We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Pure Magic Achill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pure Magic Achill
Ranked #1 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after cycling the greenway, really nice place, it is a bit out when you are on a bike but not that much, staff very sound and great breakfast when we stayed, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnroc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for coming, hopefully we will see you again..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
40
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dined here on Saturday the 8th of June, the atmosphere is electric, the staff are excellent and the pizza is way up there on our Richter scale! The food was fresh, hot and quite tasty.
The views from the dining area are breathtaking and the good weather just made it a delightful experience. The staff are quite friendly and most cordial.
It was quite busy and there was a great buzz about the place. You can bring your own wine / beer and there is a fee of € 3.50 for the glass, which is very reasonable, maybe more restaurants shoud adopt this approach and there business may boom like Pure Magic!
I have no problem recomending this eatery and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul26793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you Paul for your review, glad you enjoyed it, inviting you to come again..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Made a trip to Achill in May with a few friends. We samtayed in a holiday home in Dugort and on a friends recommendation we visited pure magic for a coffee and a drink. The atmosphere here is amazing, really relaxing. Great tunes, seating and views. Friendly service, good wine & beer. Only problem was that we went the evening before we left so didn't get to spend as much time at pure magic as we would have liked. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durackatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
See you again for diner..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place is a real find - one of those original places that has a unique atmosphere that comes from being run by people with a passion for what they do.
Not the height of luxury accommodation, but warm, friendly, relaxing, great location and amazing food.

Dying to go back - great craic!

Room Tip: This would best suit those who are up for a laugh in the 20 - 35 age group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sure T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Glad that you liked your experience with us, see you again..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchie in Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in the Hawai room, it was nice.
Every room is nicely decorated.
Excellent pizza, beautiful house wine, lovely pastries... Pure lush.
Nice breakfast too, the chef had baked a 'far breton' which is one of the best pastry in the world and Chef Bruno's one is the 'bestest'.
Very accomodating owner and staff, pleasant and funny, sharing their enthusiasm for the island and life in general.
A lively and relaxing place at once.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatricedls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Beatrice,

Thank you for your review, Bruno is delighted that his special "phare Breton" gets apprecited that much..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived starving and seeking food for nine people at about 9.30 pm. The kitchen had been closed since 9pm but the chef kindly agreed to rustle up some pizzas. The pizzas were yum and the service was brilliant. We didn't stay in the guesthouse but as we are planning a group trip to Achill in a few months Francois offered to show us the rooms which are all themed to represent different places around the world. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lol1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments, see you again..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Maybe the bes place all over Ireland to pratice water sports.

I really enjoy the few days with my friends and with sun and warm wind.

A Fun Pure Magic team, a good food and some perfect spots where you can progress over and over on the lake or on the sea and the waves.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amauryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed the location and thank you for your nice comments towards our team. See you again!!

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
3.9 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
95 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lavelle's Seaside House
Lavelle's Seaside House
#15 of 27 in Achill Island
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Magic Achill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Property: Pure Magic Achill
Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Magic Achill Achill Island/Dugort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing