We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out!”
Review of Ted's

Ted's
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Modern cafe and traditional pub on Achill Island, serving great food and drink in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: Modern cafe and traditional pub on Achill Island, serving great food and drink in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

I have been going to Ted's since I was a child and have always loved it. It recently changed owners (the new owner Joe) and the place it still buzzing. The bar is long, the beer cold and tasty, the food fresh (we had freshly made vegetable soup and sandwiches) and the TV over the fireplace (usually lit) may well show the big game that's currently on. If you can't be bothered you can still enjoy a quiet pint in another corner (it's spacious, yet cosy) or play pool on a solid table that works. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 63 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Good friendly Irish pub obviously well frequented by locals. We did not get a chance to try the food during the few days we were on Achill as the chef was either “away on a course” or “probably not doing food” We had sandwiches a couple of times which were absolutely fine but definitely not made by a chef. Disappointed not to be able to sample the food it would appear there is very little open restaurant wise on Achill at this time of year.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Stoneystew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Stopped by Ted's for a bite to eat on our drive out to Achill. I went for the chowder and my wife had the special of hake cooked with chorizo, pesto and Spanish beans. The chowder, as advertised outside, was delicious. The highlight however was the hake, it was fantastic - really beyond expectations for bar food. I don't often get round to writing reviews but made sure I'd login to write a review as the food was so good. Highly recommended, and if the hake is on the menu as a special... go for it! :-)

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ronang86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

We went twice. For lunch its good value with amongst other things a soup and sandwich deal which is very competitive - lunchtime food was very good . We also went in for afternoon tea on another occasion and had scones and cakes - again very good. The staff were all very helpful and service was good.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ajsreview2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for a bite to eat while traveling with friends to Achill recently. It was fairly busy with tourists and locals eating lunch. The waiting staff were 3 young girls aged about 15 / 16 years of age to say they were overwhelmed would be an understatement. We ordered light lunches of toasted sandwiches tea / coffee with two portions of french fries. After about 15 minutes the sandwiches were served and after another 10 minutes we had to again ask for the tea n coffees. Five minutes later they were served and had to be returned because all were cold. Twice we asked for the french fries and had them served just as we finished the replaced teas n coffees which were still cold when replaced.
The toasted sandwiches were lovely as were the french fries it was just a pity about everything else. The young girls serving were polite and courteous and kept apologizing for the service they were clearly out of their dept and it was unfair on them to expect that they would cope with the pressure of looking after people of different nationalities along with the local population who ate here.
Would we return here to eat again the answer has to be no even though what we had to eat was very nice.
The toilets were basic but clean and smelled fresh on entering though there was only one cubical in the gents. There is ample free parking at the front of the building.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's also viewed

 
Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 
Keel, Achill Island
Dugort, Achill Island
 

Been to Ted's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing