We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome and a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Water's Edge
Ranked #7 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome and a lovely stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Water’s Edge for a couple of nights in mid September. We had a great time thanks to Sinead, the extremely friendly and welcoming owner of the B&B. Sinead made us feel at home, and gave us great insider tips of where to eat and where to go for evening events. She was very knowledgeable about the island itself and provided us with plenty of information about places to see.
Our room was nicely decorated, with a comfortable double bed and was very clean. A water pump (situated at the first floor) started every time we used water (opened the tap in the bathroom, flushed the toilet, ...); it was a bit noisy during the day, however it was always switched off in the evening, therefore during the night it was very quiet. Tea/coffee facilities were available in the dining room at the ground floor. There was a very good selection of food for breakfast and the full Irish breakfast was delicious (one of the best I have ever had!).
The B&B is located in a very nice and quiet area of the Island; and walks of different length can be done starting from the B&B.
Our experience at Water’s Edge was very positive and if we will be back to Achill we would definitely return to this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dictioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I appreciate it very much. I'm delighted you both enjoyed your stay and hope you make a trip here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were to spend just one night on Achill Island and we wanted a really good B&B. After consulting Trip Advisor we decided on Water's Edge - we were not disappointed. The owner, Sinead, was just as friendly and as welcoming as we had expected. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the ensuite, and the bed was very comfortable so we had a great night's sleep. Sinead takes pride in doing her very best to make her guests comfortable and well looked after. She made us the best breakfast we had throughout our holiday. If we return to Achill Island, Water's Edge will be our first stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying a week in the wonderful 'Ocean View' in the Spectacular setting of Doogurt. The Accommodation was excellent. Modern and spacious on the inside (and spotlessly clean) quaint and characterful on the outside. It has all the mod cons, comforts and space to keep the kids happy after a day on the beach. The setting is perfect... only yards from the picture postcard beach; which lies at the bottom of a spectacular mountain which dominates the surroundings; and is very private..... not part of a holiday village. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful too. 10 out of 10.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and space
  • Disliked — nothing to be honest
  • Stayed July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would definately recommend this B&B!
It was clean, modern and very comfortable. Sinead the owner was very welcoming and makes a great breakfast.
I have stayed in various B&B's in Achill and this was by far the best. We had a see view -even in the bathroom! And our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.
Achill is a great place to visit and I will certainly stay at Water's Edge next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhoDeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks a million for your kind comments and delighted that you consider my B&B the best you have stayed in on Achill Island - I really appreciate that. Hopefully, you will make it back for a visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sinead's warmth and attention to detail cultivates an extraordinary sense of well-being that makes for the perfect holiday experience. Her B&B is a new construction (2008) with modern amenities and a contemporary style in furnishings. Water's Edge is beautifully situated on the northern edge of the island. It is off the beaten track, a great place to relax. Sinead emailed us great directions and the signage made it simple to find her place. We walked to an uncrowded beach and to a historic estate that is now a hostel/pub to use the free internet. And her breakfast is hands down the best I've had in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for writing such a kind review and I think your subject field sums up what I hope all my guests feel while staying here. I am constantly making small changes so that I can offer the very best experience for all of my guests. I am so delighted you enjoyed everything while you were here and I hope you can return again into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a great place, and a great host! Sinead's B&B overlooks (out front|) a lake, the ocean, and mountains. Out back. Klew Bay (ocean again) and more mountains. The rooms are clean and in great shape. Sinead's breakfasts are delicious, her advice and knowledge of the island priceless. We are coming back again!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, but all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomdurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I very much appreciate your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed everything, including the views! It was a pleasure looking after you. I'm fortunate to have those views to wake up to everyday. Delighted that you are planning a return visit - don't leave it too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wonderful house and location. Warm welcome from Sinead. Room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. Great nights sleep in this remote part of the island. Fabulous breakfast and lovely cup of tea arrival.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you were happy with everything. The Valley is a beautifully scenic, unspoiled part of Achill Island. Beautiful lakes, picturesque walks, remote beaches can be enjoyed by our visitors and feel as though they have the place to themselves. Thank you again and I hope that you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Island
10.5 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
958 reviews
2.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
113 reviews
7.8 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
180 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mulranny House B&B
Mulranny House B&B
#1 of 5 in Mulranny
53 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bleanaskill Lodge
Bleanaskill Lodge
#12 of 27 in Achill Island
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Water's Edge

Property: Achill Water's Edge
Address: | The Valley, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is one of Achill Island's newest guesthouses, on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. We are within minutes of blue flag beaches, fishing lakes and exceptional coastal and mountain walks. Water's Edge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Achill Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing