We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish and chips and a beer garden!”
Review of The Cross

The Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a family orientated pub and cafe, who look after all your needs. We offer delicious food, from our infamous Tarry breakfast, which has been said by many as to be the best on the Island, to lovely lunches and deliciously belly filling evening meals.. We cater for any of your needs, including vegetarian and vegan. We provide good quality homemade food, from the land and the sea. We will endeavour to make your stay with us as comfortably and as pleasent as possible. So see you soon for a bit of craic..
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family orientated pub and cafe, who look after all your needs. We offer delicious food, from our infamous Tarry breakfast, which has been said by many as to be the best on the Island, to lovely lunches and deliciously belly filling evening meals.. We cater for any of your needs, including vegetarian and vegan. We provide good quality homemade food, from the land and the sea. We will endeavour to make your stay with us as comfortably and as pleasent as possible. So see you soon for a bit of craic..
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Went with family and friends the day of the local Tarry Fest. It’s a small pub with an outside space and it does really good food. HUGE portions! I ordered the fish and chips which was delicious. My kids had burgers which were also delicious - one tiny side note was that bbq sauce in a ramekin was mistaken for ketchup by my son and then he wouldn’t eat his burger as he’d slathered the bbq sauce all over it! Maybe staff would mention that it’s BBQ sauce when it’s being served up? Otherwise it was perfection and the beer garden has stunning views on a sunny day.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Slevaloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

I have eaten here in previous years and it was fantastic.
This year, the food and service were awful.
The food we ordered took an hour to come, and the restaurant was not even all that full.
I ordered the salmon, and it came out raw, and cold in the middle, after an hour! Upon sending it back, the replacement dish contained raw potatoes. I sent them back, and received nothing to replace them.
My sister ordered scampi, which had obviously been defrosted and refrozen, as there was a lump of three that stuck together and were therefore soggy in the middle.
The rest of the dishes were average.
I was very disappointed after having such wonderful experiences in previous years, but we found out that there has been a new chef appointed.

Date of visit: August 2018
6  Thank bonjovi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Had coffee and a nice apple pie. The lunch food being served looked good. I’ve been coming to Achill for the last 20 years and I see an improvement in restaurant/cafe standards. This is a good addition to Achill

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Neeverspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on our sightseeing trip. Nice atmosphere. Food was delicious. Tasty and filling. Soup was almost like stew there was so much in it. Curry was fab. Galway playing on the tv added to atmosphere. Was very busy and hard to get menus and service.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank EithneC733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for an evening meal with the children on Sunday evening of the August bank holiday weekend. Almost full with tourists dining. We were given a table close to the bar. Order time was quite long but in fairness the waiting staff were busy and presumably the kitchen also.
The food was nicely presented, tasty and good value. The waiting staff were polite and friendly.
The only issue we had which marred the whole experience was a group of drunken adults at the bar who had obviously been drinking for quite a while as they were loud and foul mouthed, which had a very intimidating and shocking effect on our children during their meal, and which I found very distasteful during a family dinner also.
All of this in plain view of the Barman who far from asking them to control their outbursts as they were audible to all of the restaurant diners, including young children, proceeded to supply them with more alcohol on several occasions.
I do realise the establishment is primarily a rural pub which serves food as a secondary business but management really need to decide which is their priority, even if the restaurant business is seasonal and their beer drinkers are year round customers.

It leaves a very poor impression with foreigners and natives alike to be subjected to this type of environment while eating evening dinner.

Perhaps they need to segregate dining and drinking areas, impose a stricter policy on behavior standards of the pub clientele before 9pm or control how much alcohol will be served to individuals by the bar staff.

As always so many fine experiences in ireland get destroyed by excess alcohol.

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank IrelandWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross also viewed

Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 
Keel, Achill Island
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to The Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing