We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keel beach and Dookinella”
Review of Keel Beach

Keel Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
thurles ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“keel beach and Dookinella”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

No visit to Achill Island is complete without a visit to Keel Beach Whether you come to surf swim or just to sit and watch the waves you will not be disappointed. My favourite place is Dookinella.At the very end othis almost 3 mile long beach,right down under the magnificent cliffs of the Minaun Mountain you will find a place of peace and quiet,almost like a cathedral.I find it a place where you can sit quitely and hear your soul.Indeed further out along the cliff face are the Cathedral Rocks. only visible from a boat, There it is said ,if the wind is right,and you are attuned, you can hear the great symphonies of the wind and waves Truly a place of healing and peace.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place on a nice day!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely drive to achill and nice scenery!Had a lovely walk along the beach-very enjoyable!Highly recommended to anyone-especially on a nice day!

Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inishcrone, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach at Keel”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was my second visit to Keel Beach and it was a lovely sunny day. Had a wonderful conversation with Ann at Joyce's Marian Villa, which is a quaint B&B/ Motel . If I stay overnight this would be my stayover.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Achill Island - to miejsce zostanie nam w pamięci.”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The beautiful island of rocky shores and amazing beaches. We were glad that we decided to come here, even for brief moments. Reckless driving among equally delighted, a few tourists with strong nerves. White, sharp rocks, the green meadows of retracting the sheep before the storm, dark blue sea and golden beaches. The most beautiful road in the west of Ireland.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PiotrQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had no intention of visiting this site, but after two locals tell you to go--you go! A drive through the island found sheep in the road and all over which was charming. As you get to the end of the island, there are steep roads that wind up and down until you get to the end of the island. A bit unnerving, but we are so glad we did it. Just a beautiful place with pretty views of the ocean and not the usual touristy place.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ronjoduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keel Beach also viewed

Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 
Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Keel Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing