We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views - close to the World Heritage Site”
Review of Byzantion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byzantion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel was most welcoming after climb from Kalamatas and trip from Olympia. Swimming pool very inviting after our hike to the fortress and 3 hours exploring the churches and ruins. Great breakfast - more than the usual fare -scrambled and poached eggs plus delicious cherry jam.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 - best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbourneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 226 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect position right next to the central square with views of Ancient Mystras in the distance.

Our rooms was fine - quite spacious, we had 2 double beds. The air con wasn't great - it was like having a jumbo jet in the room and the air coming out wasn't 'air-con cold' just cool like fan air. If we'd stayed more than one night I would have tried to change rooms. You could open the bathroom window and the balcony doors to get ventilation and it wasn't that hot when we were there but I could see this being an issue in the high heat. Having a balcony is fantastic, especially with the stunning views.

The pool area is lovely, really pretty and probably a nice place for a cooling dip - we wouldn't know since it started to rain as soon as we arrived! The hotel reception and communal ground floor area is also really nice - comfortable and modern with either the fantastic views of Mystras or the pretty pool.

Breakfast was good - a fair selection of hot and cold choices. We had dinner at the restaurant directly across the road (handy since it was raining!) but also a really, really good meal. I had the nicest mousakka I've ever had which also happened to be on the 'special price menu' so even better!

To visit Ancient Mystras with a car, it's best to drive up the hill leading from the village to the first access point and when you buy the ticket they'll show you the route to take on foot around the lower village. Then return to your car & drive to the upper access point and using the same ticket you can explore the upper village. It cuts out some of the steep climb between the two parts but exploring the lower village still entails a few steep climbs. Mystras is definitely worth it - especially given the fee is only €5 - allow 3 - 4 hours.

I'd recommend this hotel especially as a place to stay to visit Ancient Mystras. If you find yourself in a room with noisy and warm air con, try to change room - don't make the mistake I made and hope it gets better!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Coming from Sparti, the hotel is the first you find on your left, you can't miss it. There's a free parking just beside it. Tha hall is very wide and modern, with 2 computers with internet. Also, there's wifi in the rooms. Rooms are modern designed but not so well maintained, and some beds are very noisy. There's a balcony with a very nice view of the old Mystras, fridge and tv, and spaces are very large. Hotel has also an outdoor swimming pool. Breakfast is served in the hall and the choice isn't too wide, it could be boring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ventofreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Situated in the village of Mystras, near to the World Heritage site of Mystras. Clean, comfortable, with outdoor pool and free wifi, good breadfast and lovely gardens. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovel square nearby!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gojojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Extremely comfortable hotel with swimming pool, situated in a small village about one kilometre from the Byzantion World Heritage site of Mystras and five miles from Sparta. The village was very peaceful with four good restaurants.

This is a family run hotel and staff were very helpful and friendly. Very reasonable price with breakfast included. This could be eaten on the balcony overlooking the pool and back garden. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: A small village so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was the third hotel of five on our seven day trip to Greece. (Jun 3, 2012)
This hotel is located in the most adorable village (Mystras)! We spent hours walking and exploring every street, alley, and walkway. We picked oranges from the over growing trees, best oranges I have ever eaten... And I live in Florida for 16 years! We had a great view of the ancient fortress, which was lit up at dusk. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant across the street.
The hotel was very nice, bedding was 5 star, breakfast was traditional, rooms were clean and well stocked with toiletries.

Our reservation stated our room would have a balcony, but did not. :(
The room had an independent AC unit and due to the temperatures reaching almost 90 F, my husband wanted to turn on the cool air. However the unit would not turn on so my husband went down to the front desk to find out why. The front desk told him that they had not changed the unit over from heat to ac. Not only was the room hot from the weather, but with four people showering the room became extremely humid as well. We had to open all the windows and even kept our front door open. Thankfully, the people drinking across the street left around midnight and we were able to get a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeninfer_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

When I was in Paris, I heard that the best view of the city is from the Eiffel Tower, because you can't see the Tower itself! This description fits perfectly the Byzantion Hotel in Mystras: the building is not charming at all (it's the only big, two-floored building of the village), but the view from it is beautiful. All the rooms are small, but convenient, with little balconies that look to the hill of Mystras and the main road of the village. The location is excellent, the staff helpful, breakfast is tasty (traditional, contains fresh oranges from their trees), the garden and swimming pool perfect for a rest. In the lobby you can find books with information on the area, maps and computers with free access, to make plans for your excursions. Restaurants and shops are nearby and the archeological site is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froso_palaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystras
2.7 mi away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#6 of 9 in Sparta
123 reviews
14.2 mi away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Polydroso
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
#2 of 9 in Sparta
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sparta
166 reviews
0 mi away
Mystras Inn
Mystras Inn
#2 of 6 in Mystras
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guesthouse Mazaraki
Guesthouse Mazaraki
#1 of 6 in Mystras
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzantion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzantion Hotel

Address: Central Plaza, Mystras, Sparta Municipality 231 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta Municipality > Mystras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mystras
Price Range: $57 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byzantion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byzantion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byzantion Hotel Mystras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing