We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken Soup for the Soul!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gray's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dugort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chicken Soup for the Soul!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

THE most restful break I've had in a long time. Full of old Irish charm, Gray's delighted me with its warmth and friendliness. I was blessed with the weather and would recommend staying in one of their cottages..... I'll be back

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask for one of the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DianeMuckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

This place is simply too expensive for the quality of accommodation provided. 100euro a night rooms really should come with better facilities. Ensuites are little more than pre-fabbed partitions, rooms are musty, and the sound insulation between rooms is pretty much non-existant. Although the staff are friendly and the location is fantastic there are other options on achill and people should look around or try to haggle a better rate from these guys. A large group of us stayed here for the half-marathon and will not be doing so again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gombeen1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dugort hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed here over a weekend and found that the location was great, beside a fantastic beach. Achill is an amazing place to visit, scenary is some of the best in Ireand.

When we arrived there was a slightly weird smell in the room and we left the window open to air it, the room itself was astep back in time, clean but needs renovation in light of the prices of €100 per night per room. The bed was clean but the style of the bedding is very old school with dusty woolen blankets.

On our first morning the thermostat in the shower was not working so i enjoyed a cold shower, i informed the Bean an Ti (manager) and she said that as it was a Saturday and there was a marathon on (which we were running in) that it was unlikely she could get someone to fix it, she said that we could use the communal bathroom next to our room in the corrider, when we checked this bathroom there was no Shower!

The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly, the prices do not reflect the standard of the B&B and you could probaly get more bang for your buck elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This has got to be the purest, most wonderful Irish experience you can ask for in accommodation terms. The warmest of welcomes, in a cosy small hotel. The staff go out of their way to ensure you enjoy everything. The area is stunning, with the backdrop of sliabh mor mountain and the sea. It is old fashioned, in the sense that it is how you fondly remember your childhood holidays, but the accommodation is spotlessly clean, beautifully presented. The food is sensational. Baked alaska! All in all, a Must see for anyone looking for paradise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnny168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We've been going to Grays for many years, and even after we built a holiday home nearby, we still love to pop in for a meal, or a cup of tea and home baked cakes in the famous guest lounge.
It's not fake hospitality carried out according to some sort of formula. It's been there since perhaps the 1860's and has it's own traditions. Guests sit in the lounge before dinner & chat about their day painting or sightseeing. Then the gong is sounded and guests go to the dining room for a 5 course meal. The style of food is 'farmhouse meets good hotel' -good quality, unpretentious, in generous portions! The cutlery is heavy silver, generations old, and the tables and chairs are handmade in teak by a local cabinetmaker. Later in the evening a supper of homemade cakes and tea is served in the guest lounge. There might be some piano played, people might sing, but mostly you chat with other guests - or admire the collection of local paintings that old friends have left there over the years, why not, it's the civilized thing to do!
Grays offer rooms in the main house (some but not all ensuite).
The also own houses on their row and around the village where you can stay. Although you wouldn't know it, you could be in the old post office or police station!
There's a sun lounge, a games room, and a couple of reading rooms where the fires are always kept lit.
They host poetry readings (as part of Achill Festival) and art lessons through the summer season in their old school hall.

Grays' accommodation is very much guest house rather than hotel, so although it is kept very clean and fastidiously painted, the sleeping accommodation would ideally need to be refurbished at some stage. However when it is, I hope the work is very much a restoration rather than a revolution - Grays is a gem of social history - if you want to experience part of Ireland's soul, visit a while.
And don't forget, the mountain and the beach which are both beautiful and worth climbing, walking or running. You can also hire horses, rod fish from a local boat & surf nearby.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy-2-oblige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
0.0 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray's Guest House

Property: Gray's Guest House
Address: Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Gray's Guest House Achill Island/Dugort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing