We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calveys Equestrian Centre July 2013”

Calveys Equestrian Centre
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A first class equestrian centre run by a superb friendly owner along with excellent staff situated in a stunning location which is ideal for horse riding. Very impressed with the facilities. Excellent focus on the safety of the rider who is matched with the most suitable horse for their abilities. The treks are extremely well run and are something that every rider should experience. On the treks that I did we rode down by the lake (great views) then across the dunes before the canter on the beach which is exhilarating. The return to the yard was either back around by the lake or up the lanes which give a great vista across Keel all the way to the far end of Trawmore beach and beyond.
I would very strongly recommend any rider to come here and experience what it has to offer. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. I will definitely be returning in 2014

5  Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orla d, Owner at Calveys Equestrian Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you Ronnie. We very much look forward to your return in July. So glad we were able to get you down on the beach for a good gallop! So much can be achieved in a few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horse riding"
in 9 reviews
"hour trek"
in 3 reviews
"can't wait to go back"
in 3 reviews
"children and adults"
in 2 reviews
"horses"
in 20 reviews
"gallop"
in 8 reviews
"arena"
in 7 reviews
"lorna"
in 3 reviews
"riders"
in 11 reviews
"abilities"
in 3 reviews
"jacket"
in 2 reviews
"beach"
in 17 reviews
"lesson"
in 6 reviews
"achill"
in 9 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Whilst on a weekend break to Achill Island last year I decided to treat myself to a beach ride with Calveys. I am an experienced horse owner and always enjoy including a ride out to any holiday I go on, both here in Ireland and abroad. My first impression when I arrived at Calveys was how lovely and clean the yard was and how well kept the horses were. I was greeted by the owner of the business, whom was extremely welcoming and friendly. She asked about my riding experience and I filled out the necessary forms. I was then given my horse Samson, a lovely connemara, and we were assessed in the outdoor arena. Being from a BHS exam yard and having BHS qualifications myself, I was really impressed with the attention to safety at Calveys. Once everyone had been assessed we were off. We had a lovely gentle hack along quiet country roads down to the beach. Once we arrived at the beach we were asked not to over-take each other, which was perfectly fine with me as I wasn't looking for an out of control race! We trotted the horses for a few minutes to give them a good warm up and then went for a fantastic long gallop. The view from that beach of the surrounding cliffs is really breath-taking and it has to be one of the nicest places on earth to gallop a horse. Samson was a real sweet-heart. He was so well behaved and beautifully trained. As soon as I asked him to come back to me, he listened. After our gallop we walked the horses into the sea and had great fun splashing around. We then had another couple of relaxing canters on the beach before walking the horses home via a pleasant open grass area.
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my time at Calveys and was sorry I didn't have the time to go back for another beach ride that weekend. The amazing scenery along with the beautifully schooled and looked after horses made my experience one of the very best ride outs that I have ever been on anywhere in the world and I can't wait to return again soon!

4  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

It's a year since I trekked with Calveys but I only just saw a review now so thought I'd share my experience. I'm happy to say it's quite different to the other poster as I had an absolute blast!

Firstly, the horses and ponies are beautifully cared for and well schooled. I've been trekking at other establishments where the horses were depressed and listless but not here thankfully. I really like the fact that they use a lot of native breeds; connemaras and cobs predominantly, which really suit the terrain and landscape of the island.

Hats, boots and high vis vests are provided though as an experienced rider I brought my own gear with me. Even though I've been riding for many years I was assessed in the arena first. Other places I've trekked just took my word for it that I was as experienced as I said I was but I appreciated Calveys taking the time to check myself and the other riders on my trek out first as the last thing you want is to be held back by people who say they can ride but can't, or put yourself or anyone else in danger. Because the more advanced treks really are advanced! You need to be capable of controlling a horse out in the open as the pace is fast and naturally the horses do become excited when out galloping the open and their natural competitiveness comes out ;-) A flat out race on a public beach would be a disaster but the instructors are very good at controlling the group in the busy areas but allowing us have fantastic gallops on the quiet stretches. There's nothing quite like the beach ride, total freedom travelling at speed along a beach with only other horses for company; bliss!

I enjoyed my beach ride so much that I did a Sandybanks trek, which can be adapted to more or less experienced riders but mine consisted of walking on the lanes from the stables to the beach and trot and canter work over the dunes and commonage around Keel Lake. Again, plenty of open spaces and spectacular views. I finished with a half day, 4 hour trek, which was a bit of a mix of the other two treks. A lot of walk and trot across quiet bog roads (no traffic which was heavenly for someone like me who usually rides in an area with busy roads) and then lots of cantering and galloping on the commonage and the beach.

While my review is as an experienced rider they seem to cater a lot for beginners too, with a lot of kids being brought out on a lead rein and there were lessons going on the arena too.
I ride a lot so being around horses isn't a novelty in itself for me but I got a major thrill from my treks in Achill. It's such a different place to ride, with the great views (if ya get the weather!) and the free open spaces like the commonage and the beach, that sadly has become rare to find to ride on in Ireland these days. Whenever I get back down to Achill I'll definitely pop in to book another few treks because it really was a treat. I just hope they still have my mounts from last year (Samson and Wigwam) because I had a blast with them :)

Thanks guys, keep up the good work and high standards.

2  Thank MarianneWims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

As a horse enthusiastic, owner and experienced rider, I found their trek to be quite honest-poor. On every holiday I have been on whether in Spain, France or Germany I have done a trek and they have been fantastic. So, as my family and I headed to Achill the last week of May, I knew I wanted to give trekking a go. Unfortunately, my sister and I were left disappointed. Although very friendly on the phone, the lady didn't even ask what type of trek we wanted to do. As both of us are experienced riders, we wanted to do the beach trek, however the lady ensured us on the sandy beach trek, that there would be plenty of cantering and galloping. For an hour and a half, it was 45 euro. Achill is full of empty roads, soft ground, numerous beaches and plenty of open fields, however we spent 90 percent of our time walking. Furthermore on arrival, we were tested (arena work) to see our ability- a bit extreme for a summer trek. The only time we got to canter was beside the beach and instead of doing a certain course , we simply went up and down the field, being corrected if our horses passed each other out. The last 50 mins we just spent walking on these open, empty green fields (ideal for cantering). Although the horses were lovely and extremely well behaved, everything else lacked i.e the teachers unprofessional attitude, the continuous walking. As I have already mentioned, I have done a trek on every country I have been to so far and by far the worst was the trek in Achill, which is truly a shame as the location and the horses have such potential. I will not be recommending this trek.

13  Thank Jennifer212_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orla d, Owner at Calveys Equestrian Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calveys Equestrian Centre also viewed

 
Keel, Achill Island
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Calveys Equestrian Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing