We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Byzantion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byzantion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Hotel Byzantion (or Byzantio) is a lovely family-run hotel in a great location -- right at the foot of the ancient Byzantine city of Mystras. From the moment we walked through the front door, we were pleased. The staff is friendly and helpful; the hotel is bright, and the common areas are really quite nice. There's free Internet/computer access in the lobby.

The hotel rooms are simple, though comfortable and adequate. Breakfast is mediocre.

Spend the night at Hotel Byzantion, get a good rest, and then make your way to the ancient city, bright and early!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

While the Byzantion Hotel is the closest accommodation to Mystras, it leaves a lot to be desired. We were there in May and it was very warm. The management said that the air conditioning was not available until June. So, we had to open the windows. Bad move. The noise from the cafes and taverns on the street (and the street racers) kept us awake most of the night. Only Greek tv stations and not that many stations. However, it does have a pool, internet, and free parking. Of our 3 weeks worth of hotels, it was the only one that refused to power-on the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hemlock47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Rather that stay in super busy, congested Sparti for a 2 night visit to Mystras, we chose the Hotel Byzantion in Mystras. We had a corner room, so lots of light, very clean, balcony overlooking Mystras, and a large bath with a nice shower. There is a big parking lot adjacent to the hotel. The breakfast (which is an option) was more than adequate and the hosts are very nice and helpful. There is a good taverna across the street, the Castle Taverna, that has the best food and service in Mystras. If you are in this area to see ancient Mystras, there is no better place to stay and it is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Matitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Spent only one night at this hotel, well-situated and clean, but basic room. Had a small bathtub (most rooms being upgraded and renovated to higher standards), but no plug, and when we asked, they said it was 'forbidden' to bathe. ?? So either take a universal plug if you dare, or just use as extended shower.

Could use something to liven it up, like a picture, or dried flowers, or some locally made items for the bare walls. Nice view, fair price and adequate breakfast. Nice staff and clean overall. No t.v. which wasn't a problem for us. Close to the archaeological site and some good tavernas within a short walking distance.

Tried a private room (cheap and in private home) close by but it had a shared bathroom and no shower curtain and would have resulted in the shower water flowing all over the bathroom floor, so we ended up at the only other alternative, the Byzantion. More choices in Sparti, but it's fine for short-term stays. There's a VERY expensive hotel further out, but for 60euros, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catnapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Old but clean hotel that exists only because of Mystras site. If you absolutely need to sleep in Mystras, it is the good and only choice. Consider eating in Sparta, only a5 minutes drive.

Pool is great !

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FCOSTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

The Hotel Byzantion is situated in the main street of Mythras with views across to the site. The hotel inself looks a little dated, but the owners are trying to bring it up to date. The bathrooms have been modernised, but the bedrooms although comfortable are a little dark and old fashioned. We had a balcony looking towards the Castle of Mystras which was fantastic, during the day the village is busy with coaches in and out, but come the evening it is very peaceful and charming with tavernas and restaurants to eat in without the hustle of the day trippers. When we were there the site closed in the afternoon so we came back to the Hotel which has a small swimming pool in a quiet garden with orange trees and free parking. The breakfast was usual greek fare, coffee, juice, bread jam, eggs, cheese and meat. We paid 60 euros for 2 in a double room with breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aging_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Grounds are pretty and there is a nice view from the windows and the terrace. The rooms are musty and seemed unclean, gross even. The lobby area is dark and dingy. However, the staff are very nice and helpful and the hotel is in a convenient location if you want to see the monasteries. Plus, it's cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mzmeowus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystras
2.7 mi away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#6 of 9 in Sparta
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
#2 of 9 in Sparta
136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sparta
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Polydroso
163 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Maniatis
Hotel Maniatis
#5 of 9 in Sparta
142 reviews
14.9 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzantion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzantion Hotel

Address: Central Plaza, Mystras, Sparta Municipality 231 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta Municipality > Mystras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mystras
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byzantion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byzantion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byzantion Hotel Mystras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing