We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Water's Edge
Ranked #7 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I would highly recommend this B&B. We arrived on our bikes after a long day's cycle and soaked to the skin!! Sinead took all our wet clothes and dried them for us. The rooms are beautiful, clean and each morning we were served a fantastic breakfast from a very extensive breakfast menu. Sinead really went the extra extra mile by dropping us off to restaurants each evening and even drove us to Achill Sound for ATM machine when we ran out of money!! all part of her service. She has full knowledge of the island and gave us maps and ideas for our days activities. The B&B is perfectly located with breathtaking scenery and within walking distance to the 'best pub on the island' The Valley House. We are already planning a return visit.
Thanks again Sinead for taking such good care of us. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrainneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review. I'm so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thankfully the weather picked up for the rest of your stay and you were able to enjoy Achill Island's beauty to the full. Yes, The Valley House is a great pub and I'm pretty lucky to live closeby.

It was a pleasure to look after you. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

We chose Water's Edge as recent TripAdvisor reviews had been excellent and we weren't disappointed! From the moment Sinead opened her door to us, we felt very much at home and relaxed in her lovely house. We were offered coffee & tea while we settled in and our bedroom was spacious, modern and light. The house was spotlessly clean and quiet, even with 4 other guests staying for 2 of our 4 nights' stay. The breakfast choice was extensive and Sinead couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. She has an excellent local knowledge of Achill, having grown up there herself, and offered useful advice on local restaurants and walks. We will not hesitate to recommend "Water's Edge" to friends and family, and hope to return on our next visit!

Room Tip: Only 2 of the 4 bedrooms offer ensuites - do not let this put you off as Sinead said she doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doomey1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you will recommend us to others. Best Wishes from all at Achill Water's Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just back from 3 nights in Watersedge B&B in achill island, don't usually review hotels etc, but felt I had to as this place was great! Sinead was the perfect host, breakfast was fab and accommodation was new, modern and very comfortable. Would really recommend this B&B and will be going back on our next visit to achill!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christinewhln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We very much appreciate it.

Best Regards, Sinead, Achill Water's Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Sinead is a perfect host, she is kind and very helpful about the visits and restaurants to do on the island. October wasn't the best period to enjoy Achill, but we met great people and really enjoyed our stay at the B&B.
The room was lovely : confortable, clean and many channels on the TV ;-) You can park easily and the breakfast is just perfect : you have choice between many suggestions, which is great and a really good start for the day.
For those who were coming from abroad to visit the Island, just put Doorgot as main city, indications are easy when you'll arrive in town ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuroradeBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Water's Edge B&B in Valley during the June bank holiday - what a welcome for a coeliac. We were greeted with tea and gluten free biscuits, the room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and night's rest and a wonderful gluten free full Irish breakfast in the mornings served by a smiling Sinead and sitting at the communal table. We were lucky to be in Achill to see the rhodendron and spend the evenings in the Valley House enjoying the trad sessions. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank segocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked 3 rooms at the Water's Edge B&B for our daughters and their husbands during our trip around Ireland. All I can say is this is a wonderful home, very welcoming and Sinead went way above and beyond anything we expected. We have stayed in many B&B's and can honestly say this one was the best.

The choices on her breakfast menu were varied from a herb omelet on up to a full Irish breakfast. This was really great for us as my youngest daughter is a vegetarian and there were meatless options.

We woke up in the mornings to the fantastic, mouth watering aroma of baking breads, scones and Sineads' smiling face. She made suggestions of places not to miss and even, on the first night when we got in very late, called a local restaurant/pub and asked them to stay open for us.

I highly recommend Water's Edge B&B to anybody heading to Ireland and suggest you make a trip to Achill Island and stay in this peaceful and beautiful gem.

Thanks Sinead. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was on a working holiday driving around Ireland and finding B&B on the way as we went along with my husband. Achill Island seemed interesting so we went to check it out. After having been to several B&B’s (with nicer ones fully booked and those that had spaces were not up to scratch) we luckily found Water’s Edge. The owner was out but her number was on the door asking us to call. We called her, she was very friendly and within just 3-5 minutes she was at the B&B. We had a warm welcome. The house looked very nice from the outside. It was not on the main road therefore the area was quiet and clam yet good access to everything by car. One beech is at walking distance. Surrounding area was gorgeous and you could even see the sunset if you walked up on the little hill behind the house from where you could see the sea. The house inside was immaculate! This is not exaggeration. Everything looked very new and extremely well cleaned and looked after. The room was spacious, the shower was powerful and the bed was very comfortable to sleep on with gorgeous light coloured bed sheets. Everything is modern and simple designed yet very homey feeling. Sinead the owner was absolutely brilliant. She is very friendly, bubbly, and has great attention to detail, flexible and fun to talk with. The breakfast was outstanding, we could choose from a menu on top of the usual cereal jam etc.. The breakfast menu really thought of all kinds of people from shakes to different types of Irish breakfast. The full Irish breakfast was made from very good quality ingredients and was amazing. The breakfast room had all the cutlery, plates cups tea, coffee some biscuits for us to enjoy any time. We were even able to make our own sandwiches when had enough of restaurant food (from material we bought of course. I am not sure if they had hairdryer, as I had my own, but there was absolutely everything one would need. Frankly, Sinead is one of the best hosts I have met with. If I will have the opportunity I will come back to this pace once again. I would say this was a 5 star treatment at a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Achill Island hotels
2.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
125 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
#2 of 7 in Achill Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Sona Baile Homestay
Sona Baile Homestay
#23 of 27 in Achill Island
10 reviews
6.8 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#6 of 12 in Keel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Water's Edge

Address: | The Valley, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range: $93 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is one of Achill Island's newest guesthouses, on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. We are within minutes of blue flag beaches, fishing lakes and exceptional coastal and mountain walks. Water's Edge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Achill Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing