We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll definitely return!”
Review of Teach Cruachan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teach Cruachan
Ranked #5 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Achill Island is simply breath-takingly spectacular & showcases the very best of the landscape that Ireland is best known for - wild coastline, rugged beaches, mountain & incredible cliff views onto the Atlantic ocean (next stop 3400 miles away is the US!) around cosy green fields & dark bogland, stone walls & lots of sheep! My stay at Teach Cruachan B&B in Dooagh topped off what was a far too short a trip. Roisin & Michael were great hosts - friendly, helpful, full of local knowledge but discrete & left you up to your own devices if that's what you wanted. My room was nice & toasty-warm, with a lovely sea view onto Dooagh beach. It was spotlessly clean with a powerful shower & excellent WiFi. Breakfasts were delicious with 5 choices of cooked breakfast for the sweet-toothed (pancakes or french toast) or the traditional Irish fry-up or eggs any-which-way for the savoury-palated. You have your own key so you can come & go as you please. The breakfast room doubles as a sun room in the afternoon where you can while away the hours reading the newspapers or read up on the small library of books about Achill's history & folklore. Dooagh is the nearest village near Keem beach (used in all Ireland's tourist board advertising) which is a must-see when you're in Achill. I spotted some seals there & you look onto the smaller islands of Clare Island & a few rocky outcrops from the beach. Teach Cruachan is also near the start of the Dooagh loop walk which brings you over some hills & into the 'deserted village' & graveyard, onto Slievemore sea cliffs (a bit of a steep climb) & then to an old megalithic tomb. It's quite a long walk. In terms of landscape Dooagh & Teach Cruachan are on the wilder coastline part of Achill facing directly onto the Atlantic ocean so you have majestic ocean views close by. Because it was winter & pretty windy/rainy at night, I mostly drove into Keel to eat but there's Gielty's pub about 10 mins walk from the B&B for food, music & pints. I only stayed 2 full days but I'll absolutely definitely be back in the summer. If you're planning to visit Achill, I'd really recommend Teach Cruachan as the perfect base to explore the Island & enjoy all the activities on offer there. Pls note that there is only 1 ATM on the Island in Achill Sound & although most places accept credit cards, some don't...so you should have some spare cash with you for other outlays.

Room Tip: I stayed in the queen room with sea view & was very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inez0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hi Inez, thanks a million for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to Achill and found so much of interest to do and see. It's all there for the taking! We look forward to seeing you again in Teach Cruachan.
Best regards,
Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Views of the ocean from window. Within walking distance to a Pub that served a great pint and meals.. Rooms were very clean and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Patricia, thanks so much for taking the time to review Teach Cruachan. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in Dooagh, and hope you'll be able to make it back to Achill Island sometime. Best regards, Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room was fantastic, comfortable bed and clean all round. The breakfast was great, Roisin & Michael were very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, very near keem beach and keel. Would definelty recommend teach cruachan, looking forward to coming back again. Susana & Saloud

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XZazaX33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Susana and Saloud, thanks a million for the review! It was lovely to meet such a nice young couple and we wish you all the best in your future together. Hope to see you in Achill again - maybe for the Honeymoon? :)) Best regards, Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This B&B is the birthplace of Michael who, along with his wife, Roisin, provide a warm and welcoming experience at Teach Cruachan. We stayed for 2 days (September 7 and 8) and enjoyed the views, the diing area and lounge. Even got a peek at their sweet dog. The beaches on Achill Island are awesome and I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are by the road but didn't hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Joanie, it's very nice of you to review Teach Cruachan, and we really enjoyed having you here. Cindy the Golden Retriever loves it when guests find her in her doggie zone. She doesn't usually get to meet the visitors, but typical of her breed she loves people as much as we do. Hope to see you in Dooagh again some time! Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can only confirm other reviews that Teach Cruachan was a wonderful stop on our month long tour of Ireland, our only regret is that we only got to spend one night, I look forward to when we can return for a much longer stay. Michael welcomed us warmly and gave excellent directions to local restaurant and pub, as well as other sights that were a 'must see' during our short time on Achill, which were truly spectacular. As we were travelling in the "off" season, we were lucky enough to have Michael & Roisin all to ourselves which was an extra treat. The entire premises were beautifully clean and extremely comfortable. Michael and Roisin truly deserve all the plaudits they have received for their attention to detail and friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Rob, we only just realised we hadn't responded to your generous review when it first appeared - apologies! It's been busy on Achill Island with the great weather and all the festivals and events that have been going on all season. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I just can confirm all the positive notes that the reviewers before stated! Cleanliness, rooms, breakfast, view and last but not least: unbeatable nice and friendly hosts! So don't hesitate to choose Teach Cruachan B&B for your stay at Achill Island. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ReneSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hello R and S, Thanks very much for the lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your few days in Teach Cruachan and we hope you'll make it back to Achill some time. Your lens is en route :)
Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

a marvelous experience alround-
the friendliness, accommodation and breakfasts (with a grat ocean view!) all terrific
great location-scenery, sea ,walks, history
great entertainment nearby-very good centre for this

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patd0yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hi Pat, thanks for reviewing Teach Cruachan and for the compliments. Hope you'll be able to make it to Achill again this year.
All the best,
Roisin and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Achill Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
6.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
122 reviews
7.8 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#6 of 12 in Keel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teach Cruachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Cruachan

Address: Keel West | Dooagh, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teach Cruachan 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teach Cruachan Bed & Breakfast overlooks Dooagh Bay, where pods of dolphins and basking sharks often visit. You are welcome to make yourselves entirely at home in our home on beautiful Achill Island.Free wifi Internet, free tea/coffee/herbal infusions, cocoa, etc, 24/7. Comfortable ensuite rooms with TV, clock radio, private bathroom. Local produce used in our varied breakfast menu, including fresh fish when available.Guided tours and passenger transport in our own 16-seat minibus, and bicycle and accessory hire available.Céad Míle Failte isteach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Teach Cruachan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing