We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This peaceful house has it all - beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Fisherman's Cottage, Dugort, Achill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Fisherman's Cottage, Dugort, Achill
Slievemore Mountain The lounge is perfect for cosy nights in with log burner, flat screen TV and wifi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Old Fisherman's Cottage, Dugort, Achill
Slievemore Mountain
The lounge is perfect for cosy nights in with log burner, flat screen TV and wifi
A modern kitchen for all your catering needs and fully equipped for your convenience.
The chic design of the master bedroom with spectacular views and a king size bed.
Elegant and comfortable the double room is on the ground floor.
This twin room sleeps 2 in bunk beds
This beautifully appointed modern bathroom with a walk-in shower and more amazing views.
From breakfast to a late summer supper enjoy the stunning Atlantic vista as you dine.
View from the garden at The Old Fisherman's Cottage, Achill
Our beach, The Silver Strand, next to The Old Fisherman's Cottage, Achill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dugort, Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie B
1 review
“This peaceful house has it all - beautiful interior design, ocean views, beach, cafes and restaurants on the doorstep!,”
Reviewed June 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It was such a pleasure to stay in The Old Fishermans Cottage, the house was very comfortable, interior design spot on, and really great art and sculptures throughout - a real feel of luxury, a home away from home. As an avid art lover, I thought I had gone to heaven!! The Atlantic Ocean and the beautiful blue-flag Doogort Beach were our next door neighbours - the views from the house were outstanding. We absolutely loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2018
Julie,

Thank you so much for your review!

We’re so happy you enjoyed your time in Achill and at The Old Fisherman’s Cottage.

We’re very lucky to have a property in such a beautiful location and it’s a pleasure sharing it with those who appreciate such tranquility and peace.

We really hope to welcome you back again before long!

Warmest wishes,

David
The Old Fisherman’s Cottage & The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M
1 review
“Lovely cottage great setting”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage has been been renovated to a really high standard and we received a warm welcome. The location is stunning and we will definitely look to return in the future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A01fe
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is a fantastic house with a real sense of peace and connection with the landscape. We really enjoyed the bank holiday weekend in Achill and were blessed with good weather. We have been to Achill many times and this house is a great addition to the area. It is a short stroll to a fabulous beach and it is in a quiet area with just a short drive to the busier parts of the island. David was very easy to communicate with and a bottle of prosecco in the fridge was much appreciated. I hope to return many times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
Aoife,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you can be sure of a warm welcome whenever you return.

Best wishes,

David
The Old Fisherman’s Cottage & The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmgreene
wangaratta, victoria
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A priveledge to have stayed”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

An absolute priveledge to have stayed in this cottage. Thank you David for allowing guests to be able to do so. Tastefully decorated, not cluttered, quality contents, towels, bedlinen, cushions and furnishings. Spotlesly clean and with the most amazing views out the kitchen window of the ocean, sunrises and sunsets and Slievemore mountain, not to mention the view from upstairs bathroom when showering. Sheep and cattle grazing nearby, birdsong, sound of the waves and a sleepy little village. The cosiest fire ever. Central heating as well. The complimentary prosecco was enjoyed down on the bench seat overlooking the sea....sheer bliss.Great location for Atlantic Drive, Keem and Keel beach, restaurants, cafes, grocercy store and butcher. It is the kind of cottage you fall in love with the minute you walk in and wished you owned it yourself, a sense of a warm hug. Simply stunning and David’s wonderful, friendly communication before and during our stay was brilliant. I felt so sad to leave. 10 star rating. (The sister cottage down the road “The Beach Cottage” looks lovely too).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2018
Mandy,

Thank you so much for such an amazing review...and our first 10 out of 5!!!

I am hoping beyond hope that you return someday with your husband...The Old Fisherman’s Cottage was made especially for guests like you!

Until next time,

David
The Old Fisherman’s Cottage & The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBath2...
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We found this cottage just by accident and booked it with David the owner directly.
As soon we arrived we were impressed by the location, the stylish interior and the cleanliness of the cottage. My sister was speechless and we could not believe how lucky we were, finding this hidden gem. The cottage has a wonderful view to the sea and we were entertained throughout the day by the sheep who were grazing in front of the cottage. The place is fully equipped with everything you can think off, Wi-Fi is working in every room and even the fireplace can be lit on a cold night.
We loved the Old Fisherman Cottage and can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
Katrin,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

It was a pleasure having you as guests and we’re so pleased you enjoyed your time here. The sheep are a constant source of amusement especially at this time of the year with lambs everywhere!

We really hope to welcome you again in the future to one of our little cottages by the sea.

Warmest wishes,

David
The Old Fisherman’s Cottage & The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulcobh2...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent escape in Achill”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A beautifully renovated cottage, respectful of its heritage but fully modernised for cosy comfort. Great touches with lovely art and super comfy beds.
Perfectly clean and appointed with all mod cons (and excellent wifi!).
Great hikes and amazing landscape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2018
Thank you very much for your review Paul. We’re so happy you and your family had such an enjoyable time in Achill and at The Old Fisherman’s Cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best wishes,
David
The Old Fisherman’s Cottage, Achill Island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie8680
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idyllic retreat!”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in The Old Fisherman’s Cottage in mid November, not your typical season to book a stay on an island off the west coast, but my family and I wanted somewhere pretty that we could completely unwind and relax.

We came across David’s cottage online and it ticked all the boxes, offering stunning Atlantic views, home comforts and a fabulous location between two beaches - it lived up to its promise and more!

The cottage is beautifully decorated and you can instantly tell that so much thought and care has been taken in every single decision. It is precisely what you see online and delivers on everything!

David was such a welcoming host and added so many lovely touches to make us feel relaxed and at home.

We had the most amazing time and can not wait to book our return visit! Would highly recommend to anyone considering booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2017
Julie,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you, Richie and little Tiernan enjoyed your stay in Achill Island and at The Old Fisherman's Cottage.

We're really looking forward to welcoming you and the family back again soon!

Best wishes,

David
The Old Fisherman's Cottage, Achill Island

PS Tell Tiernan his sheep friends are missing him!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing