We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Magic is just that!”
Review of Pure Magic Achill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pure Magic Achill
Ranked #1 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I can't offer enough praise for Pure Magic guest house/lodge - the staff are incredibly accommodating and welcoming; the rooms are cheerfully decorated, clean, and comfortable; the food is superb; and, best of all, there's wonderful music and fun for people of all ages. I stayed there with two friends during the week of the Scoil Acla Music School and we laughed, ate, and sang our hearts out. I loved especially how children were encouraged to sing and play instruments in and around the restaurant. Despite the frenzy of the week, the staff were never frazzled. Francois, one of the owners, even gave us a good deal on the cost despite surprising him with a third person at the last minute. One way to tell if a place is good or not is to observe whether the staff members smile at all. Pure Magic employees never stop smiling! The whole stay was Pure Joy. In fact, that might be the only better name for it!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an en suite room - the "Australia" room looked nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaglanRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We are happy because you are happy. It's true that we all had a special magic time with everyone during Scoil Acla.. See you next year!!

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great food, in particular great fresh pizzas. Parents can relax and eat in comfort while kids play with snooker table(free!), or outside on hammock swings. Off the road, really safe. We have kids ages 2, 4 and 6, they love the freedom of the place. Also, not sure what the coffee brand is, but it is the best on the island, you get s double shot without having to ask. Top marks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardrobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Glad to read this! We love seeing kids playing around, happy that you guys experienced a good time in our place..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had booked a room for 2 nights on June bank holiday weekend. On arrival it turned out that there was a misunderstanding and they hadn't booked us in for the first night. The staff quickly found us a B&B close by and we stayed the first night for free there and got breakfast in PurMagic. Overall, the staff was super helpful and friendly and we got free desserts and coffees to make up for the mistake (on top of not paying the for the B&B on first night). PurMagic has great rooms, all nicely decorated. The food is amazing and such good value for money overall! Can really recommend to stay there and definitely EAT! Great find for such a small island...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Templeowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Such an awkward moment when we found ourselves in an overbooking situation. Thank you for your understanding and sorry again for the inconvenience that must have caused you. Glad to hear that you still enjoyed your experience with us.

Best regards,

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pure Magic is in one of the nicest location of Ireland. it is run from a bunch of nice French Guys.
I would imagine it is motorcycle and cyclist friendly due to the fact that it has a room to dry wetsuits and therefore could dry Bike gear too.
We only had breakfast there but I'd like to go back and try the restaurant as well.
the rooms are nice but are not posh, do not expect a 4-5 accomodation.
the place has a lot of charme.

Room Tip: we got the room facing the road, nice, we could see the sheep in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanks Enrico for this review, glad that you appreciated our service..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after cycling the greenway, really nice place, it is a bit out when you are on a bike but not that much, staff very sound and great breakfast when we stayed, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnroc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for coming, hopefully we will see you again..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dined here on Saturday the 8th of June, the atmosphere is electric, the staff are excellent and the pizza is way up there on our Richter scale! The food was fresh, hot and quite tasty.
The views from the dining area are breathtaking and the good weather just made it a delightful experience. The staff are quite friendly and most cordial.
It was quite busy and there was a great buzz about the place. You can bring your own wine / beer and there is a fee of € 3.50 for the glass, which is very reasonable, maybe more restaurants shoud adopt this approach and there business may boom like Pure Magic!
I have no problem recomending this eatery and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul26793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you Paul for your review, glad you enjoyed it, inviting you to come again..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Made a trip to Achill in May with a few friends. We samtayed in a holiday home in Dugort and on a friends recommendation we visited pure magic for a coffee and a drink. The atmosphere here is amazing, really relaxing. Great tunes, seating and views. Friendly service, good wine & beer. Only problem was that we went the evening before we left so didn't get to spend as much time at pure magic as we would have liked. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durackatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

See you again for diner..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
1.6 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
103 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
#2 of 7 in Achill Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Magic Achill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range: $69 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Magic Achill Achill Island/Dugort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing