We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferndale - CLOSED

Ferndale
Price range: $34 - $138
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Good day Dear GuestsFerndale is a unique experience in the west of ireland. All our rooms are historical themed and feature a very high standard of accommodation. But thats not all, adjacent to our guesthouse is a fantastic new and inventive restaurant, where you could relax and indulge yourself with some very tasteful and delicious creations only found here in ferndale. With one of the worlds most amazing views over the bay and the cliffs. We try to give you a fantastic experience with us and hope your stay at ferndale is a memorable one.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I just wanted to share my experience with anybody looking to try something fun, beautiful and different. Ferndale is a breath of fresh air in this economic climate. The food, especially the breakfast, was incredible. The staff were very friendly and provided an excellent service at a more than reasonable price. I stayed in the Chinese room and couldn't have asked for a more comfortable room. This was the best guesthouse I've ever stayed in and I can't wait to come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derry
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and dining experience in the Ferndale.. We had a fantastic and very unusual meal prepared with great attention to detail . It was a very unique dining experience with such intense flavours presented in a very unusual way that it took you to a new level of dining experience ... A MUST !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purplewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must for your visit to Achill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had heard about Ferndale from a friend during our trip to Ireland and called a few days before arriving in Achill to reserve a table. We were absolutely delighted with the experience and it is an experience not just a simple matter of an evening meal. Jon and his staff have created something truly unique. The choice of dishes on the menu, mixing the straightforward with the very exotic was impressive but not as impressive as the flavours that blew us away. We were so impressed we asked to come back the following night and had another very memorable evening with outstanding food, wine & service. One word of warning, if you are looking for traditional Irish cuisine, this is not for you. A must for all lovers of fine dining. Keep up the great work Jon, we'll be certainly back to visit you next time in Ireland!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were delighted to spend an evening at Ferndale - definitely the best experience in Achill. The hosts were extremely friendly and generous. Lots of little extra touches that were so appreciated. A few of the dishes were expensive but when you add in the extra bits and pieces a night very enjoyable indeed! Would definitely recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A M A Z I N G”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I dined here on the 9th July. The food was amazing. Would absolutely recommend this place,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mehereincork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferndale also viewed

 
Dooega, Achill Island
Keel, Achill Island
 
Achill Island, County Mayo
Keel, Achill Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing