We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
31
10
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nero views visit hike area
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights to explore the beautiful area. We have been greeted with the warmest welcome we ever came across. Pino, owner and I dare to say, Masterchef, made our stay unforgettable.

The hotel itself is perfectly located for excursions into Pollino National park, which hosts rare species such as the Apennine wolf, wild cats and otters. Pino Loricato or Bosnian pine is considered a pre-historical botanical marvel and it's found only in this region (outside of its main range, the mountainous areas of the Balkans). The story is that seeds were carried over by winds.

The accommodation is comfortable and clean and if you are lucky enough to get a room with a balcony, the view is just fantastic. The attic rooms are not for tall people.

Food - well, we did not expect Michelin starred quality but Pino delivered exactly that and came up with the most amazing dishes and flavours (including truffle delights). Pino uses local ingredients and takes the time to explain the story behind the dish. Just excellent and superb. We left few pounds heavier though (that's the only "complaint" we could muster up between us). Tip - try the house wine, it's excellent.

Other things to do in the area: in addition to exploring the beautiful Pollino National park, it's worth visiting San Paolo and San Constantino Albanese Albanian villages established around 1534; Acquafreddo; Maratea - a beautiful costal town, the pre-historic Grotta del Romito etc. But ask Pino - he is an excellent advisor of the best places to visit. And comes October, truffle hunt is on.

Tips: you'll need a car to get around easily, but, do not rely entirely on GPS - there are hundreds of new roads not existent on any map or even GPS. If you miss an exit, you may end up driving 20-25 miles till you get the chance to turn around. Mountain roads (serpentines would be a better description) can be treacherous and be mindful of the things looking like a traffic cone - it means part of the road is gone on that side. Drive carefully and slowly, don't rush.

Room tip: Ask for a room with balcony. If you are tall, avoid the rooms in the attic.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ildi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a tour of Basilicata and Calabria. Pino, the owner, runs an excellent establishment which I would not fault. Accommodation is rustic in style but comfortable. Sleep quality was very good. Pino is an excellent chef and prepared a menu of local dishes for us on each evening. Without exception, everything was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the descriptions of each dish which Pino provided. No complaints about breakfast either. Finally I should add that our stay represented exceptional value for money.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2015

Been in this property for three days. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the Pollino National Park and, also, it is one of the best properties in Southern Italy. I was amazed by coziness of the place, the cleanliness of the room, the friendliness of the owner but, above all, the superb quality of the food. Chef Pino has a decades long experience in the restaurant industry and, yet, I have never felt so at home. He made it a point in explaining the story behind each recipe and the way to prepare it. He is very active in the international community and his restaurant has been reviewed by countless magazines and guides. He has seemingly travelled the world and was in several TVs program. Ill definitively be back

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I've been in this property several times and have been always amazing. Great place, great sleep, great food and great mood. The best accommodation in this part of Italy.

Room tip: Make sure to have your meal in the Hotel. Try to see if they can arrange a 4WD excursion on the mountains.
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SerGioDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This was our first trip to southern Italy. It was memorable because we were able to locate family members, but also memorable because the hotel was so inviting. The rooms were sparkling clean - and the dinner was out of this world. Pino is not only the owner/operator, but also the main chef. He is a true gentleman in every sense of the word. No matter how many people he is cooking for he makes a point of explaining the different courses to each table, and making you feel you are the only patron. He made our stay so comfortable and I would highly recommend the Picchio Nero. Sincerely, Marianne & Mike, Long Island, NY

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nyckari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews