We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel/BB with an alpine feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Thurwieser
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Cosy, simple but functional hotel not far from the ski-lifts.
Staff is personal, helpful and friendly.
Rooms are very clean with nice wooden parquet floors. Beds are on the hard side with heavy down duvets.
Free parking and ski deposit with boot warmers.
Wi-fi is € 5 a day, somewhat petty-minded.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms with window shutters for complete darkness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. My family and friends have visited Santa Caterina on and off for several years and we have stayed with Bruna and her sisters at the Hotel Garni Thurwiser many times, it was a great find! The hotel is excellent, everything is just perfect every time we visit. There is always service with a smile from everyone at the hotel, nothing is too much trouble. It is situated just outside the main village but only a 5 minute walk from everything; shops, chair lift to slopes and restaurants/bars. The bedrooms are very comfortable and clean and you can relax in the main lounges after a long days skiing with a drink and make yourself right at home. Breakfast is 'fantastico' and not to be missed! Lots of choice with scrumptious homemade items - too long to list. Bruna will also cater for your evening meal if you wish and it is always lovely authentic homemade cooking aswell. If you are visiting Santa Caterina this is definitely an ideal place to stay - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had a wonderful holidays and stay in the Hotel Thurwieser!The location is perfect,very quiet and calm.The service and treatment was just like in 5-star hotel,the staff was very friendly and nice with me.My room was immediately cleaned up as only I went out from there just for few minutes.Btw,the hotel itself is very clean and comfortable.I will definitely come back again to this hotel!The only shortage that the Internet was for charge,though my main aim was to enjoy nature and silence so that's was all right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extra-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderfull time in hotel Garni Thurwieser!
The service is exellent. Good breakfast, nice and clean rooms. Good facilities for ski/snowboard.
5 minutes walking from the ski piste and centre.
Perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNrldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderful vacation, the hotel was good and the service that Bruna and her sisters provided was excellent! there are many things to mention but if i have to choaase i would like to mention the excellent breakfast, lots of variety and own products

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiziano Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice place and very friendly hosts, the hospitality was superb. The location is perfect for hiking and cyling or motortrips. Excellent breakfast and nice view from the room. Also the backyard (lawn) is a very nice place to relax after a trip. From the hotel it's just a short walk into town.
Only small negative point is the fact that sound isolation of the rooms is not so good, but as most of the guest are quit, that was not a big problem

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerwinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed with our 2 children, 8 and 4 years old, over Easter and had a fantastic time. Such a lovely and friendly hotel. Clean and cosy. What more do you want? Perfect location.
Hoping to come back soon again.
The Andersson family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaMeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Caterina Valfurva hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Confinale
Hotel Confinale
#9 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordik
Hotel Nordik
#10 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meuble Adler
Hotel Meuble Adler
#12 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alle Tre Baite
Hotel Alle Tre Baite
#17 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cevedale
Hotel Cevedale
#7 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah C...
#2 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Thurwieser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Thurwieser

Address: Via Magliaga 11, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Santa Caterina Valfurva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Caterina Valfurva
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Caterina Valfurva
Price Range: $107 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Thurwieser 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurwieser hotel, typical of the mountain region, comfortable and cosy, gives you great freedom of choice with its B&B formula (continental buffet style breakfast). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Thurwieser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Thurwieser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing