We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Coeliacs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Water's Edge
Ranked #6 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Water's Edge B&B in Valley during the June bank holiday - what a welcome for a coeliac. We were greeted with tea and gluten free biscuits, the room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and night's rest and a wonderful gluten free full Irish breakfast in the mornings served by a smiling Sinead and sitting at the communal table. We were lucky to be in Achill to see the rhodendron and spend the evenings in the Valley House enjoying the trad sessions. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank segocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked 3 rooms at the Water's Edge B&B for our daughters and their husbands during our trip around Ireland. All I can say is this is a wonderful home, very welcoming and Sinead went way above and beyond anything we expected. We have stayed in many B&B's and can honestly say this one was the best.

The choices on her breakfast menu were varied from a herb omelet on up to a full Irish breakfast. This was really great for us as my youngest daughter is a vegetarian and there were meatless options.

We woke up in the mornings to the fantastic, mouth watering aroma of baking breads, scones and Sineads' smiling face. She made suggestions of places not to miss and even, on the first night when we got in very late, called a local restaurant/pub and asked them to stay open for us.

I highly recommend Water's Edge B&B to anybody heading to Ireland and suggest you make a trip to Achill Island and stay in this peaceful and beautiful gem.

Thanks Sinead. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was on a working holiday driving around Ireland and finding B&B on the way as we went along with my husband. Achill Island seemed interesting so we went to check it out. After having been to several B&B’s (with nicer ones fully booked and those that had spaces were not up to scratch) we luckily found Water’s Edge. The owner was out but her number was on the door asking us to call. We called her, she was very friendly and within just 3-5 minutes she was at the B&B. We had a warm welcome. The house looked very nice from the outside. It was not on the main road therefore the area was quiet and clam yet good access to everything by car. One beech is at walking distance. Surrounding area was gorgeous and you could even see the sunset if you walked up on the little hill behind the house from where you could see the sea. The house inside was immaculate! This is not exaggeration. Everything looked very new and extremely well cleaned and looked after. The room was spacious, the shower was powerful and the bed was very comfortable to sleep on with gorgeous light coloured bed sheets. Everything is modern and simple designed yet very homey feeling. Sinead the owner was absolutely brilliant. She is very friendly, bubbly, and has great attention to detail, flexible and fun to talk with. The breakfast was outstanding, we could choose from a menu on top of the usual cereal jam etc.. The breakfast menu really thought of all kinds of people from shakes to different types of Irish breakfast. The full Irish breakfast was made from very good quality ingredients and was amazing. The breakfast room had all the cutlery, plates cups tea, coffee some biscuits for us to enjoy any time. We were even able to make our own sandwiches when had enough of restaurant food (from material we bought of course. I am not sure if they had hairdryer, as I had my own, but there was absolutely everything one would need. Frankly, Sinead is one of the best hosts I have met with. If I will have the opportunity I will come back to this pace once again. I would say this was a 5 star treatment at a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

During our driving holiday around Ireland, we found the Water's Edge B&B by chance.

We need a place to stay for the evening and it was getting late. A hostel we emergency-stopped at had no room but they told us about Water's Edge. We followed the colourful signs to Water's Edge and then rang Sinead's number which was on a plaque on the door. Sinead arrived within 10 minutes, told us she had vacancies and commenced to be the PERFECT hostess.

The Water's Edge is a new B&B and the house & rooms are immaculate (that is no exaggeration). Sinead has a breakfast menu which one orders from the previous evening. My full Irish breakfast was awesome (my wife was very happy with her mini-Irish breakfast and smoothy shake thingy), and having partaken of cereal & toast, I was stuffed to bursting and ready for a day of sighseeing around the lovely Achill Island.

Having experienced one night and the breakfast the following morning, we stayed for two more comfortable nights and 2 more yummy breakfasts :-)

This B&B is a great base for exploring Achill Island. There are many beautiful beaches; amazing drives with stunning vistas; yummy restaurants; very friendly locals; very friendly dogs & sheep. Go on a walk, climb a hill and built a cairn like we did (several times) :-)

Room Tip: Immaculate, clean, tv, en-suite, Amazing breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaggydabbydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the moment Sinead welcomed us into her home at Waters Edge in Achill Island, that is connected by a land-bridge to the West coast of Ireland, we knew we were in for a special treat. The B&B is well sign-posted from the main island roads but is nestled away in a quieter corner of the Valley north-east end of the island, away from the bustle of the surf-beaches. Quiet - or so we thought - read on. We had come to run - well jog! - in the annual Achill Half Marathon 2011 ('I Came, I Saw, I Conquered'). The island's views are breath-taking. Sinead had kindly offered we could use the shower AFTER the race, without charging us the extra night. It's little considerations like this that set the top one or two percent of B&B's above the rest.
Water's Edge itself lived up to all expectations. Spotless clean, newly built and the finest of Irish Breakfasts plus a great selection of Continental ones too. We asked Sinead for directions to the nearest pub. Five minutes away is the Valley House Holiday Hostel. There, Pat the proprietor runs a great pub with visiting and local musicians. We sang into the wee hours of the morning - well recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimwalshireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MajorEisenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Achill Island hotels
7.8 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
123 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#6 of 12 in Keel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Water's Edge

Address: | The Valley, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range: $90 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is one of Achill Island's newest guesthouses, on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. We are within minutes of blue flag beaches, fishing lakes and exceptional coastal and mountain walks. Water's Edge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Achill Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing