We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and mystic hotel close to Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Convivial Wine Experience Suites
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very nice, all-season and artistic place, nicely decorated, comfy and spacious room. Ideal for a romantic weekend if you live in Athens and you need to rest but also you can combine it with a gift surprise for couples that need a quiet and easygoing hotel. Great service and amazing massage but also very friendly and ploite staff from the manager to the very last employee. Two thumbs up ;)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great Spa service, with original Indonesian and Thai massage experts. The massage experience was one of the best ive ever had. Very nice oriental ambiance and atmosphere. Very good and helpful service. However, the supposed suite was not quite a suite, and was not very clean or well maintained (huge stain on the carpet, damaged balcony door). Extremely poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yannis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

... very poor breakfast and very late! not before 10:00 !

Beside, employees were very charming.

Few rooms but very nice decoration.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou-GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We checked-in, we went to our room (above average) and then proceeded to take a massage (quite nice, included in the room price). We thought it a bit odd that the massage room was kind of chilly. When we returned to the room it was also cold and when we tried to turn on the heating it did not work.

When we called the reception about it, they told us they were very sorry but the central heating was broken and all they could do was to bring us a couple of electric heaters. That was unacceptable and we had to leave, since we were traveling with our 14-month daughter and could not risk her getting a cold.

My biggest gripe is that the hotel manager knew of the problem before we arrived (we overheard him talking on the phone for something broken) but did not mention it beforehand.

Apart from that, the room was quite good. I would have loved to sleep in that bed. The mattress looked very comfortable.

The rest of the hotel is very cramped (the elevator barely holds two people). Also the walls are very poorly insulated. You can hear a person whispering in the next room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgeadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This time we went with my daughter and to sons, 19, 10, 7. We had a great time! We loved our room, the kids enjoyed tha pool and all the special treatment! My daughter and I were pampered at the spa! This time it was in July so the kids loved swimming by the beach in the morning it was just harmonious because the waterfront is next to the forest so you get the best of both! We went to the outdoor movie theater, ate seafood next to the water, just magic! Everybody took care of us. There was a taxi strike so the G.M Angelo took us to the station. There breakfast was so tasty and all organic! They make their own bread, marmalade, fresh squeezed juice. Just a great experience all over again. Can't wait to go back. maybe in the winter next year for skiing and pampering!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasilikiGlenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Despite the fact that we had booked the hotel in advance, Le Convivial managed to surprise us totally. The over-all experience was a bit wierd - we got confused of the balinese setting in the middle of Greece (this being my first visit to the country).

There are also large rooms (third floor, with a terrace almost overlooking the sea). Breakfast was poor, both in room and in restaurant served - you'd better avoid the resto!

The services were multiple. Caring hands massaged us daily, and we had plenty of other spa services as well. Ask for a trip on a sailing boat - we enjoyed pretty much our sailing to Galaxidi. It was also a nice change for Xylokastro's rather boring night life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel by accident while on road trip. It;s a small hotel in Xylokastro town. The decoration and the whole atmospere is like a balinese oasis, very relaxing and calming. The room was small but very charming with the best thing to be the bed with mechanism to adjust legs and head to your desired level. We were given 30min massage as gift and it was amazing, i wish it could last longer. Overall we had a great 1night staying. The hotel is 50m from the sea, although there is no sea view from the rooms. Well the only negative i could say is the old fashioned tv (no plasma) and no free choice breakfast. Only french coffee was served...The staff was very frendly, most of them were balinese and the hotel manager was also very polite. Especially for us, which we are Greeks this hotel was quite suprising regarding the surroundings. I would recomend it to anyone want to relax!

Room Tip: We had the standar room which was small but charming and it was called "box of chocolates"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristieQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xylokastro
0.1 mi away
The Gardens Gallery Hotel
The Gardens Gallery Hotel
#1 of 7 in Xylokastro
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Xylokastro
67 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kyani Akti Hotel
Kyani Akti Hotel
#2 of 7 in Xylokastro
34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#1 of 2 in Melissi
154 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alkyon Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Convivial Wine Experience Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Convivial Wine Experience Suites

Address: 2 Sidagmatarchi Vagena, Xylokastro 204 00, Greece (Formerly Le Convivial Luxury Suites and Spa)
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Corinthia Region > Xylokastro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Xylokastro
Price Range: $140 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Convivial Wine Experience Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Another Era in Le Convivial Wine Experience Suites. It is located within a few meters from the Xylokastro beach Pefkias, serving as an excellent base for your explorations of the most important sites. Athens, Corinth, Epidaurus, Mycenae, Ancient Olympia, Delphi, Ancient Nemea and the Nemea wine roads are all within a short driving distance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Convivial Wine Experience Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Convivial Luxury Hotel Xylokastro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing