We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I've been going to the Valley House for nearly 20 years. And I hope to continue for many more! Wonderful atmosphere. Warm welcome guaranteed from Pat and Alice. And the greatest little pub in Ireland.
The hostel is spotless and comfortable. And the afternoon tea is highly recommended. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Briano79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We visited the Valley House Pub in the offseason. We may have been the only customers on that night but Pat had a nice cozy fire going on arrival and keeps the pub open in the offseason for travelers. We had not booked with him but our B&B said he is the only pub open (on that side of or maybe the whole ) on the island in the offseason. He was friendly and a nice find. If staying with him or near him, we recommend the place for a nice drink. (Trip Advisor did not give the option of reviewing only the Pub)

Room Tip: Pub review only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank OleMissbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The lovely afternoon tea, served on a 3 tier plate... In the old dining room if this house in a unique location... Was just perfect. I would highly recommend a visit.. Old fashioned bar, tea rooms and a craft shop., itch and putt course...something for everyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank oonaghcomerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been coming to the Valley house for forty years and I find this Hostel to be a place of freedom, you have to understand that this place lets your spirit free ,so easy going ,come and go as you please, a great place to start discovering Achill .This is the way I like to remember Ireland as it was and thanks to Alice and Patrick they try to keep it in the way it has always been, The staff have always been helpful and obliging and the bar is my favourit in all of Ireland so there you have it. This place is for people with beautiful minds so If you have one this is the place for you and if you don't have one you will have by the time you leave.
Even though we are over sixty we always stay in hotels but this is the only Hostel in Ireland which outshines any hotel.
Ernest White & Carol Lamond

Room Tip: Phone in advance to book a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vapoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was appalled by some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. I, like many thousands of visitors, have always found The House, the owners, the staff and the atmosphere so welcoming. I was delighted at the opportunity to work there for “1 summer”, but I eventually left after 5 years!! Anyone reading these reviews must make their own judgement but all I can advise is GIVE IT GO, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PipGreuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A large group of us stayed at the Valley House for the Easter long weekend. Generally the consensus was that the staff and owner were friendly and hospitable, and the rooms themselves were clean and comfortable.

This is a hostel, not a hotel, so sharing rooms can be subjective - since our group all knew each other there were no problems with noise or issues with late movements about the place.

The Valley has its own bar attached, with nice open fire. Breakfast on offer is cereal and toast, but free to cook up your own fry if you so wished.

The house itself is a nice old country home, so don’t be expecting crisp clean lines, and there’s the odd patch of wall in need of repair, but it kind of adds to the character of the house. The showers could do with a bit of a revamp as the temperature was a little hit and miss at times.

One area that needs a bit of improvement is the driveway up... good old Irish potholes starting to take over.

Overall a pleasant stay at the valley house hostel.

Room Tip: There is a twin/ private room if you are not fond on the dorm bed arrangments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djoneill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

By far the worst hostel I have ever been into. No heat in bedrooms or anywhere in hostel besides a small fire in sitting room that wasn't topped up with coal or any fuel from when it was started which was at about 7pm. We waited in the sitting room until 11.30pm and believe it or not, when we went up the rooms were still absolutely freezing to the point where I could see my own breath. It was too cold of a room to stay here and he offered to find us a B&B. I told him I expected him to pay for this as it was entirely his fault that we had to leave but he point blank refused. We ended up going to a hotel on the island which works out at five euro extra per night each for our own room and there is no way in hell I would go back to the hostel. Thank goodness I didn't have to try the showers the next day. Also 2 toilets is unacceptable for a hostel of this size and must be in breach of regulations. If anyone is interested, there is a decent kitchen and sitting room but so so cold that any good is taken away. The owner Pat's apology was in no way sincere as he had lots of chances to get the heating turned on properly or to at least tell us earlier in the evening/night that it could not be repaired, etc. as we told him at 6.30pm, 8.15pm, 10pm and finally at 12am when we gave up and left the hostel. Nightmare. Don't stay here until he gets his act together.

Room Tip: --Haggle a room in a hotel for almost same price --Price of private room in this hostel is 25 each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank shinnywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicegal, Owner at The Valley House Hostel & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We’re very sorry you were not happy. We did have a problem with the heat in the hostel that night, but only in the upstairs part of the house. When we discovered the problem we did our very best to fix it as quickly as possible - however the problem was compounded by the fact that your boyfriend had TURNED OFF the radiators (not only in your room, but in another person's room next door) and it took a long time to discover this and rectify the problem.

While also tending to a busy bar and to other guests, we had to spend time looking for your boyfriend’s money and phone which he claimed was stolen from the kitchen. He had left it in your car, it was not stolen, but we did spend time trying to resolve that problem for you. You also did not seem to be able to open your room door and insisted it was broken, although we opened it without a problem.

You decided to leave, which is fine, and Pat did apologise to you (sincerely). I myself spent a long time on the phone trying to get through to B&B's and hotels to book a room on your behalf but you left in anger because we would not pay for your stay in a hotel, even though we had refunded your money in full for your stay with us.

We're sorry you felt that you had a bad experience in our hostel. Most of the time our guests have a really good time here and other people who stayed the same night as you had a completely different view point to yours. We do feel disappointed when a guest is unhappy.

We’re just not sure how venting your anger annoymously on this website by calling us despicable and insincere is really of any positive use to anyone, especially when your account of our facilities and our demeanour in handling any problems on the night is quite inaccurate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Achill Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
103 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sona Baile Homestay
Sona Baile Homestay
#22 of 27 in Achill Island
10 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#6 of 12 in Keel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley House Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley House Hostel & Bar

Address: The Valley House Hostel & Bar Toin an Tseanbhaile | Achill Island, Achill Island F28 D8F7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Achill Island
Price Range: $43 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Hostel, Bar and Restaurant on beautiful Achill Island, Co. Mayo, Ireland. Historic Victorian house in scenic area close to beaches. Woodland Faerie Trail, Pitch & Putt course and fishing lake on our grounds. Music sessions, darts and pool in our pub. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Activities arranged, groups & individuals welcome. Restaurant open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Valley House Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing