We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner”

La Locanda del Collegio
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Fabriano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Description: The Restaurant "La Locanda del Collegio" is located a few steps from the historic center of Fabriano in the elegant setting of the former Collegio Gentile. La Locanda del Collegio is taste, territory and creativity. In our restaurant every dish follows the natural course of the seasons by using only the finest ingredients and prefering the products of our region, all revisited by the fantasy of our cuisine. A menu and a wine list where we have tried to select the specialitys giving importance especially to small reality in the region. Our staff will welcome you in the best way and advise you in the choice of dishes and of wine and trying to make you spend pleasant hours.
Restaurant details
Description: The Restaurant "La Locanda del Collegio" is located a few steps from the historic center of Fabriano in the elegant setting of the former Collegio Gentile. La Locanda del Collegio is taste, territory and creativity. In our restaurant every dish follows the natural course of the seasons by using only the finest ingredients and prefering the products of our region, all revisited by the fantasy of our cuisine. A menu and a wine list where we have tried to select the specialitys giving importance especially to small reality in the region. Our staff will welcome you in the best way and advise you in the choice of dishes and of wine and trying to make you spend pleasant hours.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We've been in Fabriano for about a week and have had some excellent meals. But this was the best.

First of all, they have their own parking lot. If you've never tried to park a car in Fabriano, this might not seem like a big deal, but trust me, it's a Big Deal.

Second, it's a gracious, inviting space with interesting decor and quiet piano music (recorded). Very tranquil.

But while these were nice extras, the food and the service were the main draw. For what we experienced, I would have happily parked a mile away and put up with crowds and noise (I'm glad I didn't have to, though).

The first course was cappellacci (a pasta, similar in shape to tortellini) stuffed with ricotta, lightly scented with orange, in a duck ragout (our server apologized that the guinea fowl mentioned in the menu wasn't available; didn't miss it). One of us had the pork on a bed of cabbage (delicious), and the other the fritto misto. The latter was pure heaven--an assortment of meats and vegetables, flash-fried in what must have been extremely hot oil. Think Italian tempura. But unless you have a gargantuan appetite, split this among two people, even two hungry people. Dessert was a hazelnut semifreddo with a wild-berry compote. Subtle and lovely.

Our server recommended a lovely local red wine.

Don't miss La Locanda!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OhC0meON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celestino M, Proprietario at La Locanda del Collegio, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your review and for being in our restaurant.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

After visiting the Saturday market downtown in the city center, we walked to La Locandia del Collegio based on TripAdvisor rating and photos. The ambiance was wonderful, with modern setting and traditional touches. Our waitress was friendly and helpful, even with limited English we communicated very well. We started with Padere 72 wine, 2014, a wonderful medium bodied red blend. All our starters were superb. Roasted tomato filled with smoked goat cottage cheese was tasty and very hot—yum! Gnocchi with pumpkin and blue cheese was to write home about. Rolled lamb with potato and artichoke was delightful. Everything was absolutely perfect! And it’s close enough to the old city wall to park outside the wall on the street where parking is easy and free, and walk the two blocks into the old city where the restaurant is located.

Thank J Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celestino M, Proprietario at La Locanda del Collegio, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our restaurant. For all of us it was a pleasure to have customers like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Good restaurant. I had codfish with tomato confiture. Nice salad and fantastic backup patatos.
Good service but at payment waiting long and felg bit abandoned.
Hotel Janus located nearby.

Thank Michal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

The service and food at this restaurant was first class. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys good food in a nice location served by attentive, friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celestino M, Proprietario at La Locanda del Collegio, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your review and for being with us. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

I eat there at least once a month and consider it the best restaurant in town by far. The chef prepare local genuine foods with the best ingredints of the local tradition. There are many dishes I like but it is hard to reccomand one in particular. The meat are local tender and juicy. The selection of wine from local Marche region is wide and you can taste excellent reds, whites and also sparkling wines. The restaurant is very nice and the ouside patio is fantastic for evening aperitives and dinners in the hot summer evening . The staff is very professional, nice and charming. I absolutely reccomand it to everyone who is in Fabriano. Great for business lunch break as well as for a romantic meal and after-dinner evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andreamancini65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celestino M, Proprietario at La Locanda del Collegio, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Thanks for the nice words about our restaurant and for his nice words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Collegio also viewed

Fabriano, Province of Ancona
Fabriano, Province of Ancona
 
Fabriano, Province of Ancona
Fabriano, Province of Ancona
 
Fabriano, Province of Ancona
Fabriano, Province of Ancona
 

Been to La Locanda del Collegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing