We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short getaway from Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Xylokastro
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed with family in late September.
Positives: new hotel, close to Athens, nice - modern decoration, large bed, Apivita bathroom amenities, slippers and bathrobes provided in room, amazing view to the sea, good location: beside the forest, just on a nice beach, efficient beach service, beach towels provided, beautiful beach bar with fantastic music. I loved the villa of A. Sikelianos in the hotel grounds.
Negatives: bad architecture (ugly buildings), small bathroom, small swimming pool, average food in the restaurant, no cappuccino or fresh juice at breakfast, low service level in reception and restaurant. I would return only if prices got lower...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The resort is approximately an hour trip from Athens, and is spotted on the beach and next to a pine forest. The facilities are of 2010, so everything is new and well-preserved. We stayed in the sea-view room, which I personally believe is an excellent choice. The rooms are spacious and of modern aesthetic, as also tech-oriented since LCD TV, music station, and free Wi-Fi are available. The outdoor locations are pretty, with rose gardens and walkways leading to the sea side. The restaurant facilities, “Palmer’s” and “Villa”, are similar to top restaurants. Prices are very reasonable and the quality and service are definitely high. Palmer’s is located next to the beach and has a variety of options, as well as Greek-cuzzin plates. Villa is an Italian romantic restaurant located at the perimeter of an old mansion, which was once the house of a famous Greek poet. Furthermore, the beach is so organised, with relaxing sunbeds and new umbrellas, cocktail and refreshment bar and a high-service network. The beach landscape is so beautiful and the waters are so clean. At the end, the hotel offers spa and beauty services. It was a very relaxing experience, since the personnel are professional hand practicians and physiotherapists. In general, the personnel, as well as the owner and managers, are very polite and willing to assist, for visitors to enjoy their stay to the maximum. I highly recommend to anyone visit Athens to join the resort, and have a blast of fun and pleasure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

i Highly recommend this nice hotel.is really brand new with very comfortable rooms and excellent atmosphere and service.The staff and the owners are very friendly and cooperative
Have been few times there with my family including kids and really enjoyed the hotel facilities (very nice Spa and food )and the fact that is in front of sea and close to a green forest suitable for walks and fresh air breathing.Villa of Angelos Sikelianos is also a plus as well as during the night by lightening is giving to the guest a very good feeling.For sure i will visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KOSTAS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Sikyon Coast Hotel from Xylokastro, a charming small city from Corinthia, Greece, is a hotel where I allways want to come back for a vacation, because I was in a business travel, this summer. After a few wonderful days spent at this hotel, I might say that you can have a perfect vacation here. If you need silence, the nature touch and the best comfort you must come and stay at Sikyon Hotel. It is placed on the sea shore, at the border of a pine trees forest. You can arrive at the beach in two minutes, from any room. The hotel is both modern and traditional, having a special architecture; the rooms are large and comfortable. All things a guest needs are easy to be found in the perfect clean rooms. The two restaurants are very good. One of them is an Italian restaurant, placed outside, on the terrace of the famous Greek poet Angelos Skylianos’ old house, a masterpiece of architecture. The inner courtyard of the hotel is large, full of flowers and absolutely charming. I think this is the best hotel for families with children. But, above all, I think that spending a vacation here is a perfect opportunity to live in a modern hotel placed in a natural reserve.

Luiza from Romania

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luiza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stay away from this hotel. I have booked for a two night stay about a year ago. I have explicitly requested a sea view room and what I got is a forest view room.

They have placed a carrycot in the room for my baby daughter, although I have explicitly underlined that I wanted to use my own carrycot. As a result, I had to unbend the carrycot and bend mine, while the temperature in the room was more than 43 degrees (they forgot to open the air-condition or even to open the windows and the room was for several days closed!).

Although the hotel is nice and the whole atmosphere very pleasant, the owner is very rude; this is not just my opinion, this is something that I have confirmed with several others visitors of this hotel.

Finally, right after the check out, we have requested a sun bed for a few hours, in order to go for a swim (please note that the sun beds are also offered for rent to several “kamaki style” local guys. After confirming that we have checked out, the lady who was responsible for the sun beds told us that we don’t have the right any more to use the sun beds!

They really lost the opportunity of having a frequent visitor at their hotel, since the hotel is very close to Athens (about an hour); however, the entire service is really disappointing…

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank The_S_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is really nice. It was modern-art deco, with a twist of old style.... As you drive in the entrance, there is a Villa/Castle that an old poet from the 1800's use to live in. At night, you can have dinner outside of the Villa. The reception staff is super friendly. They walked us to our room which was big, clean and had a view of the beach. The beach is on the property. Very convenient. Along with the room (free of cost) came a free spa (jacuzzi, sauna and steam room). Nice added perk. The beach on weekends can get super crowded. So I would recommend getting a chair early. The pool looks a little dated but I didn't use it anyway. You can stay on the grounds of the hotel and feel like you are at a resort. Xylokastro is about 1 and a half our by train from the Athens airport. Super easy to get to and cheaper than island hoping.
Ocean water was clean, clear and warm!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd level room with a view. Unless you have children, than 1st level would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have spent weekends several times there and it is one of the best resorts the area can offer. Entrance and gardens are tranquil and relaxing, the beach is great and eventful, especially during weekends and rooms are confortable & fresh since newly furnished. Top highlights of the premices: the forest next and around the property, the cuisine (especially the small Italian restaurant) and the impressive villa of the property's owner at the beginning of the century, the highly respected Greek poet Aggelos Sikelianos.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katerina011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xylokastro
10.7 mi away
Alkyon Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Xylokastro
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#1 of 2 in Melissi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Olvios Hotel
Olvios Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goura
46 reviews
18.7 mi away
Club Hotel Loutraki
Club Hotel Loutraki
#2 of 30 in Loutraki
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kyani Akti Hotel
Kyani Akti Hotel
#2 of 7 in Xylokastro
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort

Address: Xylokastro 20400, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Corinthia Region > Xylokastro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Xylokastro
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort is a historical yet modern hotel, offers its guests an improved package which includes luxury accommodation, exceptional quality of service and an upgraded set of services. Within its property hosts an utterly sole architectural building of the 20th century belonged to the famous Greek poet Angelos Sikelianos. The hotel offers 41 spacious, elegant and fully functional rooms with all the modern comforts you could desire. Private balconies with stunning views to the sea or the pine forest, queen & king size beds, LCD television with satellite channels, free internet access, Hi-Fi CD player and bathrooms equipped with Jacuzzi, bathrobes, slippers & branded toiletries. In addition there are rooms for guests with disabilities. It features 2 restaurants, a coffee-bar, a wellness health spa center, a fully equipped conference center, an outdoor seasoning swimming pool, a well organized beach, a beach bar and complimentary car parking in the forecourt of the Hotel. This historic 4-star hotel enjoys a quiet location on the Corinthian beach, next to the pinewood forest of Xylokastro, just an hour drive from Athens, yet next to major sites in the Peloponnese of great archeological interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sikyon Coast Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing