta, meat/fish dishes etc. We had the mixed antipasti for two, shared between the four of us - lots of little dishes such as souffle, black rice, anchovies, aubergine, all delicious. The kids took their leftover pizza home to have the next day. The grilled fish was excellent, as was the pasta with scampi. One of the better value meals of our stay, 79 euros including house wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

lovely food , more pricey than than other local restaurants , perhaps catering more for tourist trade

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carys186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
 
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
 
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing