We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Water's Edge
Ranked #7 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnifique B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Sinead is a perfect host, she is kind and very helpful about the visits and restaurants to do on the island. October wasn't the best period to enjoy Achill, but we met great people and really enjoyed our stay at the B&B.
The room was lovely : confortable, clean and many channels on the TV ;-) You can park easily and the breakfast is just perfect : you have choice between many suggestions, which is great and a really good start for the day.
For those who were coming from abroad to visit the Island, just put Doorgot as main city, indications are easy when you'll arrive in town ;-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuroradeBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
blackrock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Water's Edge B&B in Valley during the June bank holiday - what a welcome for a coeliac. We were greeted with tea and gluten free biscuits, the room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and night's rest and a wonderful gluten free full Irish breakfast in the mornings served by a smiling Sinead and sitting at the communal table. We were lucky to be in Achill to see the rhodendron and spend the evenings in the Valley House enjoying the trad sessions. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermilion
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked 3 rooms at the Water's Edge B&B for our daughters and their husbands during our trip around Ireland. All I can say is this is a wonderful home, very welcoming and Sinead went way above and beyond anything we expected. We have stayed in many B&B's and can honestly say this one was the best.

The choices on her breakfast menu were varied from a herb omelet on up to a full Irish breakfast. This was really great for us as my youngest daughter is a vegetarian and there were meatless options.

We woke up in the mornings to the fantastic, mouth watering aroma of baking breads, scones and Sineads' smiling face. She made suggestions of places not to miss and even, on the first night when we got in very late, called a local restaurant/pub and asked them to stay open for us.

I highly recommend Water's Edge B&B to anybody heading to Ireland and suggest you make a trip to Achill Island and stay in this peaceful and beautiful gem.

Thanks Sinead. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was on a working holiday driving around Ireland and finding B&B on the way as we went along with my husband. Achill Island seemed interesting so we went to check it out. After having been to several B&B’s (with nicer ones fully booked and those that had spaces were not up to scratch) we luckily found Water’s Edge. The owner was out but her number was on the door asking us to call. We called her, she was very friendly and within just 3-5 minutes she was at the B&B. We had a warm welcome. The house looked very nice from the outside. It was not on the main road therefore the area was quiet and clam yet good access to everything by car. One beech is at walking distance. Surrounding area was gorgeous and you could even see the sunset if you walked up on the little hill behind the house from where you could see the sea. The house inside was immaculate! This is not exaggeration. Everything looked very new and extremely well cleaned and looked after. The room was spacious, the shower was powerful and the bed was very comfortable to sleep on with gorgeous light coloured bed sheets. Everything is modern and simple designed yet very homey feeling. Sinead the owner was absolutely brilliant. She is very friendly, bubbly, and has great attention to detail, flexible and fun to talk with. The breakfast was outstanding, we could choose from a menu on top of the usual cereal jam etc.. The breakfast menu really thought of all kinds of people from shakes to different types of Irish breakfast. The full Irish breakfast was made from very good quality ingredients and was amazing. The breakfast room had all the cutlery, plates cups tea, coffee some biscuits for us to enjoy any time. We were even able to make our own sandwiches when had enough of restaurant food (from material we bought of course. I am not sure if they had hairdryer, as I had my own, but there was absolutely everything one would need. Frankly, Sinead is one of the best hosts I have met with. If I will have the opportunity I will come back to this pace once again. I would say this was a 5 star treatment at a fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

During our driving holiday around Ireland, we found the Water's Edge B&B by chance.

We need a place to stay for the evening and it was getting late. A hostel we emergency-stopped at had no room but they told us about Water's Edge. We followed the colourful signs to Water's Edge and then rang Sinead's number which was on a plaque on the door. Sinead arrived within 10 minutes, told us she had vacancies and commenced to be the PERFECT hostess.

The Water's Edge is a new B&B and the house & rooms are immaculate (that is no exaggeration). Sinead has a breakfast menu which one orders from the previous evening. My full Irish breakfast was awesome (my wife was very happy with her mini-Irish breakfast and smoothy shake thingy), and having partaken of cereal & toast, I was stuffed to bursting and ready for a day of sighseeing around the lovely Achill Island.

Having experienced one night and the breakfast the following morning, we stayed for two more comfortable nights and 2 more yummy breakfasts :-)

This B&B is a great base for exploring Achill Island. There are many beautiful beaches; amazing drives with stunning vistas; yummy restaurants; very friendly locals; very friendly dogs & sheep. Go on a walk, climb a hill and built a cairn like we did (several times) :-)

Room Tip: Immaculate, clean, tv, en-suite, Amazing breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaggydabbydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the moment Sinead welcomed us into her home at Waters Edge in Achill Island, that is connected by a land-bridge to the West coast of Ireland, we knew we were in for a special treat. The B&B is well sign-posted from the main island roads but is nestled away in a quieter corner of the Valley north-east end of the island, away from the bustle of the surf-beaches. Quiet - or so we thought - read on. We had come to run - well jog! - in the annual Achill Half Marathon 2011 ('I Came, I Saw, I Conquered'). The island's views are breath-taking. Sinead had kindly offered we could use the shower AFTER the race, without charging us the extra night. It's little considerations like this that set the top one or two percent of B&B's above the rest.
Water's Edge itself lived up to all expectations. Spotless clean, newly built and the finest of Irish Breakfasts plus a great selection of Continental ones too. We asked Sinead for directions to the nearest pub. Five minutes away is the Valley House Holiday Hostel. There, Pat the proprietor runs a great pub with visiting and local musicians. We sang into the wee hours of the morning - well recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimwalshireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Achill Island hotels
2.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hy Breasal B&B
Hy Breasal B&B
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#1 of 4 in Achill Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Water's Edge

Property: Achill Water's Edge
Address: | The Valley, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is one of Achill Island's newest guesthouses, on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. We are within minutes of blue flag beaches, fishing lakes and exceptional coastal and mountain walks. Water's Edge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Achill Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing